We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly hosts, beautiful countryside, shame...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gite La Fargeotte

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living/Dining Room Entrance to Gite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Living/Dining Room
Entrance to Gite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mauzens-et-Miremont, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
RachelD19...
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts, beautiful countryside, shame about the weather!”
Reviewed 19 May 2011 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at La Fargeotte for ten days last summer and although we arrived extremlely late, Paul & Jill had waited up for our arrival. They were lovely hosts and it was great to have them living so close, as they were extremely friendly and helpful and gave us lots of advice (but not over attentive either). The accommodation was comfortable, with plenty of room - even for our family of six (2 adults & 4 kids - 15,14,13 & 11) and the 'games room' was fab and the whole family made use of it daily, in fact it was hard to get our three sons out of the splash pool (even when the sun wasn't shining). They also had a great collection of video's (few oldish films which the kids had not seen before but ended up loving!) The only down side to the accommodation is that it is situated quite close to a busy-ish road, so you could hear the traffic passing by, that said it didn't keep us awake at night and the property is set back slightly so people with younger children wouldn't need to be overly worried about safety issues) The area was beautiful and although we had researched things to do in the area to keep the kids entertained, things were slightly further afield than we had anticipated and we did put a few miles on the car. We were slightly unlucky with the weather, which meant we may have travelled further than if we had glorious sunshine everyday. Two particularly memorable days out were at the local water park, which was fab and canoeing, which will never be erased from my memory! We saw tonnes of wildlife while we were there including a family of wild boar amongst a host of other things. Would I go again? Yes but based on the area alone, I think it would be better suited to a family with slightly younger children or a couple. So we will be back after the kids have moved out!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julego
Andalucia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing place. Lovely owners. A pleasure!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2011 for a stay in July 2010
1
person found this review helpful

La fargeotte is a beautiful house set in one of the best spots in France, the Dordogne river. The place is absolutely child friendly- if you have kids, don´t search no more.This is your place!. The owners, Jill and Paul, are a lovely couple who lives very discreetly on-site, but La fargeotte has an absolute independence. And they are just fantastic, very good people. We passed ten incredible days and the situation of the house(a real home from home) is just perfect to see the local attractions. Most of the things you need to see are in a twenty minutes trip and the Perigord Noir is a gift to the senses, a photographer´s paradise. The towns(Sarlat, magical place, you can´t miss it!!!, Domme- one ot the best views of your lifetime, Limeuil, Beynac, La Roque-Gageac, Rocamadour- unbeliavable sanctuary. The people, the food, the wine, the incredible starry nights.....it´s heaven on earth!. One of the incredible things at La Fargeotte is the games room. You have everything you need to be happy- splash pool, garden, barbecue, a pool table, darts...¡¡super!!. :) Our time at La Fargeotte remains as one of the best experience in our lives, we know we´ll come back in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenaY
Herzeliya
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good place for family with children”
Reviewed 18 May 2011 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

This house is almost ideal for the family with kids. It is big enough and comfortable, there are plenty of toys and games which are suitable for young kids and teenagers as well (my teenagers particularly liked table tennis and darts)
Only the location is not ideal, as it is located near the road (not very noisy,it was ok in nights) and not in any village/town.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauget274...
Louviers, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Nous vous remercions et nous nous réjouissons de vous accueillir à l'avenir.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tutuaia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Imagen típica de la zona, tranquilidad y lugar céntrico.
Liked least: Que es un poco vieja y a veces se oye la carcoma de algún mueble.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;