We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
319
181
67
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
181
67
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely old building delightful hotel standard room overlooking the garden two nights village character
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2015

This was probably the most disappointing stay during our three weeks in France. Our rooms were indeed "charming", but the service was just average and the restaurant very disappointing. The attitude of the staff seemed to be that we were lucky to be there. When we enquired about our dinner - the main course wasn't served until almost 10:30 - we were told the the chef could not be rushed and we would be served in good time! It was not really worth the long wait. Expensive and pretentious.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2014

My reservation was for a Chambre Superieur (a superior room). My room was in the annex building to which you have to access through the back street (3 min walk) because otherwise you have to pass through the restaurant. The room was little bit dark.
The sound isolation was rather poor. You can hear noise from the staircases or adjacent rooms. I was awaken by noise from people speaking in the staircases. Although the room was said to be a Superior Room, it had a tiny old shower cabin of less than 1m2 (no bath tub). The shower water did not drain well, so you can expect to have stagnant water while having a shower.
The breakfast buffet was mediocre compared to the price of 20 euros (it was included in my room reservation, so I did not mind much). It was a cold buffet with raw eggs and a very poor and limited selection of cheese and hams. May be it would be better to opt for the "express breakfast" and have a proper hot breakfast outside.
It has a nice small garden with swimming pool. You can have your breakfast in the garden.
The restaurant is good. It has a private parking. The location close to Pont du Gard historical monument is the main attraction nearby.
In overall, it was a little bit pricy for the room and services quality.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014

We chose to stay at Le Castellas again because we enjoyed ourselves so much here last year. We stayed in the same room (9) which was bright, cool, spotlessly clean and with nice views to the church. The only thing we found awkward was that the bath taps are under some shelving and therefore a little difficult to operate but this was no problem once we'd got the hang of it.

We ate outside on the terrace both for dinner and breakfast and both were superb. I cannot understand why people have commented on the place having a lack of ambience or that the staff are austere and dilatory. In our experience they could not have been more pleasant or helpful and maybe the ambience is created by the people frequenting the hotel rather than the hotel itself. As for being shocked at being charged for breakfast separately...that is absolutely standard all over France.

All in all we had a great stay and are already looking forward to going back next year and would definitely recommend Le Castellas.

Room Tip: If you don't do stairs ask for a first floor room as I'm positive there is no lift.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank provence1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostellerieleCa... C, Propriétaire at Hostellerie Le Castellas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

we thank you so much for this comment and we will be very glad to welcvome you again next year ! sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

this is a charming place in a beautiful part of southern France! The rooms are uniquely decorated and very spacious; the cuisine is absolutely superb and the staff offers very friendly and professional service. I will definitely return some day!!!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leffcohiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Eventually found this hotel after AA Route directions wrong. Lovely old building with a beautiful garden restaurant, completely agree with comments about austere receptionist, old school French that you hope will one day disappear. Quirky room but comfortable. We didn't try the restaurant as it looked rather serious and we were not in the mood. Shocked to find in the morning that we had to pay 20 euros each for a very ordinary (but pleasant) breakfast. Better to go elsewhere for your breakfast. With 17 euros for our dog and 4.50 for a small beer from the minibar we paid nearly 190 euros for the night. Free private parking nearby.
Collias has a lovely river, well worth stroll and is around10 minutes drive from Uzes.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SenorCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews