We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happening place!”

The Side Door Saloon
Ranked #10 of 111 Restaurants in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: We provide great service, food and beverages delivering a quality experience comfortable for families, friends and sports fans in a friendly environment.
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The Side Door Saloon has long been a favorite of the locals, for good reason. The wait staff is friendly and helpful, the burgers are tasty, there is a wide variety of beers from which to choose, and the Saloon has especially attractive happy hour pricing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LouBobHarborSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don D, Owner at The Side Door Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

LouBob, Thanks for taking the time to write this review and for pointing out our Happy Hour and tasty Burgers! As you know we have ALL our 16oz drafts for $3 (even premium beers) 3pm-6pm & 9-close every day. We also have mixed drink specials along with $2 off our most popular appetizers including Buffalo Chicken Dip, Smoked Whitefish Dip, Spinach and Artichoke Dip and chips and dips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

‘Ello chaps!

THIS my friends is the hidden little gem that only most locals know about.

Side Door Saloon has a variety of menu items, steaks, salads, etc. BUT THEIR BEST SERVICE? Yup, the olive burger.

It’s basically a thick, unseasoned beef patty (not much taste to the patty itself) topped with various toppings of your choosing. But what makes it an olive burger is the mayo/green olive sauce. It is delicious.

No fries here, but you can get your chips.

This is a great kitchy “up north” kind of restaurant, but lots of open space, very clean and comfortable inside.

Great, friendly service, and really good food.

They are CLOSED on Sundays.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HerbertEdgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don D, Owner at The Side Door Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Herbert, thanks for the great review! We are known for our Famous Olive Burger, we sell a lot of them. Our staff does a great job,w e are fortunate to have them!
Thank you,
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We have visited this area for five years & frequented this establishment! Will not be returning , we were seated promptly, received our water and then nothing .
Others arrived , got drinks , ordered food , received food and we simple sat ignored! I asked a passing manager to please get our server we wanted to order the twin tails special! Nothing , he did not return & no wait staff came as well . We finally after some 25 min walked out . It seemed to us if u didn’t order drinks you were ignored.’
The previous owners ran a much nicer establishment.
If you want a burger & beer with lots of noise enjoy.

1  Thank WL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don D, Owner at The Side Door Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear WL H., Something went terribly wrong here. I'd like to talk to you to see what day and time it was that you were in, please contact me at ddamerow@gmail.com or call me at 231-347-9291. This just does not happen here!!
I talked to a couple on Saturday night that left about 5 minutes after arriving, receiving water from their server then could not decide what they wanted but were really disappointed because they wanted to sit outside not inside. It was about 8pm at night right before the MSU/UM game started. I think 20 minutes is a huge exaggeration and the reason you left is very unfair to say if in fact you are who I spoke to.
On your last visit here you stated that the twin tails on Tuesday's are absolutely the very best , cooked perfectly & oh so sweet . The whitefish is a specialty & it holds up to its reputation . A little loud any time after 6pm so arrive early if you prefer a quiet dinner . The staff is efficient & nice . The outdoor area is preferred if the weather permits.
My name is Don, I am the Owner and am here most of the time. If you have an issue (anywhere) ask to talk to the Manager so we can correct any issue that you may have right away.
I look forward to talking to you.
Thank you,
Don


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

They were having Octoberfest specials the night we were there. One brat, one smoked pork chop, red cabbage, sauerkraut and mashed potatoes with rye bread was very tasty. Veggie quesadilla and burger was also good. We had good service and they had many craft beers on tap as well.

1  Thank jpasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don D, Owner at The Side Door Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

jpasta, Thanks for visiting and writing a Good review. Our staff does a great job thank you for mentioning this!
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised that they had lobster dinners. They were very tasty. Also, at lunch time be sure and have a hamburger. The staff is friendly and the owner is always there to make sure everything runs smoothly. It is closed on Sundays to give staff a break. The small kitchen does a fantastic job! Must be super organized.

Thank patricialE5561ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don D, Owner at The Side Door Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Patricia, We often hear that we have one of the best Lobster Dinners around. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you soon!
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Side Door Saloon also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to The Side Door Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing