We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best place to stay in the Bordeaux region”
other travellers have booked this property
Open plan studio apartment overlooking courtyard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan studio apartment overlooking courtyard.
Complete kitchen with counter top microwave oven. Lounge area with LCD TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Open plan studio apartment overlooking courtyard.
Complete kitchen with counter top microwave oven.
Lounge area with LCD TV
Our studio apartment.
View into the apartment from the stairwell. Kitchen window is on the right.
Our cupboard space extends around the corner next to the bed.
Entrance to the apartment with a view of the bathroom.
Walk in shower
Free standing basin with excellent lighting for makeup.
View into the apartment from the front door.
View of the stairwell looking up. Hanging plant screens provide privacy between each apartment.
Our courtyard where you can enjoy the mornings or evenings.
Ground floor of the stairwell showing the entrance into the celler and lounge.
View of the old well that used to provide water to the property. The pump mechanism is on the left.
Stairs descending down into the cellar.
Aerial view of the Citadel, a UNESCO world heritage site and 200 meters from our property.
The ferry that takes you across the Dordonge Estuary into the Medoc and amazing wine country.
Fort Medoc, one of the first attractions when you cross over to the Medoc.
Driving the D2 Road through the Medoc!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Blaye, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
William S
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in the Bordeaux region”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for two months and had nothing but a fabulous experience from start to finish. If you think the website looks good the reality is even better. The customer service, first with one of the co-owners Frank and then with Mia was excellent. They answered all our questions in a full and timely manner. The house and rooms are spotlessly clean and wonderfully decorated. The courtyard area was the perfect place to have a barbecue or just sit outside with a local bottle of wine which is not only excellent but inexpensive. The market in Blaye, Wednesdays and Saturday mornings are excellent and the oysters the best I have ever tasted. Together with the website, there is an excellent visitors guide in each room which is full of suggestions about what to visit, restaurants etc. We would highly recommend Chez Simon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great apartment, fantastic location”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a base to explore the fantastic wine region that is Bordeaux look no further. It will certainly be advisable to have a car which is easy to park nearby.

The booking process was easy, deposit taken and payment of the balance via Paypal made a fortnight out after which clear instructions were sent. The apartments are unmanned but that was no problem to us. We followed the instructions and were in the apartment (no 4) in seconds. Be aware there are stairs and no lift.

The apartments and communal areas are immaculately furnished with every item you could possibly need. The kitchen is fully equipped for almost any kind of cooking you like. No freezer though. We stayed 4 nights but would happily have stayed longer as we felt right at home. The courtyard is great for eating or sitting and there is a barbecue to use if you wish.

There is a Leclerc supermarket within 5 minutes drive and 2 bakeries (Boulangerie) within 5 minutes walk for the all important breakfast pastries and bread.

An extra nice touch was the DVD library in the downstairs lounge. My only minor quibble was a lack of extra pillows for the bed but this is a very minor thing and we would highly recommend Chez Simon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElleC80
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, great location”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My Husband and I stayed here for 4 nights earlier this month. We were really impressed with the apartment which was clean, peaceful, plenty of kitchen equipment. We found it a little difficult to find from the directions we were given as we hadn't realised that the street it's on looks like a pedestrianized street but once we found it everything was very straight forward.

Blaye itself is a nice little town with a few lovely places to eat, the market on wed and sat is well worth visiting. You will definitely need a car as there's not much to do otherwise in the day so you'll want to be able to drive out of Blaye.

All in all we loved our stay at this apartment and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canterbury UK
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing