We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite in Room 101. It was a great room with the best customer service I have experienced in many years. The breakfast was great , with the pancake machine and Cinnamon rolls.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAZ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you so much for the review! We are fully committed to our guest’s satisfaction, and we truly appreciate when this is reflected in traveler reviews such as yours!

The pancake machine is a recent addition to our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, and has been a big hit!

We hope you stay with again the next time you are “up north” in the Mackinaw City area!

Thanks again,

Peter Havlena
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    147
    82
    40
    28
See reviews for
153
167
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
196 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We first stayed here last summer 2010 and then this summer and Labor Day weekend. We have never experience a problem that would prevent us from staying here. Most of the negative reviews are probably from spoiled tourists that thinks they are the only people staying in the whole place.
This hotel is close to the best place to eat in town: Darrow's which is across the street so it is a good location. Has an indoor pool but I haven't been in there yet
Pet friendly on first floor only so it is close to the doors to let them out to potty. You MUST pick up after your pets which is only common sense although I saw a few piles where people opted not to do so and they will probably cause the place to not allow pets to stay so pick up after your pets!!!!
The breakfast area is kinda small during the summer with everyone in there at the same time, so take your time and be courteous to your neighbors.
My only complaint is due to the parking lot, there is limited parking close to the hotel or else you have to use an overflow lot where the employees park. One night we came in late and all of the spots were taken and some jerk parked in the southeastern corner by the large flagpole across 2 parking spaces because he had some fancy truck. I turned him in to the front desk and the employee claimed he wasn't allowed to call people after 10 p.m. I asked him why then do guests have to write their car make/model and license plate number and he acted like he didn't care.
We will return to the area next summer. I would recommend to stay here and I hope the mangement will enforce the parking lot a little better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iam4pacers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Hello and thank you for the review! As you mentioned we are directly across the street from Darrow’s, which is a fantastic place to have dinner during the summer season. There are also several year-round options for dining within walking distance from the hotel, such as Audie’s restaurant and Jr’s Tailgate Pub.

We appreciate our guests picking up after their pets, and will continue to be a pet-friendly hotel. Our staff also keeps a close eye on the exterior of the hotel, and if our guests forget to clean up after their pets we take care of it as soon as possible.

Thank you also for the comments about our breakfast area. It is a result of your and other traveler’s comments that we have recently rearranged the layout of our breakfast area to provide a better experience during our hot breakfast buffet!

We understand your frustration with our parking lot, but please consider that this is a rare occurrence. Our lot surrounds the hotel, and as you mentioned we have overflow parking available for trucks and trailers. Our overflow lot is also very close to the front entrance of the hotel.

We collect vehicle information from our guests mainly to notify them in case they leave their headlights on, and to prevent non-guests from using our parking lot (Although we do offer a free service allowing non-guests to park in our overflow lot if they need a place to leave their vehicle).

Thanks again for the review! Feedback from our guests is an invaluable part of continuing to offer top-notch service and accommodations!

Peter Havlena
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed in room #422,for 2 nights, that was a one bedroom suite, had a beautiful view of the Bridge. Looked like the 4th floor hallway had been recently painted with new carpet. Had not problems with managment or housekeeping. The HIE breakfast was great , with the pancake machine and Cinnamon rolls.

Room Tip: The 4th floor rooms were great the even #'s face the Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 61cad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
We are glad you noticed our upgraded paint and carpets! We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area! The addition of a pancake machine to our breakfast buffet has been a hit with our guests, and our signature cinnamon rolls continue to be a great way to start the day after a comfortable night’s rest! Thank you for the positive review!

Peter Havlena
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Expected a certain quality of room from Holiday Inn Express. This room was equivalent to a no name motel. The bed was so uncomfortable and saggy that it was impossible to sleep. The rooms are small and have obviously not been redone since the 70's (lots of pink and blue wall borders). The furniture is beaten up. We were on the bridge side of the hotel and it was noisy with traffic. We could hear people in the room beside ours which was not pleasant. To top it all off, it was $89 a night and we could have stayed at much better places right on the lake for a whole lot less. Breakfast was nothing special. The only good thing was the staff was pleasant. A very big disappointment......would never go back there and would suggest no one else does!

Room Tip: Beware.....noisy on the north side.....air conditioner roars......small dingy rooms......big price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynjolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feelings, regarding your experience at the Holiday Inn Express - "At the Bridge", in Mackinaw City, MI. We want to 'Stay Connected' with our guests and close neighbors in Canada. Myself and the entire staff are certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could of been.

Even though the hotel seems to be outdated and tired, we are proud to have been in the Holiday Inn Brand Family for many years. Our last huge rennovation was in 2003, when we won the InterContinental Hotels Group 2003 Renovation Award. We hope that you will be as excited and interested to learn that we are in the beginning stages of doing another upgrade and refurbishment of our guest rooms, as well as our lobby. So I would take pleasure in welcoming you back after our refurbishment is completed, so that you can experience the hotel as it was meant to be.

One of the great features of the hotel is 'Easy On, Easy Off', the NW corridor of I-75, but depending on the season, traffic "At the Bridge," can be busy, as we are at a major thoroughfare to the UP of Michigan, Northern United States and Canada. We apologize for the part(s) beyond our control.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff members. They sincerely want all our guest to 'Stay Satisfied', and will do anything in their control to make that happen. So always feel free to make your comments during your stay, so we may assist with any questions or concerns immediately. Additionally, our front desk and breakfast staff have listened to our guests in concerns to breakfast and we have made changes to our breakfast bar, that will still stay within our Brand Standards.

Once again, please do accept my apologies and feel free to contact myself directly via the below details if you are traveling to Mackinaw City again, so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Best regards,

Denise
General Manger
231.436.7100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
296 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We moved here after a night from hades at the Best Western on S. Huron St. Called Tues. a.m. (9/20) and spoke with Samantha who was able to get us a top floor room with king bed for that night. After a day of traveling we returned to Rm. 416 and it was very clean; not the largest king we have ever had since the room had a private balcony the room size was smaller. There was a sm. refrigerator and microwave and sm. sink in the bedroom area and also a club chair and ottoman which were very comfortable. The WiFi was okay; have had better AND have had much worse! The bathroom was VERY spacious with plenty of counter space AND a sm. wall-mounted t.v. and phone in the bath too! Good bath linens and shower spray. The king bed was comfy, but had not yet been updated to the thick, pillowtop style in the newer HIE's that we are used to. This hotel is off the beaten path in Mackinaw City, but you can walk across the street to a wonderful park with walking trails and walk right down to the water! If you don't want to drive to supper/dinner---walk across the street to Darrows Family Restaurant (Est. 1957) for some absolutely DELICIOUS food. Breakfast at the HIE was okay; the "scrambled eggs" seemed to be powdered eggs and the gravy biscuits were borderline "nasty". Stick with the cereal, boiled eggs, yogurt, pancake maker. OH! Who can resist HIE's Cinnamon rolls???? THEY were fantastic! As usual. Yummmmmmmy. We would definitely stay here again if in the city again. Friendly employees and handy to I-75. Our balcony faced THE bridge and if you stood you could see the lake!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Hello and thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel! We are pleased you were able to experience one of our top floor club level rooms! As mentioned in your review, we are close to a number of restaurants and attractions, and downtown Mackinaw City is just a short stroll away!

We also appreciate your comments about our Wi-Fi Internet access. Because of reviews such as yours we have recently upgraded to a faster, stronger Wi-Fi network. As a result, connectivity issues have been all but eliminated at our property.

Our hotel has also improved our breakfast buffet layout and procedures, which ensures that every guest enjoys a great hot breakfast, including the signature cinnamon rolls!

Thanks again for your helpful review, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the Mackinaw City area!

Peter Havlena
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.6 km away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#15 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
1.2 km away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Address: 364 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price range (per night): $115 - $217
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing