We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
152
212
90
36
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
212
90
36
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ford museum road noise within walking distance public museum across the river pearl street light sleeper small bathroom van andel bars and restaurants devos place convenient location art prize room was clean and comfortable definitely stay here again checking in sink
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2016

We found this to be walking distance for many of the places we wanted to visit: Founders, Hopcat, Grand Rapids Brewing Company, B.O.B. and had it been open is right across the street from the Gerald Ford Museum. Cab ride back from Founders at the end of the night was very inexpensive. Would definitely stay here again. Free parking, free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMore22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

Dear TravelMore22,

Thank you for posting about your stay with us! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location as well as a few of the amenities that we offer complimentary to our guests! We look forward to hosting you the next time you're in Grand Rapids!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

My husband and I stayed here during Family Week at GVSU. There also happened to be The Art Walk happening at the same time so it was busy. Easy check in process, nice area to sit and watch some college football games and have a drink if you so desired. The room was comfortable and clean. There was a wedding going on and some unfortunate excessive noise from some guests that kept us up. We informed the front desk of it in the morning and they swiftly apologized and discounted our bill. Service above and beyond.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodiDanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear JodiDanTravel,

Thank you for your post about your stay with us! I am so sorry to hear that you had noise disturbances during your stay, but pleased that our staff was able to rectify that for you! We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again the next time you visit Grand Rapids. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Great room and location. The room service was excellent. Beds were comfy. Nothing bad to say at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Grand Rapids.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear Tracey,

Thank you so much for posting about your stay with us! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again the next time you visit Grand Rapids. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. Easy on/off to the highway. Walkable to downtown. Short walk to museum. There is a place in the hotel to grab breakfast but I wasn't overly impressed with the simple menu.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
Thank Meaghan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Meaghan,

Thank you for your candid review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and the service you received from our staff. Delivering excellent service is something our team takes great pride in, so I will be sure to pass your words along. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

We had an underwhelming stay at this property. Bottom line: if you need to be close to downtown and you're traveling with a dog, there aren't a lot of options. Be prepared to pay a fortune at the JW Marriott or simply too much at the Holiday Inn.

Despite it being an entirely nonsmoking hotel, the first room I was given at check-in smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. The second room had a much more faint smell, but it was still there. I opened the window and cranked up the heat. The rooms are small for the price and don't have a lot of amenities -- no bathroom fans, refrigerators, microwaves or movies for rent. Breakfast in the restaurant, not included in the room rate, is expensive and unremarkable.

Bring earplugs. It's not hard to anticipate what you'll encounter when your room faces the freeway, but the small room sizes and the thin walls mean you're also going to hear everything in the hallway and the rooms on either side. (One highlight at bedtime was the sound of a maintenance worker snaking a neighboring drain.)

We paid $124 for a double room. The nearby, brand new Hampton was charging a lot less but doesn't allow pets.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank childbride84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews