We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bhaktapur
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 19 February 2017

The staff was awesome and the rooms very nice. Very quiet part of bhaktapur, with a lot of local flavor. I became friends with the guy that works there, dileep. In a place where the locals treat white people like a paycheck Dileep treated me like a person and I really appreciated it.

Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 22 February 2017
Dear Andy
Warm greeting and regards from Dilip . Thank you for your feedback and enjoyed our service . Please do share your visit with your friends and family .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    127
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
99
81
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2017

I had a very pleasant stay at Shiva Guest House 1, probably the best place to enjoy Bhaktapur, right on Durbar Square! My room looked upon the Square, I could almost touch the main pagoda temple, it was amazing to hear the chanting during the evening pujas. My room was simple but comfy, staff is super helpful and always smiling, they can organise taxi transfers and much more upon request. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirek83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Mirek

It was nice to serve you and have talk with you. Thank you for your warm feedback and we hope to see you again .

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Box Hill, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

As far as guesthouses go this was excellent. The room was big, shower hot and staff very friendly. We also had meals included which were very good. When we were there it was very cold but the doonas kept us warm at night. We stayed at No.2 which was quiet.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Dear Marcia
Nice to hear from you . Thank you for your warm feedback and we hope to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2016

It is difficult, perhaps impossible, to compare a hotel in Bhaktapur, Nepal, with hotels in Europe. I stayed in 11 different hotels/lodges during my 18 day visit in Nepal. Shiva Guesthouse 1 was the 3de "nicest" and Shiva Guesthouse 2 was the next nicest. Guesthouse 1 isat Durbar square, while guesthouse 2 is just outside the gate to the square. Guesthouse 2 is a little newer, cleaner, better functioning. Neither guesthouse has any heating, beds are uncomfortable, but have clean sheets, and plenty of blankets. Both guestrooms were reasonably clean. In Guesthouse 2 I had an own bathroom, clean and with hot water. In guesthouse 1 I shared a bathroom/toilet in the hall with other guests on the same floor. There was no hot water and the drain didn't work, it was dirty.
Shiva guesthouse 2 was quiet. In guesthouse 1 I was woken by barking dogs at night and by worshiping local people in the morning. Durbar square has several stupas/places for worshiping, two immediate outside the entrance top the guesthouse
Shiva guesthouse 1 has a restaurant on bottom floor, serving really good Dhal Bhat. The restaurant was frequented by foreign tourists and a bit of a meeting place for foreigners in Nepal due to work. There was an English newspaper in the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are nicer than on 1st floor. Durbar square view comes with disturbing dog barking at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solveig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 30 November 2016
Dear Solveig

Thank you for your feedback . As your booking was made in budget room so it's simple in shiva 1 . Where was due to full booked we had to make your booking in shiva 2. We are very sorry for the inconvenience of hot water and drain we will make struck follow up . Thank you for the suggestion and its rush season so some time it occur .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016

If you want to be in Nepal within Nepal to feel Nepal SHIVA GUEST HOUSE is the right place!!! With open heart you experience what money cannot give; authentic atmosphere of nepal. spirituality in simplisity. Stay in Bhaktapur not in Kathmandu!!!
Ho Park

Room Tip: if you want to be in Nepal within Nepal this is just the best place in Bhaktapur!!! Any room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ho p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 10 November 2016
Hello Ho

Thank you again a for the feedback and hope to see you soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhaktapur
1.1 km away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bhaktapur
401 reviews
1.5 km away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bhaktapur
71 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#3 of 8 in Bhaktapur
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
8.7 km away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
12.2 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Guest House1 & 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Guest House1 & 2

Property: Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Address: 11 Durbar Square, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bhaktapur
Price range (per night): $20 - $100
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiva Guest House1 & 2 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Friendly Heritage Guest House. SHIVA GUEST HOUSE-pleasantly located in the heart of the Durbar Square is your address in Bhaktapur. Standing next to the Yaksheshwor Temple the city's oldest edifice dating back to 1472 AD, the guest house is where you can start your exploration trip from. You can do here what many of our esteemed guests including scholars, students and even a film crew of Bertculocci from Hollywood have done in the past. We are always behind you to help materialize your cherished dreams in Bhaktapur and beyond. With a team of professionals around, you will surely feel that you have made a right decision choosing us. SHIVA GUEST HOUSE, as our well-wishers say, is suited to all types of travelers. For your personal comfort, we offer 15 well appointed rooms, many often overlooking the palatial square in the gracious elegance. For the gourmands and gourmands, we have the Cafe Corner, which serve a wide verity of cuisine to suite both you pallet and wallet. The culinary delights here range from Newari and Nepali Dal Bhat to Chinese, Mexican, Italian, Indian and Continental delicacies. And when comes the question of the quality of our culinary offerings. We never forget Hygiene is our top priority. Adding to the mesmerizing ambience, we also have rooftop garden from which you can savor the splendor of nature's graciousness all around on the south, the bliss you feel at SHIVA GUEST HOUSE is something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shiva Guest House1 & 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Guest House1 & 2 Hotel Bhaktapur
Shiva Guest House1 And 2
Shiva Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing