We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AL Sole Guesthouse(Leon)(Great Value!)
USD 25
USD 23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
USD 28
USD 24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 19
Booking.com
View Deal
Hostal Casa Ivana(Leon)(Great Value!)
USD 20
USD 18
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 26
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
140
137
40
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
137
40
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolfree coffee and teastreet foodgreat poolother guestsprivate room with shared bathroomrelaxed atmospherepancakesfanshammockshostelshuttlechillheatnicaraguatoursinternet
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Great non-party hostel with a great common space to hang out. Centrally located. Hammocks, lounge chairs around the pool, couches, pool table, etc. I used the common space more than I did in other cities I visited as Leon was dreadfully hot so would definitely head back to hostel during midday sun to chill. Inexpensive chilled drinks available at all hours was very appreciated. Evening quiet time enforced. Free coffee and breakfasts were delicious and a good price. There a beautiful interior garden that the hammocks surround. There is security all night at reception and they are very helpful with information and booking tours/shuttles. I had a private room with shared bathroom. There are many bathrooms available and they were always clean. I’m giving it a 4 and not 5 because I really wanted to use the pool but it looked a little murky. Having said that, the day I left I saw them giving it a good clean. Favorite restaurants: International Restaurant (as a treat after so long in Central America), and Carnivore (fancy but not expensive, a meal at home would cost 4X the price). I would definitely go back here (not in April when it is so hot).

Room Tip: The room beside the free coffee bar on ground floor
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alphabetty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

Lazybones is an excellent hostel and would get 5 stars if it was not for the totally inadequate number and strength of the fans in the dorms. Leon is the hottest city in Nicaragua and at night the dorms are stiflingly hot and airless with just 2 limp fans high up in the ceilings. In the middle of the night I had to decamp to the outside seating area to get some sleep. Other reviews confirm this so action should be taken by the owners to improve the situation.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

It's definitely overpriced for what you expect, 27 us for a room of 3, without even towels and soap included.. It's nothing but still unbelievable for the price.
If the very not welcoming woman at the entrance didn't make you turn away, the weird pool (makes you greasy..) and then to achieve the drawing you get a change for dollars that would make a bank ashamed.. Ask before you decide..

There is plenty of hostel cheaper and really welcoming..

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank Tothewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazyboneshostal, Propietario at Lazybones Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2015
Google Translation

Sur Tripadvisor on ne peut pas insulter les gens c'est bien dommage!
Les faits sont les suivants:

Vous (avec votre copine française) avez effectué le 06 avril la randonnee sur le volcan telica avec la cooperative Maribios Tours (coopérative des employés du Lazybones), au retour de la randonnée vous ne souhaitez pas sejourné dans notre hostal car trop cher, cependant vous vous vouliez utiliser la piscine, prendre le café, prendre la douche….on vous a donné le droit au café et a la douche mais pas a la piscine.
Dans l'apres midi vous essayez de trouver un hostal moins cher (laissant vos sacs a la reception), mais a priori ils étaient complets donc vous décidez de séjourner au Lazybones.

Le lendemain matin vous essayez de partir sans payer (la preuve par vidéo), en effet, la receptioniste vous fait remarquer que vous avez oublié de payer et s'en suit des insultes sur le taux de change que nous appliquons. Comme il est mentionné à la reception la commission sur le taux de change est entièrement reversé aux 10 employes du Lazybones et vous concernant on parle de 20 cordobas c'est à dire 0,7 dollars. Sur notre site web il est mentionné ceci:
“L'Hotel Lazybones est pour un tourisme sociable - durable:Nous payons nos salariés d'une manière juste et équitable et nous essayons de les traiter bien!
Merci de voyager d'une manière responsable!”
Voyager d une maniere responsable, je pense que vous ne savez pas ce que cela signifie.
En vous lisant j ai honte d'être francais, j ai honte de l image que vous donner aux nicaraguayens.
Je suis triste…..mais je suis triste pour vous.
Pour finir, 27 dollars c est le prix d une chambre triple sans salle de bain c 'est à dire 9 dollars par personne mais ce fut trop cher pour vous, desolé, je pourrais la proposer a 18 dollars mais combien je payerais mes employés?….mais ca je pense que vous vous en moquez, vous ce que vous voulez c est voyager pas cher!

Voyager pas cher pour vous: c'est essayé de partir sans payer d'un hostal, de nous menacer en mettant 2 mauvais commentaires sur Tripadvisor....vous me faites vomir!
Un conseil que je peux vous donner: rester en france s'il vous plait....ne voyager pas!

A bon entendeur salut!

Patrick Punzano (proprietaire de l hostal et francais egalement)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We stayed several nights here in one of the private rooms with shared bathroom. The hostel is clean and safe, the staff friendly and helpfull and there are some areas where you can meet people or relax in a hammock. The internet is strong and reliable and you get free (and pretty good coffe in the morning). Breakfast isn't included but you can buy it pretty cheap at the hostel.

The hostel is located close to nice bars and restaurants. After 10.30 pm you can't use the pool, computers och pool table anymore which makes the hostel quiet at night.

The hostel also offers tours like volcano boardning, however we didn't go on any of the tours they arranged.

On the downside is that there is no kitchen.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Rese r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Good hostal, situated in downtown, a few blocks from central park. I loved the pool very refreshing in this hot city.
Rooms ok, chill out atmosphere.
Good breakfast. i recommend it because it´s a very good option

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bring M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews