We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We glimpsed a piece of heaven on earth”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chez Chevalier

Pool and bar
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and bar
House Pool seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Pool and bar
House
Pool seating area
Pool Bar
Mazanine
Kitchen/diner
outdoor dining
Master bedroom
pool at night
twin bedroom
view from field
BBQ
OUTDOOR SPACE
shower room with loo and sink
en suite bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint Fort sur Gironde, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Michael M
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We glimpsed a piece of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Do you want to stay in a beautiful renovated farmhouse situated on a rural lane in an idyllic location surrounded by fields of vines & sunflowers? Do you want to stay in a place where feelings of chill, relax, unwind, de-stress hit you like a punch from a heavy weight boxer. Then read on! Having holidayed in France over recent years Chez Chevalier is the only location my family and I would return to in an instant. The house offers a fantastic combination of rustic charm (exposed stone walls and timbers with huge fireplaces) & contemporary style (very modern en-suite bathroom to the master bedroom). It was so tranquil I half expected the Chevalier who once owned the house to appear on his horse having returned from a knightly quest with tales of daring do. We spent most of our time relaxing by the large, exceptionally clean pool area complete with a very comfortable shaded seating area & bar with a fridge (how cool is that, no need to return to the house for drinks)! There is also a BBQ area for the aspiring Jamie Oliver's. Watching black kite's soar in the skies above or swallows dive around the pool like squadrons of spitfire's....absolutely magical! WiFi & TV with British channels is available, perfect for our 3 teenagers. Kim & Maggie (our hosts) were on hand if anything was needed (a real comfort should you do so). We really enjoyed our stay in this fantastic house which embraces you as you step over the threshold. If anyone is considering staying at Chez Chevalier you will not be disappointed and like my family take a deep sigh and wave a fond farewell as you depart for home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the way the rooms flowed on the ground floor
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
430darren...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great base”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Firstly both Kim and Maggie could not have been more welcoming.
The house was great and our 4 boys loved it a real home from home. The pool is pure luxury with an indulgent rest area providing a useful fridge for storing cold drinks, bbq area with dining too.
Kim and Maggie are always at hand to assist with questions and give useful suggestions on where to go.
We would go back in a heartbeat and would reccommend it to others with no hesitation.
Great area for visiting Cognac, Bordeaux, Royan etc.. loved the kayaking on the River Charente in Cognac where the Cognac kayak and canoe hire shop are extremely helpful and friendly.
Thank you Kim and Maggie for a wonderful holiday, we hope to see you both again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked everything about this property.
Liked least: The weather..lol
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HHReviewe...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful, peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We wanted a quiet space to relax and recharge and we got exactly that at Chez Chevalier.

We were welcomed on arrival by Kim and Maggie (and Toto the dog) who showed us round the house, let us know they were available if needed and then totally respected our privacy for the rest of the week.

The house was very comfortable and well equipped and the pool was lovely - sun and shade so both our needs were met. We've travelled a lot in France and this is one of the best houses we've stayed in.

The location is quiet for relaxing by the pool and in the garden but well located for trips out. Lots of nice villages close by and watching the sunset on the estuary was a holiday highlight.

Thank you Kim and Maggie - we will definitely be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and private pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There is a Heaven right here on earth!!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just arrived home after spending a month at Chez Chevalier, what can I say?
Everything is perfect, the house which is very clean and all appliances for your needs, the surroundings and Kim and Maggie are the most welcoming and caring of hosts, giving lots of information on markets etc., and always on hand for our needs.There have been ten of us age ranging from 2 to 62 and no one had an issue with the stairs it all adds to the quirkiness of the house. The children, teenagers and of course adults loved the pool which was cleaned every morning by Kim and Maggie.
A car is essential as stated but there are lots of places to visit Royan, Pons, Talmont, La Rochelle and Cognac are lovely and picturesque and easy to get to and park (no charges for parking), Beaches about an hours drive but well worth the journey. Port Meschers and Royan have some lovely seafood restaurants and also recommend the Pizza ria on the main road about 200 yds from Chez Chevalier.The zoo at St Palmye is fantastic for a day out.
The village of St Fur Sur Gironde has a coop, post office, patiserie and bar/restaurant and all the staff are very friendly and help you with your French, the main supermarkets are in Gemozac about 30 minutes drive. What more can you ask for, a perfect holiday and will be a long time before any holiday will match this one, so will definatley be returning.
Connie says do not forget Bert the donkey who lives in a field at the bottom of the lane, he is rather partial to a few carrots and a stroke .
I would rate this property 5 stars plus plus plus

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Knowing the owners were on hand
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing