We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean hotelrooms. Very 1979s retro.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is my second stay at the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids Airport and I enjoyed both visits. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, but then that goes for the good citizens of Grand Rapids too.
Hotel is very retro from 1979, including the wild 1970's striped room and hallways carpeting. My only complaint was the mediocre gym equipment that was in disrepair. In fact, when I arrived to work out, the current guests had to warn me which half of the treadmills didn't work properly. The single Universal machine was rusty and squeaked when you used it. Irritating.

Also, my tub drain was clogged and I was forced to stand in two inches of dirty water, very unpleasant. I hope maintenance will address the problem for the next room guest to avoid.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimo767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 276 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

It is a fine place to stay if you are on the Eastside of Grand Rapids. Not great facilities or service but not bad either.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiefPontiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Close to airport, airport shuttle, good front desk, rooms were very nice with huge flat screen tv.

Hotel is older, and they need to pay attention to the worn and grungy hallways... But overall I had a relaxing, quiet stay.

Oh, inside pool and restaurants across street

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyMom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Grand Rapids is a great place to visit and stay. I have traveled for 20+ years for business and pleasure, and stayed in many Crowne Plaza's. I am sorry to say this Crowne Plaza needs a facelift. Not up to the standards I have seen in most Crown Plaza hotels. I checked in later at night, and did not have my rewards card number handy. I asked if they could look it up. I was told no, they did not have access to that, but if I went to my room, I could look it up online and call the front desk with the number. Seriously? This is a CROWN PLAZA... I am a rewards member, and have ALOT of points.... take care of me! I also saw 20 bottles of water behind the desk. Did they offer me one to take to my room? NO. I get better treatment at the Hampton Inn! NOT user friendly.

Internet service was slow, at best. The room was not up to CP standards. It was "clean", but outdated. Looked like they had tried to update some things, but not others. Lighting in the bathroom was horrible, but the bed was clean and comfy. Linens clean. Bathroom was half updated, half 1970's. A large hotel, but not alot of spirit in the staff and not to the level of most CP's I have stayed at. Not one of the better hotels avail in the GR area. Come on, CP, step it up to your standards! I know times are tough, but you have a great opportunity in GR to be a leading hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheeeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea J, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Dear Sheeeebs:

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids and for taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate the confidence that we can be one of the leading hotels in Grand Rapids! We feel that way as well, and work hard at improving our service levels each day. I was disappointed to hear of your Priority club treatment at check in. Our management staff does have the ability to look up Priority information and could have done that the next morning for you prior to check out. You also should have received a complimentary bottle of water with your upgrade to our executive level. I will use your review to further train my staff about the importance of not only our priority club members, but all guests of our hotel! We definitely aim to be one of Grand Rapids finest! Thank you again, and I hope we can serve you again soon!

Sincerely,

Andrea Johnston
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Spent the night for business as all the downtown hotels were booked. Great older hotel - very well kept with an excellent staff. Only downside is there is no entertainment in the evening. So if you want to sit in the bar and listen to some music - have them put on a radio.

Clean rooms, nice beds, nice pool

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulT60606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea J, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids! We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to serve you when the downtown area was sold out. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Grand Rapids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
2.1 km away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Airport
Courtyard Grand Rapids Airport
#22 of 49 in Grand Rapids
103 reviews
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
4.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
168 reviews
3.8 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)

Address: 5700 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $135 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cascade Township, our property features 320 newly renovated guest rooms, 21,000 sq. feet of meeting facilities, indoor/outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, restaurant and lounge, and free WI-FI. Conveniently close to the the Gerald R. Ford airport with access to a free airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing