We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
AL Sole Guesthouse(Leon)(Great Value!)
USD 25
USD 23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
USD 33
USD 29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Casa Ivana(Leon)(Great Value!)
USD 20
USD 18
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 19
Booking.com
View Deal
Casa Lula Leon Hostal(Leon)(Great Value!)
USD 26
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
96
41
32
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
41
32
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenvolcano tourbook exchangewould stay againcomfortable bedssmall pooltelicatourshostelhammocks
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Super hostel with a pool (so nice in the Leon heat) and lots of hammocks to lounge around in. The dorms were big, but spacious and had lots of fans. There's a small kitchen you can use and reception were super helpful in organising trips and onward travel.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Starling-Joneses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonati, Sonati Family at Hostel Sonati Leon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear Starling!
Thanks so much for your opinion.
We appreciate your collaboration on our environmental programs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here! Stayed five nights in July and it was great! Really friendly hostel with an environmental thinking. You get free coffee in the morning, there's a good kitchen and it's only 6dollars/night so it's a great place if you wanna save some money! Staff is really friendly and will help you book tours or trips! Not too many bathrooms and they're not really secluded, but it was clean and nice so I'm not complaining :)
Good sized pool and hammocks! Recommend this place!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Aknitak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonati, Sonati family at Hostel Sonati Leon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Dear Aknitak!
Thanks for your opinion, we appreciate your comment.
If you come back to Leon, visit us!
Thanks for support our Environmental Programs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We really loved this hostel. It is cosy and feels very familiar. There are more backpackers so a lot of people to speak to.
The swimmingpool is tiny but very nice, after a hard day of doing trips ;)
Our Dorm room cost $8 per person. The room was cool at night, also with the fan.
The tours are a little bit expensive, so you can better book those somewhere else.
We would really recommend this place!

Room Tip: Nice swimmingpool! :)
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marielle_k89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonati, Sonati Family at Hostel Sonati Leon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Marielle ! Thanks for your support staying in our hostel wich finances free envionmental education in Leon and Esteli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

My wife and I stayed there 5 nights with our daughter, son in law and their 4 little boys. It was during Holy Week and pretty much else was full. It's in a quiet part of the city and close to central park. It was safe to go out at night. The staff was very friendly especially the young man from Australia. Some of the people staying there are also doing volunteer work but they certainly not friendly and some times were rude. They would leave their dirty dishes in the kitchen and spent their time texting. Some looked at our grandkids as if they came from another planet. We stayed on the second floor and it was so hot that one fan was not enough and we had to buy another one at the market. When we left, we gave it to the cleaning lady. Would we stay there again? Never!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Happy-seniors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonati, Sonati Family at Hostel Sonati Leon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

We apologize for your uncomfortable experience, we have taken your advice.
Holy Week is usually very busy in the city, there are usually many people traveling, we usually have many families and have not taken problems by children. Now we have the option of air conditioning in our private rooms.
Really very sorry about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

The hostel itself is great!! But the best part about Sonati was the staff, they make you feel like a member of the and always came to hangout with us in/out of work. They took us out to see their recycling park and gave us advice on things to do in Leon outside of the usual.

Thanks Guys!!!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonati, Sonati family at Hostel Sonati Leon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Dear Matt,
Thanks for your oppinion and your valuable collaboration in our programs and environmental projects!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews