We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise on earth!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Cayos Cochinos, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
RossanaAS...
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth!”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We really enjoyed our time in los cayos, even though it's in island far from everything, there are so many things to do. We enjoyed swimming, kayaking and snorkeling. we also had the opportunity to visit the other nearby islands. Daryl is an amazing host, he made our arrival so much easier and help us organize our trip. I would definitely recommend Daryl's place and would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“Outstanding - beautiful, peaceful, amazing nature.”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The island is remote and beautiful. There is a reef a few yards off the dock - drop into an amazing snorkeling experience in seconds. There's an amazing array of fish - it's unbelievable.

My wife and I visited first and it was a great getaway. We wanted to share the experience with our children - aged 8 through 16 - and came back with them several weeks later. We again had an awesome time.

Daryl is fully invested in the experience, taking care of every detail with care and concern. The caretakers on the island, Francie and Rey, are incredibly warm and helpful. Very attentive to every need and wonderfully accommodating. They truly enjoy what they do and their passion to ensure the quality of your experience is apparent.

We look forward to our next trip to Cayos Cochinos!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the people involved with the property.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcRegna...
Venice, Italy
2 reviews
“Dream vacation”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a great, exotic time in Daryl's home in Cayos Cochinos, a hidden gem in the Bay Islands. Visiting the islands around was also an experience. Very nice punctual and attentive service and great communications. Nancy and helpers were always there to attend to our needs. Fully recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keke523
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Visiting the island is like living in a gorgeous postcard. If you're looking for a true break from the daily grind, this is it. We savored trading up our nerve-fraying cell phones for the tranquil sounds of gentle waves and the tropical breeze. The caretakers, Francy and Jose, went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. We treasured the opportunity to learn more about the Honduran culture through them. We also felt lucky to spend the first two days of our trip getting to know Daryl's wife, Nancy. Her spunk and kindness made us feel so very welcome. As for Daryl, he is an excellent, prompt communicator. He put all of our worries to rest and was beyond patient with our endless questions as we prepared for the trip. Daryl had everything covered, from our transportation from the ferry to the Upper Long Key, all the way to getting our grocery list filled and sent out to the island. Prepare to experience peace as you explore some of the best coral reef in the world. Through a local guide, we spent a morning touring some of the other nearby islands. As part of it, we did more reef snorkeling and ventured into the jungle where we not only found a pink boa constrictor, but got to hold it. We then finished the (email hidden)'s community island where his wife cooked us lunch. The tour was not only affordable but highly interesting . Now there are 4 or 5 bungalows on the property so you may be sharing the island some, but there's lots of space and lots of hammocks! It would also be a great place if you want to travel with other family or friends. Honestly, we can’t say enough great things about our experience at Daryl and Nancy’s home away from home. Our best advice, pack your bags! You've found paradise.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safaribug...
Napa Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Island Paradise – Submerge in crystal clear waters, comfy hammock and a great book!”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We just spent five nights at this amazing property and loved every minute! The owners are fantastic hosts and are super helpful answering questions and helping plan your stay.

We rented the house which has two floors above the ground floor. A deck surrounds the entire lower floor which makes up the kitchen and living room space. The upper floor is the bedroom, shower and toilet (no privacy door on toilet) and has two decks on either side of the house. There are beautiful views of the sunrise from the upper deck with hammocks on each. Plantation shutters on all of the windows on both floors allows for lots of air circulation. The home is charming with a Caribbean style. Clean and perfect for a couple. The location makes this an awesome place to stay!

Some specific items to note are: The home has low-voltage lighting 24 hrs per day. A 110v generator runs for about 2 hrs a day and is used to charge electronics. No a/c in the home. The stairs to the second floor are very steep—like a ladder and requires some care to use. No hot water. No ceiling fans. No privacy door between toilet and bedroom. The kitchen has a gas stove and a refrigerator for use. Sodas and beer sold at tourist prices. (byob) The ground floor is where the meals are prepared and served and drinks may be purchased. 5 gal bottle drinking water is in the kitchen for use for a small fee.

Be aware, there are additional accommodations on the property for multiple guest which may or may not be occupied during your stay. Meal plans are available or you can prepare meals in the kitchen. It is recommended to specify the desired meal items. Bring lots of sunscreen and mosquito repellent. The caretaker and cook live in a separate house on the property and are always available.

Boat ride and beach launch to and from the island can be sketchy in rough seas! We were completely soaked when we arrived. Bring trash bags to cover all bags & luggage.

Compare with other Cayos Cochinos accommodations within a 10-minute boat ride that have; SCUBA operations, kayaks, sup’s, snorkeling, restaurant, protection from high winds persistent on smaller islands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Island surroundings and location
Liked least: Not a true home rental by itself. Sharing property with other guests
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing