We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, clean hotelrooms. Very 1979s retro.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, clean hotelrooms. Very 1979s retro.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is my second stay at the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids Airport and I enjoyed both visits. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, but then that goes for the good citizens of Grand Rapids too.
Hotel is very retro from 1979, including the wild 1970's striped room and hallways carpeting. My only complaint was the mediocre gym equipment that was in disrepair. In fact, when I arrived to work out, the current guests had to warn me which half of the treadmills didn't work properly. The single Universal machine was rusty and squeaked when you used it. Irritating.

Also, my tub drain was clogged and I was forced to stand in two inches of dirty water, very unpleasant. I hope maintenance will address the problem for the next room guest to avoid.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimo767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    85
    77
    30
    35
See reviews for
66
37
17
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

It is a fine place to stay if you are on the Eastside of Grand Rapids. Not great facilities or service but not bad either.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefPontiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
265 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Close to airport, airport shuttle, good front desk, rooms were very nice with huge flat screen tv.

Hotel is older, and they need to pay attention to the worn and grungy hallways... But overall I had a relaxing, quiet stay.

Oh, inside pool and restaurants across street

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyMom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Grand Rapids is a great place to visit and stay. I have traveled for 20+ years for business and pleasure, and stayed in many Crowne Plaza's. I am sorry to say this Crowne Plaza needs a facelift. Not up to the standards I have seen in most Crown Plaza hotels. I checked in later at night, and did not have my rewards card number handy. I asked if they could look it up. I was told no, they did not have access to that, but if I went to my room, I could look it up online and call the front desk with the number. Seriously? This is a CROWN PLAZA... I am a rewards member, and have ALOT of points.... take care of me! I also saw 20 bottles of water behind the desk. Did they offer me one to take to my room? NO. I get better treatment at the Hampton Inn! NOT user friendly.

Internet service was slow, at best. The room was not up to CP standards. It was "clean", but outdated. Looked like they had tried to update some things, but not others. Lighting in the bathroom was horrible, but the bed was clean and comfy. Linens clean. Bathroom was half updated, half 1970's. A large hotel, but not alot of spirit in the staff and not to the level of most CP's I have stayed at. Not one of the better hotels avail in the GR area. Come on, CP, step it up to your standards! I know times are tough, but you have a great opportunity in GR to be a leading hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheeeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea J, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Sheeeebs:

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids and for taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate the confidence that we can be one of the leading hotels in Grand Rapids! We feel that way as well, and work hard at improving our service levels each day. I was disappointed to hear of your Priority club treatment at check in. Our management staff does have the ability to look up Priority information and could have done that the next morning for you prior to check out. You also should have received a complimentary bottle of water with your upgrade to our executive level. I will use your review to further train my staff about the importance of not only our priority club members, but all guests of our hotel! We definitely aim to be one of Grand Rapids finest! Thank you again, and I hope we can serve you again soon!

Sincerely,

Andrea Johnston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Spent the night for business as all the downtown hotels were booked. Great older hotel - very well kept with an excellent staff. Only downside is there is no entertainment in the evening. So if you want to sit in the bar and listen to some music - have them put on a radio.

Clean rooms, nice beds, nice pool

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulT60606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea J, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids! We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to serve you when the downtown area was sold out. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
3.1 km away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
DoubleTree By Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)

Property: Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)
Address: 5700 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price range (per night): $150 - $231
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cascade Township, our property features 320 newly renovated guest rooms, 21,000 sq. feet of meeting facilities, indoor/outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, restaurant and lounge, and free WI-FI. Conveniently close to the the Gerald R. Ford airport with access to a free airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, lastminute.com.au and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing