We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
7
4
7
2
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
4
7
2
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

When I called we were told it was one of the old rooms. This we didn't mind, but told them that it had to be clean-was assured it was. When we arrived, we confirmed we were ok with old, but had to be clean and again was assured it was.
The carpet was so dirty the entire room smelled, there was a used bar of soap on the counter (no paper wrap), and when I got in the shower and ran the water, junk on the floor started moving around-now I was REALLY regretting the shower....(at least the water was hot)
The rugs in the bath were dirty, night stand had dirt on the top, and we really wondered if the towels and sheets were really clean (if nothing else was why would these?).
We both slept with our clothes and shoes, on the top top of the bed spread - covering up with our leather riding coats (bike trip).
If it wasn't late I would have ridden the two hours to find a room and left the $50.

Room tip: Inspect the room before final payment. Even of you have reserved it, if it isn't clean then dispute it with the credit card company.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank YellowTriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raysretreat10, Owner at Alpine Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We were shocked with this review. We do not do our own housekeeping. If our guests do not let us know the condition of their room we are unable to make any changes. Although after this review we are making a point of checking the rooms after they have been cleaned. Anytime someone has a problem with cleanliness we want the opportunity to make it right with them. We were booked full this weekend so would not have been able to give the opportunity for a different room. We would have no problem with refunding their money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The room was old, but clean and the beds were comfortable. We really enjoyed the hot breakfast that comes with the price of the room. We stayed 2 nights in one of the upstairs rooms. Its not bad for the price and I am fairly picky.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mscherie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because of the location. the room was so dirty you had to sleep with 1 eye open..the shower was crumbling down and full of mold. there was feces splattered on the walls around the toilet and the bathroom sink did not drain. of course the refrigerator is not plugged in and it is full of mold and it stinks. I think this is the room that they forgot to run the sweeper in since 1970.
the blinds were broken and you could not close them.I strongly advise that you stay down the street at the Water's inn.. spend that extra 5 or 10 dollars and avoid yourself a whole bunch of stress. ...it should be called rays run down hole... not Resort. apparently these people do not know what a resort is and they do not know how to clean or fix anything either..it's a shame

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheDeluxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raysretreat10, Owner at Alpine Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

It is a fact of life that we cannot please everyone. It saddens us that someone this unhappy would not have said anything to us. We would have been offered to remedy her complaints. I don't understand why anyone would stay THREE nights in such conditions, and turn in the key without saying one word to either my husband or I about these problems. We have went back into that room and did a through assessment. We have two excellent housekeepers. We try very hard to keep our customers happy. If we are never given the opportunity to address issues with the complaintant there is not much we can do. Ray's Retreat is not a fancy resort, we have never claimed to be. In fact, when making reservations we inform the potential guest that the downstairs rooms are retro rooms - older rooms. We have newer rooms in the upstairs that are available to those who are willing to pay the extra money. Rays Retreat offers a good value for your money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Upon first glance, Rays Retreat appears to be like any other roadside inn. But once you look at everything, its a homey, pleasant place with extremely friendly owners that will do anything and everything to make sure your stay with them is comfortable. Every morning they serve a hot breakfast (homemade) between 7:30-9:30 included with every room which gives it a bed and breakfast feel. Its in a dining room with family style tables which encourages friendly interaction. Mike Ray knows so much about the area, the trails, conditions. Etc and is happy to talk about it. Right by the trailhead, its a ride in ride out motel. It was filled with fellow snowmobilers. The best part is they allow pets (we have 2 little dogs that we can never find a sitter for) and the Rays have a nice Golden Retriever named Sparky! The room we stayed in was one of the "retro" rooms- number 7- which we first thought looked a bit tiny but was clean and comfy for just the 2 of us. Free wifi, cable, fridge, and microwave are standard amenities along with hot and continental breakfast, donuts, danish, coffee, juice etc. great little place for the price! They make you feel like family!! Remember to sign the guestbook in the dining room and leave the Rays a nice tip if you can. They havent raised their prices and never do. What you see is what you get. And they always seem to be packed so you know they are doing something right! Its not a Ritz Carlton but what do you expect for $50-75 per night??? Make sure to make reservations a few weeks in advance because they fill up fast! Will definitely be returning soon!!

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrp0629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed one night to attend family reunion in Gaylord. Liked being on the back side, away from road noise. Back side has a friendly gathering area around a campfire plit with adequate seating. Bird feeders. Really good place to have a group gathering. Quiet.

Room tip: Stay on the back side (East)
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews