We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubletree Bay City Riverfront, MI does not truly care about their guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 August 2017

This area apparently has a park concert, at least on Wednesday, August 23rd, that is located near the hotel - near enough that you can hear the concert, very clearly, through the windows. The music was good so that's a plus. The problem is, Doubletree allows anyone to park in their parking lot so guess, what, there was no parking available for me or any one else trying to check in after being on the road and working all day. When I went to the front desk they directed me to a parking garage slightly around the corner. The hotel's parking garage was nearly full but I managed a spot. I confronted the desk again and asked why they didn't station a security guard at the hotel's parking lot entrance. I didn't get a good response, only an excuse when they stated that the hotel was also hosting a 200-person dinner and that "probably" was the reason why the lot was full. I said, "probably," so that means you're not sure. I told them that I witnessed concert-goers carrying lawn chairs from their vehicles in the hotel's lot and told them again that they should be putting their customers first and ensuring that we have parking available. I then asked about security in the parking garage and was told that there is security but they only patrol the parking garage every few hours. This is totally unacceptable. I hope you learn from this Doubletree. I guarantee you that I was not the only person who complained about this, on this very night, and from the small attitude I received from the front desk, I bet it has happened before.

Room Tip: Riverside view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieThompson, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We do regularly schedule security to manage our parking lot for concerts. The last few weeks have not been an issue at all and we felt like it was not needed so we did cut back on monitoring. That particular concert ended up having much larger attendance than we expected and it sounds like we should have scheduled security that night. I apologize as these concerts have really been tough to manage this year. We will make adjustments accordingly. I will also address any attitude you received from our staff. As you can see from the majority of our Tripadvisor reviews, our staff is typically very kind and helpful. Please feel free to contact me personally to discuss further. I would like to make sure a future stay goes as seamless as possible should you try to return. Take Care! Leslie.Thompson@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017

Have stayed here probably 5 times. Rooms are always spotless, staff is friendly. Good location, within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Next to the park and bandshell and walking trail by the river. My only complaint is the food served at weddings and business functions rates only ok. Nothing special at all in my opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieThompson, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. We discuss all comments/concerns with our department heads on a weekly basis. I apologize that we have not "wowed" you with our food, but I assure you we will keep trying! Please let me know if I can help with anything during your next stay with us. Take Care! Leslie.Thompson@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel on the waterfront. Great location for walking to the new art district, antique store and downtown bay city.
Clean hotel, friendly staff. Comfortable bar are and restaurant can eat inside or outside on the riverfront

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CurlyLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenaMLowell, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for the 5 star review! We are happy to have you back with us and look forward to the next time =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

spent a night here for a conference. Hotel has a great spot right on the river. Room was clean, comfortable, and modern. Conference facilities were top notch and the restaurant had good food. I would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank jmbDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenaMLowell, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for the review! We're glad to hear you got to experience a guest room and our conference center. Hopefully we can earn 5 stars from your next stay with us =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Excellent hotel. Lovely location, good staff, clean rooms and relaxing atmosphere. I come out of my way to stay at this location, opting to drive an extra 30 mins to my work trip destinations just because I prefer staying here than surrounding towns. It's worth it for a less stressful stay and a good place to unwind.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank robinsena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieThompson, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you so much for your very kind review- we are thrilled that you go out of your way to stay with us. We hope to see you back soon and we will keep a cookie warm for you! Take Care and let me know if you ever have any questions or concerns. Leslie.Thompson@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bay City hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Bay City-Riverfront
5.8 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bay City
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Courtyard Bay City
Courtyard Bay City
#5 of 14 in Bay City
65 reviews
3.2 km away
Fairfield Inn Bay City
Fairfield Inn Bay City
#7 of 14 in Bay City
157 reviews
4.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bay City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront

Address: 1 Wenonah Park Pl, Bay City, MI 48708-5658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range: $144 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Bay City-Riverfront on the east bank of the Saginaw River in the heart of historic downtown Bay City, Michigan, offers the perfect location and ambiance for business and pleasure travel. Centrally located within the greater tri-city area of Midland, Bay City, and Saginaw, just two miles east of I-75 off of US-10, our hotel provides easy access to MBS International Airport, area corporations, and leisure attractions. Historic and prosperous, Bay City has retained its charm and is known for its antique shops, boutiques, pubs and eateries which are all within walking distance from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bay City - Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bay City Riverfront Hotel Bay City
Bay City Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing