We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bhintuna(Bhaktapur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel(Bhaktapur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Yechu(Bhaktapur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanga Resort(Bhaktapur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Heritage(Bhaktapur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gokarna Forest Resort(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
143
130
18
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
130
18
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdurbar squarerestaurant downstairsexcellent locationtop floortemple bellskathmandu valleykailashgateguesthouselifebrotherstouristsculturecurd
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Ever seen such a true claim: warm atmosphere and kindness for the whole stay from Kailas and its staff. I would Also recommend Shiva restaurant @Shiva 1, that welcomes you in a Very pleasant and relaxing way and prepares recipes (Tried nepali & indian) with care.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Federica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear Federica.

Thank you for your warm feedback and enjoyed our service. We look forward to see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Staying at the Shiva Guesthouse Durbur Square, I got the rooms facing the square which was really amazing. Even you have to pay an entrance fee of 15 USD to get to the guesthouse, you can easily walk from there to everywhere in the old quarter. The rooms are quite dirty and poor equipped, plug-ins are not working and cleaning is not really what it should be. Restaurants and bakeries are spread around there.

Room Tip: Room 303 has the best view.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GaryMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Dear Gary

Thank you for your feedback . We are very sorry for your uncomfortable stay , we will take this issue strickly and maintain the problem .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

I stayed at Shiva Guest House 1 for nearly 3 months as part of my doctoral project on a local ritualistic performance, and I was very happy with the excellent location, consistently great food (from my perspective, the best food in Bhaktapur), and helpful service provided during my entire time there. The room was also spacious and comfortable with a superb view of Durbar Square. Kailash was an extremely hospitable and accommodating host, who aided not only the organisation of some excursions to other regions of Nepal, but also introduced me to some informative people in relation to my project.

I would highly recommend Shiva Guest House!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Hello Matt

Thank you for your feedback and enjoyed our stay . We hope to see you again in oct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

I stayed there three times: Once in Shiva Guest House 1, twice in SGH 2. Number 1 is in a wonderful location and has a nice dining room. Number 2 has better rooms and, although very close, is more quiet. Yours to choose, but you can sleep there and eat here!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paracelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2016

Thank you for your warm feedback and please share your visit to your friends and family .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Namaste! *just returned from taking another group to Nepal & could not be happier with how we were looked after by Kailash & the Shiva Guest House team. Bhaktapur is an incredible part of Kathmandu (some people do the day trip there but I highly recommend staying there). Kailash was extremely helpful once again & assisted the trip to run very smootly - even assisted us to organise the mountain flight, special Newari dinners & other such activities ~ he was always available to discuss & assist whenever & wherever possible. Highly recommend this place for a number of reasons! *Enjoy ;)

Room Tip: BE nice to Kailash & I'm sure he'll sort you out ;)
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jambo57575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2016

Thank you for your apprication and warm feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews