We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“OK for the money......” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK for the money......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

The room was OK but could've used a really good vaccuming as there were cheerios and chip bits left from the previous guests. The bathroom reeked of bleach but the sink and toilet were clean. Breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, tea, cold and hot cereal, muffins, danishes and toast. It was OK to get me back on the road but not very nutritious. The area where the hotel is located is shady and I was more than a little concerned about leaving the van overnight but everything was fine in the morning. This is an inexpensive place to stay for the night but I would stay elsewhere for an extended visit to the area.

Room Tip: Try to avoid getting a room that faces the pool as it was very noisy till the pool closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanavyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    12
    18
    13
    24
See reviews for
28
15
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Concord Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

I traveled with 2 young children to visit a grandchild in the Kalmazoo area. I had researched this hotel and thought I was staying in a smoke free hotel with an outdoor pool that the 3 children could enjoy. The Hotel staff smoked constantly around the pool and the exit doors. The signs around the pool stated "No Pets at pool side". But there was a dog that was allowed around the pool. One evening there were 4 to 5 pople drinking alcohol in glass containers and an adolescent throwing wet towels at people in the pool. There was a room facing the pool with the window open and a toddler climbing in and out of window and on to chairs. This young child was also left unattended at times around the pool. Our toilet overflowed and was not fixed when I requested at the front desk. Several hours later I asked the desk clerk to please come with a plunger to fix the toilet, which he did. I was aware that the costs of the room was less than what I usually paid when I make this trip. But as a consumer, I should be able to trust that the area is non smoking and feel safe in the environment. Otherwise the room was fairly clean, although defintely in need of repair..i.e. molding along the floor was sticking out.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I had two rooms booked for college graduation. One room was fine, old but relatively clean however the other reeked of cigarette smoke despite Michigan being a Non Smoking state. The carpet was torn and really gross. I suspect the smell was deeply embedded in the dreadul carpet and curtains. We were unable to open the window. When I asked for a room change, the request could not be accomodated as the hotel was booked out. I was offered a refund or room spray. Due to the town being booked out for college graduation, I had to keep the booking which resulted in a miserable night for 2 of my family members. DO NOT book here unless you can be assured that the room does not stink of cigarette smoke. In fact DO NOT travel to Kalamazoo unless you have too as all hotels put their prices up when there is anything going on at the college. Western Michigan is a great college but the hotels (I have stayed in many over 4 years) are ALL rip offs.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

I booked this room for my husband and myself to get away from kids for the night. It was Okay for the price. No new updates to anything. Parking was less than average, they had lets just say 100 rooms and parking for 50 rooms. There were cars parked all in the streets, in front of other cars, just everywhere. We were afraid to leave to get something to eat.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Trenbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

When we arrived the lobby was very clean and we hoped the hotel room would be the same. We asked for an upgrade room and was given one without any additional cost since I believe they only had a small amount of rooms being used. The room did have a bit of an odor, but was mostly clean. We did not spend much time in the room, except to sleep. Staff was friendly and gave us directions. This hotel is definitely a budget hotel and should only be a 1 star if that.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaskanwhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.8 km away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
#21 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 km away
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
#20 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#24 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
0.4 km away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 3750 Easy St, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-1888
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price range (per night): $70 - $103
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing