We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
educational

Very educational. They have a lot of videos to watch and things to read, not easy to keep young... read more

Reviewed 25 October 2018
Terry O
,
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Great Lakes History

We had a very pleasant self-guided tour of the ship. The essential areas of the ship are all... read more

Reviewed 22 October 2018
Christopher S
,
Elburn, Illinois
via mobile
Read all 294 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Mackinaw City
from USD 24.00
More Info
from USD 15.00
More Info
from USD 24.00
More Info
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
204
78
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
204
78
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews engine room coast guard ice breaker self guided tour great lakes steep stairs own pace ice breaking yellow arrows great tour during wwii answer questions inner workings first hand amazing history year olds take your time
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Who would have thought that a ship would be so fascinating to tour. People lived on this ship to maintain and work it. It is a must see. Still in same condition as when the crew left it. A couple people that worked this ship are still there to share their stories. It is a self paced tour. You can take as much time as you want to view all you want. Nice view of Big Mac from its resting place as well.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

With it only recently coming out of service, this ship was fun because you can go to so many places and experience the areas like they just recently were. It will take lots of work to keep it up, so hopefully people continue to come and also to contribute. Would not advise though if you can not climb or descend a ladder as there are many ships ladders to traverse.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank BlondeValor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

This museum was something the guys in our wanted to see but as it worked out everyone on our trip really enjoyed the visit. There are arrows throughout the ship which allow for a self guided tour. We were able to watch videos all along the ship telling us of how the icebreaker operated to keep vessels moving on the lakes. There was a little gift shop for souvenirs.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank chelly0225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Best swords the premier Coast Guard Cutter and ice breaker in the northern Michigan area. The Mackinac has been flying the Great Lakes since around World War II. It was so good at its job that they could not find a replacement phone for it and the only thing that finally put it out of service as they literally quit making parts for it my uncle and several of my friends have served on this boat and now you get a chance to walk through and see this boat firsthand don't miss this chance to see a great part of Lake michigan-huron and the northern Straits areas history

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank jerrys817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

*$11/adult
*Closes at 700pm (last in at 615pm)
*Suggested to wear closed toed shoes. Must be able to climb up & down steep ladders.
*Approx. an hour
*Self guided; staff available for questions
I love history & this was a such a pleasant added tour to our trip. Highly recommend it.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank bnb2199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerwagb83, General Manager at Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc., responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

So glad that you enjoyed the tour! We are all very proud to be able to tell the story of the great ship and her crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews