We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Nearby Hotels
USD 128*
USD 115*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
USD 70*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 85*
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 94*
USD 90*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 56*
USD 54*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
USD 88*
USD 81*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Motel(Mackinaw City)
USD 54*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
USD 86*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
214
175
91
42
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
175
91
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinehi expressfront deskcinnamon rollsroom was cleanthe breakfast areaceiling fanpool areanice staysmall balconyshort driveupper peninsulaoff seasonhot tubnice breakfastwould definitely stay here againthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 552 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2011

My husband and I were on our Honeymoon in Mackinaw. We made a reservation with this hotel a couple months before we were scheduled to come. When we arrived they had lost our reservation, and were very rude about it. They then told us that we were probably mistaken and made the reservation in a different city. They were very patronizing. We ended up getting a room with them anyways, and we got the jacuzzi room. When we turned the jacuzzi on hair shot out of the jets. It was so gross. We called down to the front desk and they sent someone to give us tablets to put in the jacuzzi. We then had to put them in and wait 30 minuets while it cleaned. This did not remove the hair so we gave up and went to bed. The breakfast was also lacking and the orange juice tasted terrible. I would never go back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

The management and staff appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. We are truly disappointed we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay. We strive to provide excellent service and a clean, comfortable room for every guest.

While there’s no excuse for the rudeness you experienced, your stay was during one of our busiest times of the year and we were catering to a full house as well as training a new employee at the time. We apologize sincerely for dropping the ball, and have implemented new procedures to ensure that any issues which may arise are handled in a way that exceeds our guest’s expectations.

We have also passed your comments on to our breakfast attendants, and they strive to ensure that our hot breakfast is of the highest possible quality.

Thank you again for taking the time to express your concerns, and we do hope you will give us the chance to exceed your expectations with excellent service and a clean, comfortable room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite in Room 101. It was a great room with the best customer service I have experienced in many years. The breakfast was great , with the pancake machine and Cinnamon rolls.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi was fabulous!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAZ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you so much for the review! We are fully committed to our guest’s satisfaction, and we truly appreciate when this is reflected in traveler reviews such as yours!

The pancake machine is a recent addition to our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, and has been a big hit!

We hope you stay with again the next time you are “up north” in the Mackinaw City area!

Thanks again,

Peter Havlena
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We first stayed here last summer 2010 and then this summer and Labor Day weekend. We have never experience a problem that would prevent us from staying here. Most of the negative reviews are probably from spoiled tourists that thinks they are the only people staying in the whole place.
This hotel is close to the best place to eat in town: Darrow's which is across the street so it is a good location. Has an indoor pool but I haven't been in there yet
Pet friendly on first floor only so it is close to the doors to let them out to potty. You MUST pick up after your pets which is only common sense although I saw a few piles where people opted not to do so and they will probably cause the place to not allow pets to stay so pick up after your pets!!!!
The breakfast area is kinda small during the summer with everyone in there at the same time, so take your time and be courteous to your neighbors.
My only complaint is due to the parking lot, there is limited parking close to the hotel or else you have to use an overflow lot where the employees park. One night we came in late and all of the spots were taken and some jerk parked in the southeastern corner by the large flagpole across 2 parking spaces because he had some fancy truck. I turned him in to the front desk and the employee claimed he wasn't allowed to call people after 10 p.m. I asked him why then do guests have to write their car make/model and license plate number and he acted like he didn't care.
We will return to the area next summer. I would recommend to stay here and I hope the mangement will enforce the parking lot a little better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iam4pacers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Hello and thank you for the review! As you mentioned we are directly across the street from Darrow’s, which is a fantastic place to have dinner during the summer season. There are also several year-round options for dining within walking distance from the hotel, such as Audie’s restaurant and Jr’s Tailgate Pub.

We appreciate our guests picking up after their pets, and will continue to be a pet-friendly hotel. Our staff also keeps a close eye on the exterior of the hotel, and if our guests forget to clean up after their pets we take care of it as soon as possible.

Thank you also for the comments about our breakfast area. It is a result of your and other traveler’s comments that we have recently rearranged the layout of our breakfast area to provide a better experience during our hot breakfast buffet!

We understand your frustration with our parking lot, but please consider that this is a rare occurrence. Our lot surrounds the hotel, and as you mentioned we have overflow parking available for trucks and trailers. Our overflow lot is also very close to the front entrance of the hotel.

We collect vehicle information from our guests mainly to notify them in case they leave their headlights on, and to prevent non-guests from using our parking lot (Although we do offer a free service allowing non-guests to park in our overflow lot if they need a place to leave their vehicle).

Thanks again for the review! Feedback from our guests is an invaluable part of continuing to offer top-notch service and accommodations!

Peter Havlena
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed in room #422,for 2 nights, that was a one bedroom suite, had a beautiful view of the Bridge. Looked like the 4th floor hallway had been recently painted with new carpet. Had not problems with managment or housekeeping. The HIE breakfast was great , with the pancake machine and Cinnamon rolls.

Room Tip: The 4th floor rooms were great the even #'s face the Bridge.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 61cad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

We are glad you noticed our upgraded paint and carpets! We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area! The addition of a pancake machine to our breakfast buffet has been a hit with our guests, and our signature cinnamon rolls continue to be a great way to start the day after a comfortable night’s rest! Thank you for the positive review!

Peter Havlena
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Expected a certain quality of room from Holiday Inn Express. This room was equivalent to a no name motel. The bed was so uncomfortable and saggy that it was impossible to sleep. The rooms are small and have obviously not been redone since the 70's (lots of pink and blue wall borders). The furniture is beaten up. We were on the bridge side of the hotel and it was noisy with traffic. We could hear people in the room beside ours which was not pleasant. To top it all off, it was $89 a night and we could have stayed at much better places right on the lake for a whole lot less. Breakfast was nothing special. The only good thing was the staff was pleasant. A very big disappointment......would never go back there and would suggest no one else does!

Room Tip: Beware.....noisy on the north side.....air conditioner roars......small dingy rooms......big price!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynjolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feelings, regarding your experience at the Holiday Inn Express - "At the Bridge", in Mackinaw City, MI. We want to 'Stay Connected' with our guests and close neighbors in Canada. Myself and the entire staff are certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could of been.

Even though the hotel seems to be outdated and tired, we are proud to have been in the Holiday Inn Brand Family for many years. Our last huge rennovation was in 2003, when we won the InterContinental Hotels Group 2003 Renovation Award. We hope that you will be as excited and interested to learn that we are in the beginning stages of doing another upgrade and refurbishment of our guest rooms, as well as our lobby. So I would take pleasure in welcoming you back after our refurbishment is completed, so that you can experience the hotel as it was meant to be.

One of the great features of the hotel is 'Easy On, Easy Off', the NW corridor of I-75, but depending on the season, traffic "At the Bridge," can be busy, as we are at a major thoroughfare to the UP of Michigan, Northern United States and Canada. We apologize for the part(s) beyond our control.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff members. They sincerely want all our guest to 'Stay Satisfied', and will do anything in their control to make that happen. So always feel free to make your comments during your stay, so we may assist with any questions or concerns immediately. Additionally, our front desk and breakfast staff have listened to our guests in concerns to breakfast and we have made changes to our breakfast bar, that will still stay within our Brand Standards.

Once again, please do accept my apologies and feel free to contact myself directly via the below details if you are traveling to Mackinaw City again, so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Best regards,

Denise
General Manger
231.436.7100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews