We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
120
46
15
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
46
15
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barvegetarian hotelheritage buildingbeautiful hoteltamil naducooking demonstrationculinary experiencenew wingfoot massagevegetarian foodfollowing morningspa treatmentscourse dinnerboutique hotelmeat eaterstasty snacksgreat taste
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

2 types of accom, heritage and tower. we were offered an upgrade to heritage which looked nice but was a bit small with great bathroom. Unfortunately a lingering odour of drains but overall good stay. Staff really friendly and food good but catered to large tour groups which meant other travelers got less priority. Nice bar but closed on republic day! Small pool with limited sun loungers

Room Tip: tower with a lift
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, General Manager at Svatma, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Svatma, Thanjavur!

Thank you for taking out time to share your feedback on this esteemed travel platform. We are pleased to know that you had a good stay at our hotel and our friendly team, culinary spread and warm hospitality impressed you. We’ve taken a note of the issues that you faced during your stay with us and shared with the team for rectification.
We look forward to welcoming you and your partner for another stay. Do connect with us through our social media channels and stay updated on upcoming offers and promotions.

Best Regards,
K.Sridhar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

I had stayed in this heritage hotel for two days (Room no. 102). The hotel is located in small area but optimally designed. It looks like it is designed exclusively for foreign tourists. The domestic guests would find a few things strange in this place. Even though the promotors of the heritage building (The famous classical dancer Ms Krithika Subramanian and team) had put their heart and soul in establishing it,there seem to be lack of motivation on part of the current management to maintain the same high standards.
I stayed in a non heritage room as the heritage rooms are very high in demand and hence not available. Even these non heritage rooms are good and well ventilated. Certain aspects need immidiate attention. There seem to be internet issues in the free wifi.The virus as mentioned by one of the earlier visiter is still existing. This needs urgent attention. The toilets need a facelift. The drain plug of wash basin is unserviceable. I had to pull it out completely to drain the waste water. It's the same case in wash room as well! The toilet seat is positioned at an uncomfortable height.Even though I am 5'9", my feet still couldn't touch the floor when I sit on the commode. I had to take support of a waste bin placed in the toilet! Necessity is the mother of Innovation!
The ambiance of the hotel is very soothing. The evening cultural programs are good and innovative. The swimming pool is small but good enough. The gymnasium is very small with limited equipment. But their focus seem to be more on yoga than the modern gymnasium.
The food is very much bland. Please don't expect the typical Tamilnadu hot and spicy food. The food is prepared keeping in mind for the taste buds of western tourists. Even though we get to taste almost all types of vegetarian dishes, the salt, pepper and more importantly chilly contents are far below for a typical south Indian standards.
The hotel is very well located with all the main places within the walkable distances.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank ahmarS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, General Manager at Svatma, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Svatma, Thanjavur!

Thank you for taking out time to share an elaborate feedback on this esteemed travel platform. We are pleased to know that our well maintained and beautifully designed rooms, swimming pool and strategic location impressed you. Our evening cultural programs are a favorite among many travellers and it’s great to know that you found it pleasing as well. We ensure that our guests get the food according to their taste buds and you can always ask to modify the dishes according to your taste. We are truly disappointed to hear about the internet and maintenance issues that you had to face and we’ve shared the feedback with the management for immediate rectification.
We look forward to welcoming you back for an even better stay and hospitality. Meanwhile, do connect with us through our social media channels and stay updated on upcoming offers and promotions.

Best Regards,
K.Sridhar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Very nice for a short stopover, very clean, swimming pool was very interesting. Staff most helpful, nothing too much trouble. Very happy to recommend. Dinner came as a seven course meal, and although this is a vegetarian hotel, that is a lot of food.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank buffygirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, General Manager at Svatma, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Svatma, Thanjavur!

Starting the day with a perfectly starred review is a great source of motivation for our team. We are pleased to know that your short stay at our hotel was amazing and our seamless service and comfortable accommodation impressed you. Our hotel offers both traditional and international cuisines and it’s great to know that you liked them.
It was pleasing to host you and we look forward to welcoming you again for a longer stay. Do connect with us through our social media channels and stay updated on upcoming offers and promotions.

Best Regards,
K.Sridhar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

This is a lovely hotel, elegant with charming and helpful staff. On our first night, they had arranged for a classical dancer to come and educate us in traditional Indian dancing, and on the second night, we had 2 musicians to entertain us. The rooms and the service were excellent and we were sorry to have to leave. It was an oasis of peace in noisy surroundings. But a beautiful place to stay. The food is vegetarian and delicious.

Room Tip: None of the rooms really have a good view
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, General Manager at Svatma, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Guest

Namaskaram from Svatma, Thanjavur!

Thank you for the wonderful review and for sharing the same with us on this esteemed forum. The team is delighted that their preparations were par excellence and added value to your experience at Svatma. Carefully curated activities ensure that your stay is complemented with local and cultural experiences.
Your kind wishes have been received with much gratitude and motivated the team to always strive for excellence. We look forward to welcoming you again for another enriching experience soon!

Best Regards,
K.Sridhar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

First stop in India after a long drive.This immaculate boutique hotel is very central and relaxed.Spacious rooms with excellent en suites.
The food is very good but be aware, it is strictly vegetarian so no fish, meat , or even eggs.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, General Manager at Svatma, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Svatma, Thanjavur!

It’s a delight to be a part of your Incredible India journey. We endeavor to offer our guests state-of-the-art facilities designed keeping in mind the rich Tamil heritage. Thank you for highligting the various aspects of our hospitality on this forum.
We are proud that our excellent services and warm hospitality has earned us another discerned patron. For your next stay, do take out some time for a rejuvenating experience at our Sound Spa.

Best Regards,
K.Sridhar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews