We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Informal Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau des Salles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau des Salles
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
408 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Informal Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

A fantastic host who tries to make everything perfect. A beautiful chateau, lovely rooms and very good meals. Nothing is too much trouble for Sylvie the owner and all her family make you feel very welcome in their home. Local villages, the Gironde estuary and surrounding vineyards combine to provide plenty to see and explore without driving too far- lots of good walks as well. Beaches not so far away and we also visited the heart of Bordeaux wine country within a short drive. A place for a short break or a longer stay.Pity there is no swimming pool- it would really add perfection to a lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    10
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I stayed 2 nights in this heavenly home away from home ... (if only I could call a chateau my home!). Bedroom was charming. Bed very comfortable. Bath amenities top class (bathroom very stylishly modernised). Breakfast each morning in the lovely front garden with tea and croissants and fruit and... Our hostess Sylvie Couillaud, was very elegant and helpful. The best surprise was the dining experience on arriving. Exquisite four course meal washed down with locally-produced (on estate) wine. Simply wonderful. We also met divine quests (some are regulars for the past 15 years) with whom we were able to share great conversations during an evening drink, or morning juice.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivoruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

We picked the Chateau as a stop off point on our journey from Spain to Ireland. Having had some unpleasant hotel experiences in France, we were a little apprehensive. We need not have worried. We found the welcome, and the standard of accommodation to be first class. The Chateau is small with five guest rooms. Each room has a different character, and as it was early season, we were given our choice. The decor and ambience of the Chateau is excellent. We enjoyed exceptional weather in spite of it being early April and were able to enjoy an aperitif in the gardens before having a wonderful dinner, with a bottle of wine from the Chateau's own vineyard. The whole experience was excellent and we look forward to being able to stay with Mdme Couillaud again

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surveyorDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto and Chennai
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

Wonderful location, sensitive restoration, with an elegant and very helpful owner.

Meal was very tasty but a house kitchen. Wine, pineau and cognac from the estate.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brennunjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk.England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

Stayed in this Chateau two nights as part of our 30th Wedding celebration (booked four Chateaux in total for this trip) This place was a joy.I cannot recommend it enough.We had a beautiful room (Rose-
Tremiere )with lovely views,the atmosphere is relaxed and the standard of everything is so high.We booked the half board option and were so pleased we did.The four course dinners , which included aperitifs and such excellent wines (from the Chateau's own vineyards) were fabulous. The owner Sylvie is a true gem, nothing is too much trouble for her, she deserves 5* for her standards. The gardens are a pleasure to walk around. The location is perfect,would recommend a visit to the 'Blue Fountains' at a Chateau nearby and Cognac is worth a visit (very impressed) decent travelling distance.All in all a fabulous place to stay.

  • Liked — The atmospere
  • Disliked — Loved it all
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ange55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Fort sur Gironde
2.2 km away
Hotel Restaurant Les Vents d'Anges
15.6 km away
Chateau de Mirambeau
Chateau de Mirambeau
#1 of 1 in Mirambeau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
16.0 km away
Hotel du Moulin du Val de Seugne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.9 km away
Hotel Residence de Rohan
Hotel Residence de Rohan
#1 of 3 in Vaux-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
11.0 km away
Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or
20.4 km away
Hotel Restaurant Le Vieux Logis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Salles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Salles

Property: Chateau des Salles
Address: rue du Gros Chene, 17240 Saint Fort sur Gironde, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Saint Fort sur Gironde
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Fort sur Gironde
Price range (per night): $167 - $215
Hotel Class:2 star — Chateau des Salles 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau des Salles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing