We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rodeway Inn(Grand Haven)
USD 92
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Harbor House Inn(Grand Haven)(Great Value!)
USD 216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Beacon Inn(Grand Haven)(Great Value!)
USD 194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 161
USD 155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boyden House Inn(Grand Haven)(Great Value!)
USD 174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake(Spring Lake)(Great Value!)
USD 197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 232
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
17
10
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
10
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiki hutfire pitping pongpoolaccommodationshouse
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We stayed in the lighthouse and rented both upstairs and down. First, they don't tell you the housekeeping staff is downstairs in this building, they are in and out and every time the door closes the door to our unit rattles and wakes you beginning at 7 am. The place is so dirty and floors we so dirty, that all of us had to wear shoes. We cleaned the kitchen floor our selves and the others floors were wood and could not be cleaned by a mop. The back porch has steps but around the steps are mud and has a lot of traffic by the college kids that do the housekeeping.
The lighthouse has grills for everyone to use and are very close to the house, our smoke alarms went off when other guests were grilling. The house smelled of smoke for hours.
The other units were occupied by a family reunion, we could not get in the fire pit or the tiki hut or get a lounge chair due to the large size of the crowd. We had children and they over took the music and had to ask them to change the music because of the f bombs in the music.
The air conditioning is controlled downstairs, where the housekeeping staff is, at one point we were wondering why it was so hot and found out someone turned the air off.
I'm sorry but I could not find too many good things to say about this resort my advice is to look elsewhere, there are many many rentals that are much nicer and also less expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank debby156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

The place was ok. No major complaints, but much more geared towards families. There were a lot of young, loud children running all over the place and splashing taking over the entire pool area. Would not stay here again. I really do not think it was worth the price for what you get. Next time I will look for other rentals closer to the beach.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank jenn28msu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Recently visited with our family of 6 and had booked a room on the 2nd floor of one of their cottages. The room said it could accommodate 6 with 2 full beds in one room and a futon in the front room. We knew it was not large but thought we could make it work. However, we were not at all prepared for how small the entire place actually was. The futon was awful and could literally feel every spring in your back, there were no dresser drawers, and closets had no shelving, etc. Only one tiny mirror in the bathroom for 6 people to share. It was basically claustrophobic in there with low angled attic ceilings, very little light, and absolutely no where to put anything. I could not spend our happy family time in their dark dank attic. After complaining and having to stick it out for a couple nights until something else opened up we were able to move to another one of their cottages near the beach which was far better equipped to handle a family of 6. Tristan who worked in the office was by far the most understanding to try and make things better for us.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Stravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

For the third year in a row our family has stayed and enjoyed the Coast Guard Festival at the Serendipity Resort in Grand Haven, MI - Coast Guard City, USA! As in the past, our stay was great. The location of the resort is perfect for families, as you are one block from the carnival so you can walk there at any time, but you are also far enough away to not hear the noise when you are ready to wind down and sleep. The staff was friendly and very helpful, per the usual. The pool, parking and amenities were perfect as well. We look forward to booking our stay for next year!

Room Tip: Each apartment sleeps a different size family and pets are allowed in certain apartments.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JandmBarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

My whole family was there for my parents' 40th Anniversary.

Pros: Location, location,location. Close to all things in town and the pier/lighthouse. Resort had a nice grilling area, fire pit, and tiki hut. Many nice beaches within a short drive. We walked to the Armory most mornings for coffee at Aldea. They also have a brewery inside and a bbq joint. Our favorite was Kirk Beach. We loved the entire town. Many great breweries and biking trails. We went into Grand Rapids for the mountain biking trails though. We enjoyed Merrell for us and Luton park for the kids. Will be coming back. Loved what Michigan had to offer. First time staying in Michigan.

Cons: sand area under hammock goes right into the pool everyone uses. There is no shower nearby. Common area is smaller in general if several big families are staying at the resort. Hard to not be overtaken by one large group. We stayed in three units.

Lille 4: Several flights of stairs which can be a lot when moving suitcases/groceries up if you are a bit older. The air also wasn't working in July. We had numerous people look at it and try to help. For all units the air is controlled by the main house. Not ideal if you want to increase or decrease the temp. You have to call them. Overall not ideal for my parents' 40th Anniv stay. They were super hot in their unit. Other than that it's very nice in the room. Spacious with two beds, nice bathroom and kitchen area.

Light house 1: The porch that both units use has windows that kids knock on and look in and instead of the area inside being a living room it's an open bedroom area with two beds. Main door both shared units use is super loud and slams shut when you open and close it.

Cottage Rose 1: Very misleading in that it sleeps 8. Definitely should say 6 at the most. Smaller size refrigerator, oven, kitchen. Hard when 8 people staying and not even a standard size refrigerator. The two beds upstairs are nice, but we had to put an air mattress in our tiny kitchen. The other bed was in a room that ONLY fit a bed and all rooms had sheer, lacy curtains. No dressers/chests, etc anywhere. All 8 of us living out of suitcases and no place for these. Only one tiny closet. We had to buy hangers and adhesive hooks to hang towels up and some of our clothes. Definitely would only stay here with four people.

Overall enjoyed our stay,but misleading on how many people could stay in the units comfortably. Would book more units next time or stay somewhere else with more space. People taking care of the resort were great!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
5  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerendipityResort, Owner at Serendipity Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016

We are truly sorry that your recent stay at Serendipity Resort was less than enjoyable. We work very hard to ensure to that our suites are clean and our customers are satisfied. We apologize for our failure to deliver an enjoyable accommodation to you and your family during your recent stay.

The air conditioning has been all fixed in Lillie #4 and that it appears that a hidden duct lever to their suite was turned off, by another guest without our knowing it and it took quite a time to figure it out. But it is certainly fixed now.

We are extremely sorry for any inconvenience you have suffered. Your comments and thoughts are very important to help us improve our service to our future guests.

Everyone considering coming to our resort and reading many reviews, should keep in mind these homes are historical homes, many built in the 1880s, they are configured to be nightly accommodations only as best as we can, while we do our best to keep improving them each year to provide the best place to come and stay, they are not for everyone seeking modern accommodations and conveniences, we do have many happy returning guests each year and do continue to improve the suites for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews