We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bed Bugs!!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Kinross, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We got in late for a friend's son's graduation from Western Michigan University. We checked in - the front desk staff were friendly- and went to our room. Once in the room we immediately stripped the corners of the beds to check for bed bugs - I've done this a ton of times because I travel often for business. BUT I NEVER EXPECTED TO FIND THEM! Both beds were loaded with bed bugs - so gross!!!! We immediately left and asked for a refund - which we had trouble getting. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rfuerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalamazooGM, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Hello,

After guest checked out, we had our pest control company come in as we always do if a customer reports any kind of bug. This room was taken out of order to be safe until Monday when the pest company was available. They found no bed bugs or signs of bed bugs in room. We take these matters very seriously and we are proud to report that the inspection of the hotel produced no signs of bed bugs.

Thank You,
Kalamazoo Hampton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    62
    21
    22
    10
See reviews for
91
29
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laurium, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

Skip down for more information on the hotel itself...but first let me tell you how they exceeded my expectations.

I originally planned to stay at this Hampton Inn for 2 nights using HHonors points. The purpose of the trip was to to see a good friend of the family who was having major health problems and to bring my mom down for an extended stay. Two days before leaving, we received this news that this friend had passed away, so I added a 2nd regular reservation to extend the trip 2 more nights to stay for the funeral services.

When I checked in, I let the front desk attendant know about the 2nd reservation and was told that everything was taken care of and I would not need to stop back down to the front desk. Unfortunately, due to a computer glitch or something not being entered properly, my 2nd reservation was not properly attached. No major problems came of this during the stay other than a call from the manager asking if I was remaining in the hotel. I gave her my 2nd confirmation number and everything was fine for the rest of my stay.

After returning home, I noticed that my 2 paid nights had been split into one "no-show" night and a 1 night stay. This caused my HHonors account to not generate some bonuses I was expecting so I contacted Hilton to have the missing night stay and bonuses added to my account. They passed the message to the hotel to attempt a local resolution and, much to my surprise, they engaged the Hampton 100% Satisfaction Guarantee and refunded both paid nights. Much more than I was expecting! I just wanted a few bonus points on my account.

This stellar resolution to my request had reminded me why I value the Hilton chain and see the value in spending a little more for a room as it ends up making the difference between an average stay and a very comfortable relaxed stay.

Now, about the hotel itself. :)
The hotel is well kept. There were some scuff marks on the call in the corner of my room, which I'm not used to seeing in a Hampton, but in general the place was in great shape. The bathroom was very large as was the room itself. The beds were excellent, of course, and the room was very clean with excellent housekeeping service. I enjoyed every moment in the room.

The breakfast was excellent all 4 mornings with a rotating menu of hot foods (eggs, sausage, omelettes, biscuits and gravy, etc.) along with a good selection of the "standards" (make your own waffles, cereal, bagles, pastries, mixed fruit, milk, juices, coffee, etc.). Juice and coffee were available 24/7. There were different sports teams in the hotel each night which sometimes made the breakfast area a bit busy if you hit the rush, but it was kept well stocked and there was plenty of seating most of the time.

The pool/spa area was kept clean and towels were laid out on the chairs for convenience.

The high speed wireless internet was reliable but a bit laggy. It does the job but would not be solid enough for any serious file transfers/applications.

I had heard concerns about road noise. My room was on the "front" side of the hotel and I could see the highway from my window. The road noise was there if I paid attention, but did not affect my sleep. It may be a concern for light sleepers who would want to request a room on the "back" side of the hotel (which faces a Residence Inn). I grew up just on the other side of the nearby airport, so noise was something I just got used to.

I did notice times where the front desk was unattended and guests had to wait for someone to return. This is one item that should be corrected. I know the evening/night staff often have other duties assigned, but a way to keep the front desk staffed is important.

Hampton covers some of the little things that make a stay just a little nicer. They had boxes of breath mints near the front door, fresh cookies were set out each evenings, the breakfast/lobby area was used by the sports teams for fun and games, which kept the hallways and room areas nice and quiet.

I really enjoyed my stay and will keep this hotel on my go-to list for the Kalamazoo area. The billing mix up was unfortunate, but not a major issue during the stay...and, more importantly, was resolved far beyond my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keweenaw906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron,OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

I have stayed in this hotel many times over the last ten years and have been very happy with it until the last two times.On the first unsatisfactory occasion even though there were very few guests the pool was packed(Friends or family of the employees?) and there usually was only a sign at the front desk stating that they would be back shortly.The last time I was there three out of the four times I went to the desk no one was there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palisadefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

Serious road noise from I-94 can be avoided by requesting a 2-bed room which are on the backside of the hotel and away from the highway. King bed rooms are on the front side where the road noise is totally intrusive. Staff is very accomodating and cheerfully moved me to the quieter 2 bed side.....they know noise is an issue. There's still some road noise on the backside....but it's tolerable to me. .

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_utility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

It's a typical Hampton Inn with no surprises and that's a compliment. It's well maintained, very clean, and a nice complimentary hot and cold breakfast bar with a large dining area. My room was average, but very clean, and the bed was very comfortable with the "Hilton" touch. The wireless internet is free which a plus for me since I travel on business alot. They did not have a fitness center, but they did have an indoor pool.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toomanydaysontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
9.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
3.0 km away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo
5.5 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo
Address: 1550 E Kilgore Rd, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-5538
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price range (per night): $98 - $172
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing