We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
19
19
9
4
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
19
9
4
21
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This place seems to either be loved or hated on this forum and if we had read some of the reviews we might have given it a miss. The food reports however seem generally good. If it hadn't had a Logis 3 pots rating for the restaurant we definitely would not have gone. But we did...and the restaurant is closed! And it would appear indefinitely. This is such a pity!

The setting is very rural and very peaceful. This is somewhat surprising as we crossed a TGV line a short way from the hotel, but it made no noise impact. The front has a well attended lawn and parking area. We had a hospitable reception from Madame who explained that the restaurant was not open but that she could provide a meal on a tray by the pool. This was all cold foods but as the ambient temperature was a very pleasant 22 degrees C, this was not an issue. What was offered for our first of 2 nights was smoked Scottish salmon, smoked Iberian ham and goats cheese along with a wine list to select something to wash if down with.

We enjoyed a drink by the pool and were very pleased with our large and well appointed room and en-suite (see photos). The room (4) had a large double bed, large wardrobe, a dressing table with chair, flatscreen TV, minibar, trouser press and was very bright thanks to a large and small window. The en-suite had a large shower cubicle, a separate bath (with shower fitting), a sink with vanity unit over and was well lit. It did lack a shower socket but that is unfortunately common in France. There toilet was separate from the en-suite. Towels were of very good quality as were the toiletries. The chocolate coloured bathroom suite may have seemed a bit 70's but the way the tiling was done made it look OK.

The meal by the pool was really very good quality and we enjoyed it, so much so we decided that we would take Madame up on offer to do another the following evening though this time it was Oysters, a carpaccio of beef and a tarte tatin for dessert. Unfortunately the weather wasn't as co-operative the second evening so we ate in a lovely library room just off the pool. The price for each meal seemed a reasonable 28€.

Breakfast both mornings was very good with bread and large freshly cooked croissants delivered to the table, and a good buffet for all the rest including some home produced preserves.

We did not have any issues with extra charges for car parking or towels (there were none). Madame was attentive and did appear suddenly from the many different doors and french windows around the property but we never found her to be less than a good host.

So would we go back? The answer is we might, but we would be more inclined to do so if the restaurant was back in action. The quality of the "TV" dinners we had suggest significant culinary skills which we would be happy to investigate further and the tranquility of the location, which is only a short car journey from the Med beaches, make it an attractive prospect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We chose L'Hacienda for its location central to four days of sightseeing in Arles-Avignon-Nimes and Camargues plus its attractive appearance and rural(read quiet) location. What we didn't know was that the food-breakfast and dinner-is between very good and outstanding. And we had no pressure from the management to eat on the premises, contrary to a previous review. We are experienced multilingual travelers and really enjoyed the comfort and peacefulness of the hotel, the large and clean pool and the excellent cuisine. Excellent value for money. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room number 4
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Before I begin I would like to tell you that the owner said to us on departure " I will not tolerate a bad review"..........well I have news for her!

We arrived for a 2 day visit and from start to finish this was a really ghastly experience. Superficial, phoney, dishonest, and with the creepiest owners imaginable.

We were watched at all times, screamed at for bringing bottled water to our room and not buying it from them. There are DO NOT notices everywhere.( Do not eat your own food on our premises or pic-nic in our grounds being 2 of them. )They became aggressive when we left a polite notice saying we didn't require breakfast on the second morning ( once was enough!)............... They charged for it anyway ( 15 euros per person )

I really can't do this negative review justice. You'd have to BE there and experience it's awfulness for yourselves to really understand.

This dreadful duo have created a hotel from hell.

I would hope dear reader that you will read other reviews similar to mine that are posted here and STAY AWAY AT ALL COST.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This was our 12th holiday arranged through VFB a travel company specialising in French holidays. Their descriptions of hotels are honest and accurate and can be relied on. L'Hacienda was far better than we had hoped for. A very friendly welcome at reception by Madame, room No 7 was tastefully decorated, large with 6' bed, clean and just what we wanted.
The chef/owner was very friendly and his meals from a daily changing set menu were to our taste and excellent. On one occasion he asked if we would like oysters and every evening enquired about our day and our satisfaction with his cooking.
All the staff were once again friendly, talkative and concerned for our enjoyment. We met the owners' daughter and their grandson 'what a charmer'.
Of all the hotels we have stayed at in France, this is ranked as one of the best and we would recommend it without hesitation.
I feel very sorry for the sad, whinging guests who have given the hotel a bad review. Thank goodness we did not read these reports before going or we would have been put off. They should 'GET A LIFE'

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

From start to finish this was an awful experience. Check-in was horrible - the owner was "busy" making a phone call for 10 minutes. Then when we told them we didn't want to eat at the hotel they told us we had to check out if did not eat there. Their food is average but high-priced. They charge for a pool towel! Breakfast is shabby and very over-priced. The staff look miserable and treat customers as badly as the owners do. The restaurant had not one outsider. I think the owners know people won't likely come back so try to milk them for every Euro they can while they have you. Rooms are ghastly also. A shocker!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IIJAYESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews