We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down and poorly managed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Mackinaw City - Lakeview
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The staff was great & did what they could with what they were given to work with. The management has let the maintenance go & hasn't reinvested anything back into the hotel. Exterior & common areas were dirty. Mold in the room & breakfast area. The breakfast bar was not what is advertised on their site. It is several old cabinets & handmade counters covered with old curtains or sheets. Looked like something a kid would throw together for a last minute yard sale. The layout of hotel is poor also.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitdsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

680 - 684 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

Our rate was $59 for one night - August 23, 2011. For $59, in Mackinaw City, I got excellent value, a clean, comfortable room with a good breakfast. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the bathroom clean. Decor was very basic, TV doesn't offer a lot, and the pool was cold. Just to sleep, I don't need a view.

I would not stay here for a honeymoon, or if I wanted luxury. For what I needed, a clean comfortable hotel room with a good breakfast - the price for Mackinaw in season was unbeatable!

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RivitheLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

A long walk from anything. The rooms were damp but clean. Opening the windows helped the dampness. At $109 per night, it is one of the cheaper places to stay. So I'd say it's OK for one night but I wouldn't stay here for any other length of time.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed for one night on our way to the UP. We had a ground floor balcony room with a heart shaped hot tob. The bed was MEGA comfortable. The room was very clean, and the hot tub was very clean. We were not there for a beach.We thought the view was fun with the ferry's coming in and out. The continental breakfast provided was decent. Eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, waffles, cereal. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tversluys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

When arrived to our room disappointed looked clean smelled old.Paid for a balcony lakeview,two by five loose iron rail,tons of spiders,parking lot from the Ferry, trees to the right no Beach.Sliding glass doors very hard to open,busted toilet seat ,some of the cable cannels didnt work.On the second floor, ice machine didnt work had to go to lobby and if they find out your using it for your coolers they put out a sign not to do it.Management very Rude,She had no idea about certain operation.If you place a order for the tickets for the Ferry and Carriage ride on the Island you have to go early ,the carriage ride is from 9.00am to 5.00pm which the hotel didnt know at the time of our visit,they do now!The manager should know about it, we left at 4.50pm to the Ferry,Arrived to the Island about 5.15pm looked for the signs for the, carriage,closed at 5.00pm.Called the hotel and I Quote"We are not here to hold your hand on your vacation"and we could call anybody we want to They should have had a clue! It was awful trip,we where the only ones not smiling on the Island Go some where else to stay!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
0.1 km away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
1.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 40 in Mackinaw City
216 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 40 in Mackinaw City
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Mackinaw City - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Mackinaw City - Lakeview

Address: 825 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $104 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Mackinaw City - Lakeview 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the ferry activities in the nearby harbor from your balcony. Enjoy the breezes off the lake and the beautiful sunrises over Lake Huron. Our new indoor pool and spa offers you opportunities to relax. Our Lakeside Restaurant features an in season Breakfast Buffet and Prime Rib, Authentic Mexican Cuisine, Fresh Whitefish Entrees and Hot Grinder Sandwiches along with your favorite cocktails. See You this Summer! April thru November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Mackinaw City - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Mackinaw City-Lakeview Hotel Mackinaw City
Days Inn Lakeview
Mackinaw City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing