We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
31
15
17
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
15
17
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilltop lodge gaylord area new owners tribute skiing golf courses festival skiers repair microwave
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Stayed at the Otsego Club over the past weekend, and the resort is currently in poor shape. The resort had been sold at Auction in June, and just re-opened. We had booked on Expedia, and there was no mention of the closure. Luckily our arrival time coincided with the re-opening or we would have arrived and been out of luck with no room.

We have stayed here several times before. But this is the first time we have been back in about 6 years.

I was disappointed to see that this has gone from a nice golf/ski resort to a "resort of the past....with a current Motel 6 vibe".

It is apparent that the resort is/ has faced some financial difficulty. Exterior of buildings and facility is in a state of dis repair. I say this coming from a family with many fond memories here in the past.

While we support efforts to overhaul it under new owners, we hope they act quickly. If they don't it will only be a matter of time until this facility shuts its doors permanently.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

When the weather took a turn at the end of our recent camping trip we decided to bail and picked this spot to spend our last night on the road.
The price was right, the location, perfect, and they had a room. We didn’t realize until we arrived that it was a golf club/ski resort! Our room had a loft for the two kids, we ordered pizza delivered from Gaylord, and had a great night.
Last, the pool was closed for maintenance, but we enjoyed the shuffleboard court and the Chris lined up to enjoy the view from the top of the ski hill. The next morning we took our coffee at the picnic table outside our room.
The staff was very helpful and we’ll be back, I’m sure.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank michiganenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

My room was old but clean. The resort and conference facilities were well worn but the service was great and they did a nice job with the food. The grounds need some serious updating and repairs, but beautiful views.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank GManEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Very reasonable rate for such a wonderful natural environment. The staff were friendly and helpful. It's a great walking experience around buildings or in the woods. Highly recommend this as a place to stay for travelers who like the outdoors. It's just slightly down the road from the small city center but by far the best place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room was 1030 on 2nd floor and had a 2nd floor balcony ( 4 rooms shared ) nice view.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michaelpC9369BN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

O Club opened to the public recently and thought it would be great new place to try. $65 Adult Lift Tickets are about par for N. MI. Lifts are a bit dated, but functional(lift 5 was having an issue that day), hills are longer than I expected, and grooming was well done. Lodges are nostalgic, but clean, and cozy. Staff was pleasant and welcoming. What didn't impress were the people who come there. This is a club for the elite. From the fir wearing botox junky moms with their bratty kids to the dads with the $1,200 kjus jackets, none of them seemed like they were there for the skiing, and most of them were not great skiers either. Giving it 3 stars, because if you can avoid the guests, it's an ok place.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews