We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Abi's Inn(Thanjavur)
USD 29
USD 26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gnanam(Thanjavur)
USD 51
USD 39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 50
USD 36
Priceline
View Deal
USD 40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 68
USD 54
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Kasi Inn(Thanjavur)
USD 20
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Barnabas Homestay(Thanjavur)(Great Value!)
USD 14
Booking.com
View Deal
Lakshmi Hotel(Thanjavur)
USD 50
USD 42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel KRA(Thanjavur)
USD 22
USD 20
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
117
45
15
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
45
15
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barvegetarian hotelheritage buildingbeautiful hoteltamil naducooking demonstrationculinary experiencenew wingfoot massagevegetarian foodcourse set menufollowing morningspa treatmentscourse dinnerboutique hotelmeat eatersgreat taste
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018

This is a lovely hotel, elegant with charming and helpful staff. On our first night, they had arranged for a classical dancer to come and educate us in traditional Indian dancing, and on the second night, we had 2 musicians to entertain us. The rooms and the service were excellent and we were sorry to have to leave. It was an oasis of peace in noisy surroundings. But a beautiful place to stay. The food is vegetarian and delicious.

Room Tip: None of the rooms really have a good view
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, General Manager at Svatma, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Guest

Namaskaram from Svatma, Thanjavur!

Thank you for the wonderful review and for sharing the same with us on this esteemed forum. The team is delighted that their preparations were par excellence and added value to your experience at Svatma. Carefully curated activities ensure that your stay is complemented with local and cultural experiences.
Your kind wishes have been received with much gratitude and motivated the team to always strive for excellence. We look forward to welcoming you again for another enriching experience soon!

Best Regards,
K.Sridhar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

First stop in India after a long drive.This immaculate boutique hotel is very central and relaxed.Spacious rooms with excellent en suites.
The food is very good but be aware, it is strictly vegetarian so no fish, meat , or even eggs.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, General Manager at Svatma, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Svatma, Thanjavur!

It’s a delight to be a part of your Incredible India journey. We endeavor to offer our guests state-of-the-art facilities designed keeping in mind the rich Tamil heritage. Thank you for highligting the various aspects of our hospitality on this forum.
We are proud that our excellent services and warm hospitality has earned us another discerned patron. For your next stay, do take out some time for a rejuvenating experience at our Sound Spa.

Best Regards,
K.Sridhar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

This hotel is a beautiful place with heritage rooms.

It has two wings - the new wing and the heritage wing. The heritage wing has some large, stunning and collectible tanjores on it's walls. They are simply amazing to see.

Personally, the new wing rooms are preferred over the heritage wing.

Unfortunately, their mediocre service lets it down. It needs a serious boost in service standards.

One word of advice - when we were there, their routers had a malware infection, which they were not aware of. I assume that it's now been cleared out after I showed them what to do.

As a result, the already low speed internet was stopped regularly by the annoying popups of the malware.

Room Tip: The new wing rooms are preferred over the heritage wing.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJohn32819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, General Manager at Svatma, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Svatma, Thanjavur!

Thank you for taking out time to share your feedback on this esteemed travel platform. We are pleased to learn that you found our hotel beautiful and our heritage rooms truly impressed you. Our team strives to make our guests’ stay comfortable and cater to all their needs. However, it’s disappointing to note that you didn’t get to experience the same. We’ve duly noted your feedback and shared with the team for rectifications.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family for another stay with amazing hospitality. Do connect with us through our social media channels and stay updated on upcoming offers and promotions.

Best Regards,
K.Sridhar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

This is a old house that is 120 years old that has been turned into a hotel. It has 38 rooms with a lot of antiques from the original family. The hotel is vegetarian, it serves a lot of traditional Indian food. The rooms are charming, with good air conditioning and free WiFi. The rooms are a little dark. Great staff, very friendly. This is a boutique type hotel. It has some very interesting old instruments in the library.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, General Manager at Svatma, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Svatma, Thanjavur!

Thank you so much for such an enlightening review that highlights our various aspects. It makes us glad that you had a comforting stay and found our rooms to be charming. Indeed, our team is always on their toes to assist our guests and provide them with the best services. Your commendations have been noted and shared with delight. Our hotel is filled with various antiques and instruments like veena and it’s great to know that you found them interesting.
Hosting you and your partner was a pleasure, and we look forward to your next sojourn with us. Meanwhile, do keep in touch through our website and social media pages for the ongoing offers and discounts.

See you soon!

Best Regards,
K.Sridhar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Enjoyed this hotel although we were only there for one night.We enjoyed our evening meal which was vegetarian. Very comfortable rooms .Atmosphere was very nice. Restaurant was really lovely and breakfast was fine but given that it was a vegetarian hotel there wasn't a lot of choice we felt.We didn't enjoy the bar upstairs which was very dark and quite gloomy. The staff were all lovely and went out of their way to be helpful. We would stay again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank VincePayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sridhar K, General Manager at Svatma, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Svatma, Thanjavur!

Thank you for taking out time to share your feedback on this esteemed travel platform. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your short stay with us. It’s pleasing to note that our hotel’s ambience, warm hospitality, restaurant interiors and comforting accommodation impressed you. We’ve noted your feedback regarding our rooftop bar and shared with the team for necessary changes.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again for another delightful stay. Do try our sound spa on your next visit. Connect with us through our social media channels and stay updated on upcoming offers and promotions.

Best Regards,
K.Sridhar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews