We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room in annex building ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bhaktapur
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice room in annex building ”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Shiva's guesthouse for two nights. As the main building was full I got a room in the annex building. As I realized later this is much better. The room 702 was large, with balcony, clean and with well working power socket. It was on the top floor, hence I had a good view over the city, not the old town though.
The annex is just outside the city gate, two minutes walking distance from Durbar Square. It felt safe to walk there in the dark, around 8pm.
Breakfast was in the main guesthouse. Food was good and filling, nothing to write home about though. Ask for Lavazza coffee.
The staff is very friendly and polite.
All in all, I would stay there again and chose the Annex to stay in.

Stayed October 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank icespark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 31 October 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and enjoyed your stay with us . We hope to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    127
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
99
81
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Floyd, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Best place to start your trip in Nepal. Kailash and Naresh are incredibly helpful! These brothers are #1 when it comes to providing excellent accommodations at their guest houses, delicious food in the restaurant, great touring services and transport as needed. I felt at home in Nepal thanks to these wonderful men and highly recommend Shiva Guesthouse!

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mountainrosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 20 October 2016
Dear Jody and Tom

Thank you for your warm feedback and enjoyed your stay with us. Warm greetings from shiva team .
We hope to see you with groups next year .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Excellent chicken fry rice and fry chicken we ordered, the restaurant is facing Durbar square, so you can enjoey a nice meal with the heritage, giving youself wonderful experience. The setting in the restaurant is good so you are eyes with the magnificent structures and having a good meal. Toiler is western style, I believe this is important to many people.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 15 October 2016
Dear Guest
Nice to hear from you and thank you for your warm feedback .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I stayed at building No.1, which had the most incredible location and view on to the square. In the morning, i could open my window, hear the bells, and watch women carrying bowls of offerings to the temples. So serene.
The building itself was good. I liked the restaurant and my room was cozy. The only thing i didn't like was the bathrooms. I went for the shared bathrooms, but i should have opted for the private bathrooms. The shared ones weren't very clean and the showers awkward and had cold water only. It wasn't the end of the world, but i did skip showering during my stay there. So i would recommend it and would stay there again for sure, but would get a private bathroom.
There was free wifi and they helped me organize a taxi to Nagarkot.

Room Tip: building #1 with a view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 23 August 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and enjoyed our service but we deeply sorry for the bathroom issue as its common bathroom and some make it mess some times . We try our best to improve it .
We hope to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Ever seen such a true claim: warm atmosphere and kindness for the whole stay from Kailas and its staff. I would Also recommend Shiva restaurant @Shiva 1, that welcomes you in a Very pleasant and relaxing way and prepares recipes (Tried nepali & indian) with care.

Stayed August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Federica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 19 August 2016
Dear Federica.

Thank you for your warm feedback and enjoyed our service. We look forward to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhaktapur
1.1 km away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bhaktapur
402 reviews
1.5 km away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bhaktapur
71 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#3 of 8 in Bhaktapur
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
8.7 km away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
12.2 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Guest House1 & 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Guest House1 & 2

Property: Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Address: 11 Durbar Square, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bhaktapur
Price range (per night): $20 - $99
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiva Guest House1 & 2 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Friendly Heritage Guest House. SHIVA GUEST HOUSE-pleasantly located in the heart of the Durbar Square is your address in Bhaktapur. Standing next to the Yaksheshwor Temple the city's oldest edifice dating back to 1472 AD, the guest house is where you can start your exploration trip from. You can do here what many of our esteemed guests including scholars, students and even a film crew of Bertculocci from Hollywood have done in the past. We are always behind you to help materialize your cherished dreams in Bhaktapur and beyond. With a team of professionals around, you will surely feel that you have made a right decision choosing us. SHIVA GUEST HOUSE, as our well-wishers say, is suited to all types of travelers. For your personal comfort, we offer 15 well appointed rooms, many often overlooking the palatial square in the gracious elegance. For the gourmands and gourmands, we have the Cafe Corner, which serve a wide verity of cuisine to suite both you pallet and wallet. The culinary delights here range from Newari and Nepali Dal Bhat to Chinese, Mexican, Italian, Indian and Continental delicacies. And when comes the question of the quality of our culinary offerings. We never forget Hygiene is our top priority. Adding to the mesmerizing ambience, we also have rooftop garden from which you can savor the splendor of nature's graciousness all around on the south, the bliss you feel at SHIVA GUEST HOUSE is something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shiva Guest House1 & 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Guest House1 & 2 Hotel Bhaktapur
Shiva Guest House1 And 2
Shiva Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing