We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chez Chevalier

Pool and bar
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and bar
House Pool seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Pool and bar
House
Pool seating area
Pool Bar
Mazanine
Kitchen/diner
outdoor dining
Master bedroom
pool at night
twin bedroom
view from field
BBQ
OUTDOOR SPACE
shower room with loo and sink
en suite bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint Fort sur Gironde, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Happiness...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect and relaxing”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thanks to Kim and Maggie for a lovely relaxing stay in their beautiful farmhouse. We had a wonderful stay with our two grown up children and their husbands and our Westies. The pool was beautiful and the facilities, cooking equipment etc superb. Kim and Maggie were very friendly and a pleasure to meet as was Toto their little dog who got on very well with our young Westie Bernie!!

Would recommend this lovely house to all my friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: A bit warm in the upstairs bedroom but heat was very strong this month
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped it would be”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I don't have a bad word to day about this place - the house and garden are every bit as good as they look from the photos and sound from the description. A lovely quiet location which felt completely removed from the usual hustle and bustle - you hardly hear a vehicle, just the chirping of the crickets and the chattering of the swifts hunting at dusk and dipping into the pool for a drink in the morning. The pool itself is brilliant to keep the kids (and adults - it's big enough to do lengths in) busy and to cool off in the daytime, and great to relax around in the evening - it seems to attract few insects if you put the lights on, but that has the advantage of bringing out the occasional bat, and by the time we were up in the morning Kim had always debugged the pool ready for another day's fun in the water.

Kim and Maggie are very friendly and relaxed, although we didn't perhaps take as much advantage as we could have of their local knowledge. They're obviously big foodies - the house has the best selection of cookbooks I've ever seen, and the kitchen has everything you need to prepare your feasts from the excellent local produce. The butcher in Mortagne is excellent, and the Wednesday market in Cozes is a fantastic source of farm produce in a lovely old marketplace.

All in all I'd thoroughly recommend this place to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A hidden treasure. Beautiful Home. Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Despite unseasonal bad weather for June, we had a wonderful stay here. Kim and Maggie were so welcoming and helpful - and the place is stunning. Kitchen is Fab!

Bedrooms are spacious although the stairs up to the two upstairs took a bit of getting used to.. Bumped our foreheads a few times but soon learnt! :)

Overall a lovely place.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We glimpsed a piece of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Do you want to stay in a beautiful renovated farmhouse situated on a rural lane in an idyllic location surrounded by fields of vines & sunflowers? Do you want to stay in a place where feelings of chill, relax, unwind, de-stress hit you like a punch from a heavy weight boxer. Then read on! Having holidayed in France over recent years Chez Chevalier is the only location my family and I would return to in an instant. The house offers a fantastic combination of rustic charm (exposed stone walls and timbers with huge fireplaces) & contemporary style (very modern en-suite bathroom to the master bedroom). It was so tranquil I half expected the Chevalier who once owned the house to appear on his horse having returned from a knightly quest with tales of daring do. We spent most of our time relaxing by the large, exceptionally clean pool area complete with a very comfortable shaded seating area & bar with a fridge (how cool is that, no need to return to the house for drinks)! There is also a BBQ area for the aspiring Jamie Oliver's. Watching black kite's soar in the skies above or swallows dive around the pool like squadrons of spitfire's....absolutely magical! WiFi & TV with British channels is available, perfect for our 3 teenagers. Kim & Maggie (our hosts) were on hand if anything was needed (a real comfort should you do so). We really enjoyed our stay in this fantastic house which embraces you as you step over the threshold. If anyone is considering staying at Chez Chevalier you will not be disappointed and like my family take a deep sigh and wave a fond farewell as you depart for home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the way the rooms flowed on the ground floor
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great base”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Firstly both Kim and Maggie could not have been more welcoming.
The house was great and our 4 boys loved it a real home from home. The pool is pure luxury with an indulgent rest area providing a useful fridge for storing cold drinks, bbq area with dining too.
Kim and Maggie are always at hand to assist with questions and give useful suggestions on where to go.
We would go back in a heartbeat and would reccommend it to others with no hesitation.
Great area for visiting Cognac, Bordeaux, Royan etc.. loved the kayaking on the River Charente in Cognac where the Cognac kayak and canoe hire shop are extremely helpful and friendly.
Thank you Kim and Maggie for a wonderful holiday, we hope to see you both again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing