We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
The fort was open in Dec!

We were able to walk right in and see the sights at the Fort. Truly the sights were surreal. It was... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
alisafranz50by50
,
St. Petersburg, Florida
via mobile
Mackinac Island Week-end

Enjoyed the fort. Very interesting history as depicted by the museum. Quite a nice view of the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
davidhV2343GA
,
Westlake, Ohio, United States
Read all 1,842 reviews
  
Reviews (1,842)
Filter reviews
1,842 results
Traveller rating
1,172
545
98
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,172
545
98
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea room cannon firing re enactments live demonstrations boy scouts different buildings american history revolutionary war great history every half hour living history self guided tour lots of history grand hotel art museum steep climb great place to visit
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 1,842 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Fort Mackinac is a must see when visiting the island. The fort is very well maintained and the pride of the staff is evident. You can see how the soldiers lived at the Fort, as well as their families. There is so much history here. The staff is dressed in period clothing and role plays to add to the experience. You can even eat here. The gift shop is excellent. Perhaps best of all are the views you get up top. Don't miss visiting the Fort-- we make it a priority each time we vacation on the island!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank cworld26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

We came here with our son and daughter-in-law. This is a beautifully preserved stone Fort. We were very taken with the black powder musket portrayal. And every kid and adult loves the Canon demonstration.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank rbq2a6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Fort Mackinac is your chance to step back 200 years or so into history... Fully restored, it's some thing you don't want to miss... They have reenactments there all day long, that make you feel like you stepped into the early 1800s Very cool

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Puddleduckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

This is an easy thing to see in a couple of hours and a "must do" while on the island. My kids enjoyed the tour, and the cannons that were shot off.

We went late morning and then got lunch afterwards. Beautiful views from the fort.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank LadyLiteracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

The Fort is a very interesting place to visit while on the island. There is a lot of history to learn about the Fort and they have done a great job restoring it. There are demonstrators walking around throughout the day showing different aspects of life on the Fort. We went to the cannon firing and our kids really enjoyed that. It is quite large and if you want to look at everything and take it all in you should plan for several hours. The views of the straits from the Fort are pretty amazing too. I would definitely recommend visiting the Fort during your time on the island.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank want2bincancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews