We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location with plenty of room for a group”
Spring at the Jacob Wendell House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spring at the Jacob Wendell House
Day time at the Jacob Wendell House Evening at the Jacob Wendell House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Spring at the Jacob Wendell House
Day time at the Jacob Wendell House
Evening at the Jacob Wendell House
Front Porch of the Jacob Wendell House
Front Porch in the evening at the Jacob Wendell House
Street view from the King Room's private balcony
Living Room
Living room sitting area
Dining Room
Kitchen
King Room 1 ( King bed with a private bath, sitting area and private balcony)
Queen Room 2 (Queen bed with a private bath)
Queen Room 3 (Queen bed with a private bath)
Queen Room 4 (Queen bed with a private bath)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County, Upper Peninsula, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
travelrit...
Texas City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location with plenty of room for a group”
Reviewed 26 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location just outside downtown and close to shore front park trails. Innkeepers were extremely responsive and friendly. The house is large and clean with room to spread out, cook and relax for our group of 6 adults, including large patios for sitting, dining, grilling. This was the only whole-house accommodation we know of on the island for short stays and it worked out perfectly. Enjoyed the many walking and biking trails all over the island. About a 10 minute walk to the center of town for shopping, dining, groceries, ferry.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2018
We are so pleased that the Jacob Wendell House was just what you needed for your group. We all need a little privacy to stretch out and relax from time to time. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.

In gratitude,
Liz, Brian & Barb
Innkeepers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoPlaces7...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding week of fun in 2018”
Reviewed 8 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We used the whole Jacob Wendell home and Carriage House for a week with family and friends. Had a great time. So close to everything. Kristen was so helpful throughout and Barb was onsite to help with any questions. We look forward to returning! See my longer review on Google.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2018
Thank you T. clan, you were wonderful guests, so glad you enjoyed the historic Jacob Wendell House and Carriage House. We look forward to hosting you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy V
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a family stay!”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
5
people found this review helpful

My brothers and I wanted to take mom to the island for her 80th birthday. This was an ideal place to stay. It had the 4 bedrooms we needed, a beautiful outside porch where we could sit and chat, aND a lovely kitchen with all the dishes and utensils we needed. The Jacob Wendell House is in a great location..a little away from downtown and all the bustle, but close enough to walk for shopping, dinner or excursioms. And best of all....rumor has it that Napoleon slept here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TriStateG...
Fairfield, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Getaway Location”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Kristen, the Innkeeper, was great to work with from the planning stage to the day we left. She answered several questions for me as I planned the family getaway and made our group feel very welcome. The house is located just five doors away from St. Ann's Church at the edge of the business district. The ideal location. It was an easy walk to the restaurants and shops in town plus going the other direction to Mission Point. We had an 80 year old aunt with us, and she managed to walk it all except the trip up hill to the Grand Hotel. We took a horse taxi up to the Grand, but she walked down the hill to town. Each bedroom has its own bath which is a must for our group. Each bathroom was a little different, but that worked well for the 80 year old who took the one with the walk in shower. All of the beds were comfortable, so everyone reported a great nights sleep each night. Once we were in our bedrooms, we never heard anything from any of the other rooms. It must be the plaster walls...very quiet. Seven of us gathered comfortably in the spacious living room each night and in the full kitchen each morning. We were also able to take advantage of a warm afternoon on the porch. The house is very clean and well taken care of. We have a couple of picky, picky family members, and they were pleased with the house. We travelled from four different towns in three different states and wanted a location where we could put our comfy clothes on in the evening and sit together talking and laughing without bothering anyone else. This house was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kristen, the Innkeeper
Liked least: We didn't have time to stay longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richjoy40...
Novi, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Strongest Recommendation -- You'll love it!”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
7
people found this review helpful

We've just returned from our second renting of the Jacob Wendell House for our annual siblings/spouses reunion.

The house is exactly as pictured, and sits behind an attractive black iron fence, about 60 feet back from the street, and has a nice front lawn. It rents as a B&B, or the entire house can be rented turnkey (as we did). The 8 of us rented the house for a most relaxing week.

There is something unique and very calming about sitting on the deck, or in the house, and hearing the clippity-clop of holves in the street. The lake can be viewed between the houses across the street, or via a short walk in either direction.

This historic house is well located, about 6 doors from old St. Anne's Church, and a 4 or 5 minute pleasant walk from the fort and the start of downtown at Dowd's Market, which extents for several blocks toward the Grand Hotel.

Understand that this is a very old house (1846), and not a Holiday Inn experience...it is much better than that. Each bedroom has a bath, and its own personality (the most different bedroom being the large master BR), and there are a few interesting quirks, like the very small powder room near the kitchen, where you will note the section of exposed original siding (planks measuring about 1 x 20 inches); and the butler's pantry, where tea is prepared. The kitchen is fully-equipted, and has a pleasant window sitting area (and many restaurants are within a short bike ride or 10-minutes walk). The dining room is large, and also serves as a game table. The living room is quite comfortable. The large deck with cushioned furniture is most inviting, and there is also a BBQ grill with umbrelled table/chairs for outdoor dining. The wi-fi is appreciated. There is a laundry behind the kitchen.

If you can, bring your own bikes, as they are rather expensive to rent on the island. We saved a lot by preparing most of our meals in the kitchen.

The innkeeper, Kristin, is the perfect combination of friendly, professional, and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, whole house privacy, huge beautiful trees, absence of cars
Liked least: can't think of any!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing