We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 186
USD 166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 182
USD 155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 248
USD 221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 175
USD 151
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 209
USD 185
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 296
USD 264
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 314/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 167
USD 142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,081)
Filter reviews
1,081 results
Traveller rating
491
341
149
65
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
341
149
65
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsford fieldcomerica parkgreat locationfront deskvalet parkingwithin walking distancetwo blockstigers gamegreektown casinopeople movercouple blocksopera houseclean hotelgreat place to staythe hotel staffstaff was very friendly and helpfulsporting events
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 1,081 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The hotel is newly remodeled and very clean and modern looking. the staff at the front desk is very helpful and friendly. The beds are very comfortable and I love the fact it has a refrigerator and kuerig in the room makes it very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank littlelisa218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms and their amenities as well as our cleanly standards and helpful staff! We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Great staff, very nice rooms. Breakfast was on the pricey side, would skip in future. Used valet service for parking, good price. Vey hel staff assisted me with directions to events, and calling Cab service for us.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank G3539MUjasonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our staff and recently renovated guest rooms. We hope to see you back again soon to enjoy more of our hotel and downtown Detroit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Got the junior sweet hat about 8 people comfortable. Amazing experience downtown in the center of everything. Breakfast was great my only complain would be having to pay 30 for parking which should be expected will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank kiesean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you had an amazing downtown experience and enjoyed our convenient location as well as our breakfast restaurant, the Garden Grille! Our parking is competitive with other local hotels and venues, we do all we can to accommodate our guests in such a busy area of downtown. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Decided to stay here one night after Monster Jam. A fantastic idea compared to last year's disaster of parking nightmares and traffic!

The valet team was professional and helpful. I was really wary leaving my car (as the lot adjacent to the hotel is public). They totally put my mind at ease and took good care of my van.

Concierge team was professional, helpful and made sure we had everything we needed.

Dined at the on-site restaurant. Our server was great and the food was good.
Highly recommend a burger and the kids loved their chicken fingers.

I love that this hotel is a short walk to Ford Field.

After the show we walked back and watched traffic from our window. Highly entertaining. We settled down for bed around midnight and this is when things got really interesting. Of course you don't notice the noise around you until bedtime. Holy hell is it loud! We could hear everything from outside. Cars, police whistles, sirens, monster trucks from up the street. Needless to say we did not have a good nights sleep. The airbag feather pillows did not help either. :(

The room itself was clean. You can see where they have been updating things - and they have a ways to go. The price that we paid for one night was astronomical - BUT there was an event in town and i'm pretty sure it's one of the closest (if not THE closest) hotel to Ford Field.

Based on this hotels location and amenities, we would probably stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travlinwiththefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kizzy M, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Good day,

Thank you for choosing our Hilton Garden Inn Detroit location. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the short distances to Ford Field, we hope you and the family enjoyed the Monster Jam! We apologize about the noise you experienced, there were lots of people visiting the local area restaurants and other attractions in the Heart of Downtown after the Monster Jam. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to the area!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

I recently stayed for 4 nights. My room was really clean and recently remodeled. The front desk staff is top notch as is the cleaning staff. The management did a great job with the teams they put in place. I put in a few special requests to the cleaning staff and was never disappointed. The location is several blocks from the People Mover to quickly get you to places like the Renaissance Center for a very reasonable .75 cents. When I first arrived, my initial room smelled faintly of smoke. I asked to be moved and was quickly moved - no questions asked.

One morning, I asked if cabs drove past regularly. The front desk person asked where I was going. I told her that I am going to the Renaissance Center. She immediately explained that the People Mover was a great, reasonably priced option. She walked me to the window and pointed to the direction I needed to take and landmarks along the way. I am still appreciative of her help! :)

I ate at the restaurant one evening. It took almost 20 minutes to get my food. It was really good but it took too long. The waitress was not friendly and seemed as if she didn't want to be there. The breakfast staff was really sweet and breakfast was fast. I do think it is overpriced considering you can get a similar breakfast for free at places like the Hampton Inn.

The Keurig coffee maker in the room with real creamer was greatly appreciated.

The bed was super comfortable and the temperature in the room was easily
controlled.

The one negative thing I would say about the room is that it needs more light sources! Not enough lamps or the lamps aren't bright enough. It's too dark.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoBeagleGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms, friendly and knowledgeable staff as well as our convenient location downtown Detroit! We do apologize about the lighting in the guest room and would like to share that we will be adding additional lighting soon in the upcoming months. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews