We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
208
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
208
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews social hour wine hour other guests tuscany room cookies carriage house mug club vintage room empire room b and b tree lined drive wonderful hosts short's brewery clawfoot tub french toast shorts brewery tandem bike
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Upon arrival the tree lined driveway and beautiful gardens greeted us along with inviting benches and chairs on the wrap around porch. Upon entering the home glancing inside it was elegantly decorated and ornate. Up the stairs to our room "The Empire Room" a plate of home baked cookies beside the bed welcomed us 'home'. Cozy and fully equipped we were pleasantly surprised to find everything we could possibly need (along with a case filled with a variety of items we might have forgotten to bring). Every detail to make our stay comfortable was most apparent! Of course what's a bed and breakfast without a breakfast, and our hosts, Dave and Jim had all of that covered too with coffee, tea's, hot cocoa, juices, a fruit bowl with yogurt, a scrumptious "blueberry boy" coffee cake along with a breakfast meat and potato dish to satisfy anyone's hunger. Our stay (this time) was only 1 night but from the looks of it... we'll be coming back!

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We have stayed at this B & B at least a dozen times and each one has been an enjoyable experience. The hosts are friendly and knowledgeable about the area so they can give suggestions for restaurants and things to do. The property is well-maintained and the entire experience is relaxing. We booked for next year already.
Gus' parents

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I guess there could be equals, but I sincerely doubt you will find a better B&B in America! This hospitality displayed by friendly owners who love what they do in running this quaint place nestled near Lake Michigan is incredible! Wine and refreshments in the afternoon on the porch, thorough knowledge of the area for sightseeing and shopping as well as restaurants is more than standard! And then there is the gourmet breakfast that makes your mouth water as you sit on the porch in the morning sipping your fresh hot and plentiful coffee which will fill you to the brim with delight! The rooms are spectacular and each decorated to a theme. The soothing baths in bathtubs and fresh baked cookies in your room each day makes this a special place to stay!

Room Tip: You can select view of exquisitely landscaped gardens, a porch or get the room over the kitchen to wake to the smells of gomet breakfast!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We have stayed here two times now and both times were great. This is the perfect location, it is only 5 min walk to downtown. The home itself is breathtaking, and something wonderful. We had a private tub in our room which was super relaxing.
The owners are so kind and welcoming,, there to great you when you come and say goodbye when you leave.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private tub.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

This B & B is located just a 5 minute walk to Short's Brewery and a quick drive to other area attractions. My husband and I stayed two nights in the Empire room in the main house. The room is small, but beautifully decorated (and the bed is so comfortable!). It was a perfect spot for our quick vacation.
Our hosts, Dave & Jim, are really as friendly as all the review say - and my husband - a professional chef, spent all of last week raving about our delicious breakfasts. They were always available for good conversation and to provide information about where to eat, what to do, etc.
We really can't wait to go back for another adventure!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews