We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding Views / Exquisite Cottage / Highly...”
other travellers have booked this property
Cedar Cottage. You take the steps up to the kitchen door to enter.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cedar Cottage. You take the steps up to the kitchen door to enter.
Looking towards Shot Point from the spacious deck. The owners and their dogs during the renovation in 2012.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Cedar Cottage. You take the steps up to the kitchen door to enter.
Looking towards Shot Point from the spacious deck.
The owners and their dogs during the renovation in 2012.
In 2017 a rock wall was built to protect the dune and cottage from severe erosion due to lake levels
The 'Big Lake' is very close!
The kitchen is fully equipped for home cooking.
This is a favorite place to read, relax and listen to the waves.
This is the bedroom on the main floor with a queen bed.
The attic bedroom stays cool. Queen bed and 2 twin beds tucked into knee wall.
Bathroom #1 has a clawfoot tub.
Bathroom #2 has a shower.
Sunset over Marquette
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marquette, Upper Peninsula, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Footprint...
1 review
“Outstanding Views / Exquisite Cottage / Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

You open the door and smile, the Lake Superior views are a part of the cottage. The inside decor (touches of blue and white) echoes the outside blue water, blue sky. Very clean, thoughtful touches, beautifully decorated, superb location. Great communication from the owner. Morning walks along the shoreline, hiking near by & exploration of Marquette and Munising, enjoy the sunset from the outside deck, marvel over the Milky Way at night. Scattered bookshelves (loved the selection), and comfortable spots within to sit with that good book or a cup of tea.
Quiet. Restful. Serene. A most harmonious cottage retreat.
We never missed the internet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Thank you, for you very sweet words of appreciation. Thrilled that you enjoyed the cottage this much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauryaase...
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
“Peaceful and beautiful, like stepping into a home away from home (but homier).”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Karen's cottage is stunning inside an out. The first thing that struck us when we arrived was the sound of waves, from the front door. Upon stepping inside we were greeted with the full beauty of Lake Superior through the large windows lining the far wall as the house butts directly against a powder-perfect beach stretching miles.

Tucked into the dunes, we had complete privacy and enjoyed a beyond comfortable house for one week. Fireplace, reading nook overlooking the water, TV den, beautiful deck overlooking the sunset and coast, a puzzle table and best of all a spacious and modern kitchen to cook in comfort all were present in this idyllic setting. If that isn't enough for you, the town of Marquette is close at hand only 10 miles away with loads of restaurants, museums and wonderful parks. Traveling East only 20 miles is Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, a 42 mile long park along the coast run by the National Parks Service and all that implies (beautiful scenery, trails, and dramatic seascapes to be explored by boat/kayak).

The touches of art on the wall by various artists including Karen herself make this a picturesque getaway in more ways than we ever expected. Our daughter echoed our sentiments when she said she did not want to go home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Thank you for the sensational review! Rick and I are so pleased that you had a wonderful holiday at Cedar Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorden W
1 review
“Simply Lovely...”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Where to begin... My wife and I have returned to this lovely cottage on the shorefront of Lake Superior for several years, sometimes twice in one summer! That must give one some idea of how much we have enjoyed this peaceful vacation getaway, which for us is an approximate 10 hour drive from Ohio!

We are from the West Coast originally and have visited Hawaii, Big Sur, Monterey and Carmel so I feel we have much to compare in evaluating this lovely property... I am listening to the sounds of Lake Superior as I write... This is one of the most beautiful, quiet and peaceful places I know... Karen and Rick are wonderful and friendly hosts who are committed to making your stay comfortable and relaxing... If you are looking for quiet empty beaches a few steps from your home and beautiful sunsets nightly from your deck this is an ideal vacation getaway! Marquette is a cute town which has a "back in time" quality with good restaurants and any supplies you might need...

I can't say enough good things about our numerous stays here! You will love your time at this cottage...
An A+ rating from a satisfied multi-returning vacationer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
How nice! Thanks Jorden, we love sharing our place with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen K
Michigan
2 reviews
“Our loveliest, most relaxing vacation happened here.”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Thank you so very much for sharing your home with us!
The art, the libraries, the soft beds and furniture, the decor, the beach...
THE VIEW!
I am in love with all of it.
You have created a work of hospitable art and I am grateful to have stumbled across your listing while planning our latest UP vacation.
I cannot wait to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
You are so welcome! We love to share our cottage with wonderful guests like you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, IL
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing