We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super clean. Close to everything. Boat was...”
other travellers have booked this property
Panoramic view into woods, all new furniture throughout house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Panoramic view into woods, all new furniture throughout house.
WW2, hunting and fishing antiques from Glen's life and times. Back family room with fireplace/woodstove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Panoramic view into woods, all new furniture throughout house.
WW2, hunting and fishing antiques from Glen's life and times.
Back family room with fireplace/woodstove
Deck is directly off this porch
Large deck off back of house
Interior living room, AC in house. Photo is prior to antique display, now in that corner.
View of Tawas Lake near your lake access across the road.
Kitchen with oak cabinets and modern appliances. All you need is food.
Master bedroom with new bed
Second bedroom has 2 new twin beds.
A midsummer evening in the rowboat on Tawas Lake surrounded by wild rice.
Office area
Front porch has view of Tawas Lake
View from front porch towards Tawas Lake
View from your boat access area across the road
Campfire area near house
Front view of house
Back living room with new furniture
Enjoy the sunsets over Tawas Lake and the wild rice beds
East Tawas main street is only a mile away and is a great tourist town with a park on Lake Huron
Tawas Point Lighthouse at the State Park. Great hiking and birding.
East Tawas City Park 1 mile away has a great beach area
Huge dock for walking and fishing at the East Tawas City Park
View out the back door into the woods. Deck is now directly out this door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
East Tawas, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shirley B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super clean. Close to everything. Boat was great to have!”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed having a full kitchen and two dining areas. When kids wanted TV at night I used the enclosed front porch to read. Neighbors were friendly and had helpful hints about where to visit. Kids caught fish in lake. Close to town and to state park. Only complaint was beds but its a cottage and was expected. However, I did not expect such a nice heavy shower spray. Hope to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness!!!
Liked least: Beds, but does not afffect my desire to return
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thanks, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay but sorry you didn't like the beds. They were new 3 years ago with all the other furniture in the house and are a good quality bed. Although I never particularly noticed it, apparently these beds are on the soft side. Motels used to advertise soft beds but... I do plan to switch out the full bed in the master bedroom for a firmer queen I have. That probably won't happen until 2017 so please check with me if that is important to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronmspark...
Coopersville, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great get-away ALL the way around!”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We've just returned from our week at Glen's cottage. It was great! Very nice cottage across the road from Tawas Lake. The cottage was very clean and nicely furnished. We would suggest adding some matches or a lighter for the fireplace and bbq grill. There was just the two of us enjoying this stay and so the accommodations were very roomy, but there was plenty of room for a family of five or so. Being used to a king bed, the double bed was small...or shall I say 'cozy'! Nice linens.
The kitchen was well-stocked with all the cooking necessities and very nice appliances. Nice TV [though we didn't use it much]; we would suggest instructions for the DVD player as I could not get it to work.
We did haul the rowboat across the road to the lake but this was a bit of a chore...NOT a one-person task. With modest effort, I caught a couple 20" pike and a bluegill; the neighbor got his limit of huge 'gills. Gorgeous sunsets across the lake!
Very quiet, friendly vacation neighborhood...with the notable exception of one guy down the street with his ridiculously noisy, jacked-up pick-up. Very inconsiderate of other neighbors. Fortunately, he only chose to 'sound off' a couple times while we were there.
Great fun watching the black squirrels, and we appreciated being able to have our small dog accompany us. Many other dog-walkers in the neighborhood.
The cottage is a mini-museum with interesting WWII and outdoor artifacts and pictures. Thanks, Glen, for leaving those in place for others to enjoy.
On-site washer/dryer was a bonus.
E. Tawas is a beautiful resort town on the shores of Lake Huron. Many good restaurants and nice shops including a great Ben Franklin store. The town was really coming to life the week before Memorial Day weekend, and we just missed the annual 'birding' weekend by a day or two. Tawas city is just to the south adding many more sites to visit and/or eat. Tawas State Park is a wonderful destination to spend time hiking, beaching, bird-watching, picnicking or just relaxing. And visit the lighthouse while you're there.
All-in-all a wonderful week with a great 'home base' for relaxing after a day of exploring or sunning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Very convenient, quiet location. Outstanding value.
Liked least: Double bed was comfortable but 'small'. It was stated 'up front' that there was no wifi @ cottage and although I could not get online on my laptop, my wife did access the internet via her smartphone.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thanks for your great comments! I appreciate the feedback and will add the few things you mention.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susiev180...
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and cozy..”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for three nights over Thanksgiving to be with/near family. Very clean, large and comfortable. Felt like being at home- actually hosted the dinner here! The owner Greg was very excessible via email and checked to make sure all was well on arrival. Fully equipped from linens to pots and pans, everything you need was right there, only had to bring the food. Furniture and beds very comfortable. Nice large bathroom and nice size kitchen.Very close to shopping, the main street and beach. Wont't even look elsewhere for our next visit to the area. Looking forward to staying again next fall!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Very clean and homey atmosphere
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for the nice review! I'm very happy I could help make Thanksgiving for your family a great holiday. I always tell my guests to contact me with any questions or concerns and I respond as quickly as possible. I want everyone to love this place like I do - over 50 years there and counting!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelers...
Flint, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxation”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A great place to unwind in a quiet and peaceful neighborhood. Don't let the acorns scare you as they fall from the trees. It was fun watching the squirrels run around, Wish I could have seen some deer. The stars at night are real bright to look at in the sky and the air is fresh and cool, Bring some jackets just in case. Lot's of room in the house and well supplied. The beds are nice and firm for a good night's sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nice quiet and peacefull wooded area.
Liked least: Lake was overgrown with marsh and needed more instruction on dvd player & heater. .
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenevieve...
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice quiet cottage”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I wanted a winter getaway for the weekend and stayed at this quaint little cottage in East Tawas. We found the place to be cozy and clean. It's close to the downtown and Huron Lake for a daytime trip. The place is well stocked with cups, dishes and pans. The refrigerator is large enough to stock with lots of good food. Overall I would stay here again and recommend it to friends looking for a retreat not to far away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was quiet due to the time we went.
Liked least: The amount of time Flipkey takes to return the security deposit.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing