We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bhaktapur
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Terrific location”
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I stayed at building No.1, which had the most incredible location and view on to the square. In the morning, i could open my window, hear the bells, and watch women carrying bowls of offerings to the temples. So serene.
The building itself was good. I liked the restaurant and my room was cozy. The only thing i didn't like was the bathrooms. I went for the shared bathrooms, but i should have opted for the private bathrooms. The shared ones weren't very clean and the showers awkward and had cold water only. It wasn't the end of the world, but i did skip showering during my stay there. So i would recommend it and would stay there again for sure, but would get a private bathroom.
There was free wifi and they helped me organize a taxi to Nagarkot.

Room Tip: building #1 with a view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 23 August 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and enjoyed our service but we deeply sorry for the bathroom issue as its common bathroom and some make it mess some times . We try our best to improve it .
We hope to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    127
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
99
81
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Ever seen such a true claim: warm atmosphere and kindness for the whole stay from Kailas and its staff. I would Also recommend Shiva restaurant @Shiva 1, that welcomes you in a Very pleasant and relaxing way and prepares recipes (Tried nepali & indian) with care.

Stayed August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Federica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 19 August 2016
Dear Federica.

Thank you for your warm feedback and enjoyed our service. We look forward to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Staying at the Shiva Guesthouse Durbur Square, I got the rooms facing the square which was really amazing. Even you have to pay an entrance fee of 15 USD to get to the guesthouse, you can easily walk from there to everywhere in the old quarter. The rooms are quite dirty and poor equipped, plug-ins are not working and cleaning is not really what it should be. Restaurants and bakeries are spread around there.

Room Tip: Room 303 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 24 June 2016
Dear Gary

Thank you for your feedback . We are very sorry for your uncomfortable stay , we will take this issue strickly and maintain the problem .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2016

I stayed at Shiva Guest House 1 for nearly 3 months as part of my doctoral project on a local ritualistic performance, and I was very happy with the excellent location, consistently great food (from my perspective, the best food in Bhaktapur), and helpful service provided during my entire time there. The room was also spacious and comfortable with a superb view of Durbar Square. Kailash was an extremely hospitable and accommodating host, who aided not only the organisation of some excursions to other regions of Nepal, but also introduced me to some informative people in relation to my project.

I would highly recommend Shiva Guest House!

  • Stayed February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 24 June 2016
Hello Matt

Thank you for your feedback and enjoyed our stay . We hope to see you again in oct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros-de-Vaud
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2016

I stayed there three times: Once in Shiva Guest House 1, twice in SGH 2. Number 1 is in a wonderful location and has a nice dining room. Number 2 has better rooms and, although very close, is more quiet. Yours to choose, but you can sleep there and eat here!

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paracelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 8 May 2016
Thank you for your warm feedback and please share your visit to your friends and family .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhaktapur
1.1 km away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bhaktapur
402 reviews
1.5 km away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bhaktapur
71 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#3 of 8 in Bhaktapur
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
8.7 km away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
12.2 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Guest House1 & 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Guest House1 & 2

Property: Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Address: 11 Durbar Square, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bhaktapur
Price range (per night): $20 - $98
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiva Guest House1 & 2 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Friendly Heritage Guest House. SHIVA GUEST HOUSE-pleasantly located in the heart of the Durbar Square is your address in Bhaktapur. Standing next to the Yaksheshwor Temple the city's oldest edifice dating back to 1472 AD, the guest house is where you can start your exploration trip from. You can do here what many of our esteemed guests including scholars, students and even a film crew of Bertculocci from Hollywood have done in the past. We are always behind you to help materialize your cherished dreams in Bhaktapur and beyond. With a team of professionals around, you will surely feel that you have made a right decision choosing us. SHIVA GUEST HOUSE, as our well-wishers say, is suited to all types of travelers. For your personal comfort, we offer 15 well appointed rooms, many often overlooking the palatial square in the gracious elegance. For the gourmands and gourmands, we have the Cafe Corner, which serve a wide verity of cuisine to suite both you pallet and wallet. The culinary delights here range from Newari and Nepali Dal Bhat to Chinese, Mexican, Italian, Indian and Continental delicacies. And when comes the question of the quality of our culinary offerings. We never forget Hygiene is our top priority. Adding to the mesmerizing ambience, we also have rooftop garden from which you can savor the splendor of nature's graciousness all around on the south, the bliss you feel at SHIVA GUEST HOUSE is something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shiva Guest House1 & 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Guest House1 & 2 Hotel Bhaktapur
Shiva Guest House1 And 2
Shiva Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing