We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Known for serving Wagyu beef from a Japanese breed”
Review of Vernales

Vernales
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We tried their top rated beef in the fajita lunch special; it was very tender and tasty; we ate in the bar area which had multiple TV's with various sports; the waitress was friendly and attentive; their dinner menu looked spectacular and we plan to eat there again in the future. It is mid-range for lunch but would be fine dining in the evening dining room.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernales, Manager at Vernales, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you so much for your response! We really appreciate it as it helps our business grow and helps to make us better at what we do. We love the feedback. Thank you again and looking forward to seeing you next time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Out party of 4 stopped here for a late lunch after accidentally finding the location. (It was our previous night's dinner choice but our navigation device couldn't locate the address!) Given the time it wasn't crowded & we were able to sit anywhere in the sports bar area. We shared a ceasar salad which was good. Our order included a turkey burger, shrimp tacos, a French dip sandwich, & a whitefish reuben. Everyone was happy with their selections. Our waitress was very friendly & attentive. Prices were a bit high but what we expected in a tourist area.

1  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernales, Manager at Vernales, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Yay! Thank you so much for your review!!! We are excited to hear this great review about lunch because we have been growing our lunch business a lot in the last year. A lot of people don't realize we serve lunch as well as dinner so we have been getting that word out! So glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we are excited to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I enjoyed a very nice meal out on the deck. It was busy and the service was a little slow but the food was great and the beer was cold. I have never eaten in the other 2 areas of the restaurant so I can not give a review of these areas. The sports bar side and deck are very nice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dogfrommars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernales, Manager at Vernales, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you so much for your review!! We really appreciate it and love to hear from our customers. It means a lot to us that you all take the time out of your day to give feedback about our business. It really helps a lot. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I reviewed Vernale's favorably 18 months ago, and have eaten there several times since, regarding it as a reliable and very satisfactory dining option. We took company there last weekend, and found a different situation.
The menu has changed. Basically, they have gone all in on Kolbe beef. This is extremely expensive at Costco and absurdly so in a restaurant, especially a place like this. I am willing to step up to a monster ala carte tab at a prestigious Vegas steak house, but not at a drab road house across from Petoskey State Park!
The server poured about 20 ounces of water into a small glass for my guest. She must have been stoned. My prime rib was served cold. Not lukewarm, cold. Service was below standard, to be kind.
There may be enough money around town to get them through the summer, but winter is coming. Maybe they will change things again, but I won't be in to see.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We were in town for Labor Day weekend and had a hard time finding a restaurant that was not an hour late. We stumbled upon this gem right as it was opening for lunch. We were able to sit wherever we wanted as the place wasn't packed and got a table with full view of 7 TVs with different games about to start. As we sat down a boy of about 12 snuck up to take our drink order. It was apparent that this was a family business, and that the family LOVED their business.
The food was fast, hot, and delicious. The chef brought the plates to our table, he was in sweat pants... not in the way that was dingy... but in the way that he was there to cook impressive food, not impress guests by looks. He was at home in his kitchen and took great pride in his food. We were blown away by the atmosphere and the food.

The price was a little steep but we had driven to many different places with much longer waits and by that point, we simply didn't care. We would definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Greta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernales, Manager at Vernales, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you so much for your response!!! We love to hear from our customers as YOU are what makes our world go 'round. So glad you enjoyed your visit with us and that you will be back to visit us again. It is awesome to see reviews like this because we so appreciate it!!!!! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vernales also viewed

Harbor Springs, Emmet County
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
 
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
 
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to Vernales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing