We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Nearby Hotels
USD 55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cosy Hotel(Bhaktapur)
USD 24
USD 23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siddhi Laxmi Guest House(Bhaktapur)(Great Value!)
USD 30
Booking.com
View Deal
Thagu Chhen(Bhaktapur)
USD 70
USD 53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 26
USD 23
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 48
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Swastik Guest House(Bhaktapur)(Great Value!)
USD 15
USD 13
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 42
USD 41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 39
USD 37
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Heritage(Bhaktapur)
USD 106
USD 87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
143
130
18
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
130
18
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdurbar squarerestaurant downstairsexcellent locationtop floortemple bellskathmandu valleykailashgateguesthouselifebrotherstouristsculturecurd
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

As far as guesthouses go this was excellent. The room was big, shower hot and staff very friendly. We also had meals included which were very good. When we were there it was very cold but the doonas kept us warm at night. We stayed at No.2 which was quiet.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Marcia
Nice to hear from you . Thank you for your warm feedback and we hope to see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

It is difficult, perhaps impossible, to compare a hotel in Bhaktapur, Nepal, with hotels in Europe. I stayed in 11 different hotels/lodges during my 18 day visit in Nepal. Shiva Guesthouse 1 was the 3de "nicest" and Shiva Guesthouse 2 was the next nicest. Guesthouse 1 isat Durbar square, while guesthouse 2 is just outside the gate to the square. Guesthouse 2 is a little newer, cleaner, better functioning. Neither guesthouse has any heating, beds are uncomfortable, but have clean sheets, and plenty of blankets. Both guestrooms were reasonably clean. In Guesthouse 2 I had an own bathroom, clean and with hot water. In guesthouse 1 I shared a bathroom/toilet in the hall with other guests on the same floor. There was no hot water and the drain didn't work, it was dirty.
Shiva guesthouse 2 was quiet. In guesthouse 1 I was woken by barking dogs at night and by worshiping local people in the morning. Durbar square has several stupas/places for worshiping, two immediate outside the entrance top the guesthouse
Shiva guesthouse 1 has a restaurant on bottom floor, serving really good Dhal Bhat. The restaurant was frequented by foreign tourists and a bit of a meeting place for foreigners in Nepal due to work. There was an English newspaper in the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are nicer than on 1st floor. Durbar square view comes with disturbing dog barking at night.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solveig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Dear Solveig

Thank you for your feedback . As your booking was made in budget room so it's simple in shiva 1 . Where was due to full booked we had to make your booking in shiva 2. We are very sorry for the inconvenience of hot water and drain we will make struck follow up . Thank you for the suggestion and its rush season so some time it occur .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

If you want to be in Nepal within Nepal to feel Nepal SHIVA GUEST HOUSE is the right place!!! With open heart you experience what money cannot give; authentic atmosphere of nepal. spirituality in simplisity. Stay in Bhaktapur not in Kathmandu!!!
Ho Park

Room Tip: if you want to be in Nepal within Nepal this is just the best place in Bhaktapur!!! Any room!!!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ho p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Hello Ho

Thank you again a for the feedback and hope to see you soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Shiva's guesthouse for two nights. As the main building was full I got a room in the annex building. As I realized later this is much better. The room 702 was large, with balcony, clean and with well working power socket. It was on the top floor, hence I had a good view over the city, not the old town though.
The annex is just outside the city gate, two minutes walking distance from Durbar Square. It felt safe to walk there in the dark, around 8pm.
Breakfast was in the main guesthouse. Food was good and filling, nothing to write home about though. Ask for Lavazza coffee.
The staff is very friendly and polite.
All in all, I would stay there again and chose the Annex to stay in.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank icespark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and enjoyed your stay with us . We hope to see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Best place to start your trip in Nepal. Kailash and Naresh are incredibly helpful! These brothers are #1 when it comes to providing excellent accommodations at their guest houses, delicious food in the restaurant, great touring services and transport as needed. I felt at home in Nepal thanks to these wonderful men and highly recommend Shiva Guesthouse!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mountainrosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear Jody and Tom

Thank you for your warm feedback and enjoyed your stay with us. Warm greetings from shiva team .
We hope to see you with groups next year .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews