We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Heritage(Bhaktapur)
USD 106
USD 87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel(Bhaktapur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Krishna's House(Bhaktapur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Thagu Chhen(Bhaktapur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cosy Hotel(Bhaktapur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
143
130
18
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
130
18
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdurbar squarerestaurant downstairsexcellent locationtop floortemple bellskathmandu valleykailashgateguesthouselifebrotherstouristsculturecurd
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Best place to start your trip in Nepal. Kailash and Naresh are incredibly helpful! These brothers are #1 when it comes to providing excellent accommodations at their guest houses, delicious food in the restaurant, great touring services and transport as needed. I felt at home in Nepal thanks to these wonderful men and highly recommend Shiva Guesthouse!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mountainrosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear Jody and Tom

Thank you for your warm feedback and enjoyed your stay with us. Warm greetings from shiva team .
We hope to see you with groups next year .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Excellent chicken fry rice and fry chicken we ordered, the restaurant is facing Durbar square, so you can enjoey a nice meal with the heritage, giving youself wonderful experience. The setting in the restaurant is good so you are eyes with the magnificent structures and having a good meal. Toiler is western style, I believe this is important to many people.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Dear Guest
Nice to hear from you and thank you for your warm feedback .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I stayed at building No.1, which had the most incredible location and view on to the square. In the morning, i could open my window, hear the bells, and watch women carrying bowls of offerings to the temples. So serene.
The building itself was good. I liked the restaurant and my room was cozy. The only thing i didn't like was the bathrooms. I went for the shared bathrooms, but i should have opted for the private bathrooms. The shared ones weren't very clean and the showers awkward and had cold water only. It wasn't the end of the world, but i did skip showering during my stay there. So i would recommend it and would stay there again for sure, but would get a private bathroom.
There was free wifi and they helped me organize a taxi to Nagarkot.

Room Tip: building #1 with a view of the square
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and enjoyed our service but we deeply sorry for the bathroom issue as its common bathroom and some make it mess some times . We try our best to improve it .
We hope to see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Ever seen such a true claim: warm atmosphere and kindness for the whole stay from Kailas and its staff. I would Also recommend Shiva restaurant @Shiva 1, that welcomes you in a Very pleasant and relaxing way and prepares recipes (Tried nepali & indian) with care.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Federica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear Federica.

Thank you for your warm feedback and enjoyed our service. We look forward to see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Staying at the Shiva Guesthouse Durbur Square, I got the rooms facing the square which was really amazing. Even you have to pay an entrance fee of 15 USD to get to the guesthouse, you can easily walk from there to everywhere in the old quarter. The rooms are quite dirty and poor equipped, plug-ins are not working and cleaning is not really what it should be. Restaurants and bakeries are spread around there.

Room Tip: Room 303 has the best view.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GaryMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Dear Gary

Thank you for your feedback . We are very sorry for your uncomfortable stay , we will take this issue strickly and maintain the problem .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews