We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
75
66
75
48
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
66
75
48
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskellogg arenabanquet staffdowntown battle creekthe hotel's restaurantconcierge valetlate checkstaff was very friendlyroom was clean and comfortableconferenceprivilegesjamiewrestlingvending
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We had a group of our athletes competing and this was the host hotel. Rooms were not very clean in fact some of them we had to ask to be moved because of how nasty the rooms were. The Restaurant staff was not very helpful and made you feel like you were bothering them to take your order. Most people in our group only ate there once and then went to other restaurants. We had talk to other clubs with the same organization that we were with and they felt the same way and also went elsewhere for food. Its a shame really because the Kellogg Convention Center is a nice place but I would not recommend anyone having an event there if this is the host hotel. By far this is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at and will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Up date rooms so that they look nice. Have your rooms inspected by someone so that you know what kind of rooms you are giving people with children to sleep in.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fearless69852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnisfreeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at McCamly Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback, we are so sorry that you had this negative experience at our hotel. Your comfort is extremely important to us, and we would love to make this up to you. Please contact us directly for more direct communication. We will make sure to correct as much of your feed back as is possible and again, thanks much for your timely and honest feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

First of all, this hotel looks much nicer in the official photos. The reality is that it's an older hotel that needs some major updating. Not just paint to cover up the problems, as they have done.

You can either choose to park in a parking garage in some random area (we never figured out where it was) and pay $8/night, or you can pay $10/night for valet parking. We did the valet parking. Although, they are parking your car about 20 feet from the front door, in an open lot. I would much rather have paid the $10 and parked my car myself so I didn't feel I had to tip for this ridiculous service. The valets were friendly and helpful, however.

The front desk staff was nice enough. Not particularly welcoming. But, they were not unfriendly. There was no free coffee or any other amenities in the lobby.

There was no pool or hot tub, even though it says there is on the website (it didn't say they were closed when we booked our room- although they have been closed for some time, according to past reviews), and we were pretty disappointed by that. There also wasn't an exercise room.

The bed in the room was very comfortable! That was the saving grace of this hotel! There were also plenty of comfortable pillows. The room had a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot. The room was not very clean. It didn't appear that it had been vacuumed and there was some garbage on the floor.

The bathroom fixtures were severely dated. They had tried to update the bathroom with new marble and such to make it pretty. But, the toilet let out a high pitched squealing noise that would wake up anyone in the vacinity if used at night. The drain in the bathtub did not drain. So, I couldn't help but think I was standing in someone else's filth. There were splatters on the wall behind the toilet, and also on the door and wall by the door. It looked like blood...or poop. The shower curtain had mesh on the top 1/3 and water sprayed out everywhere, getting your clothing and towels wet.

We were only staying for one night. Otherwise I probably would have tried to find a different hotel. There are other nice hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank heathersuek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnisfreeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at McCamly Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you, heathersuek, for taking the time to leave this feedback. We're so sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us. We're pleased to read that our staff was friendly, and that you found the bed to be comfortable! We have passed along the information regarding the cleanliness of your room, the issue with the toilet and shower curtain to our management team. We encourage you to reach out to us personally for more direct communication so we can make this up to you. Again, we're so sorry that you were disappointed in your experience, and we hope we can welcome you back again for a better stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Restaurant service was non existent plus hotel room was dirty. The only good thing is the hotel is connected to the arena. Otherwise I would stay elsewhere when ed come to town. Each year I am told improvements are being made but I see no change.

Room Tip: Needed to be cleaned, trash was under the heater
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnisfreeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at McCamly Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dennis, we are so sorry you that you were disappointed with your stay. We have passed along the information about the issues you faced with our restaurant to our management team, but for more direct contact we encourage you to reach out to our General Manager, Ryan Simmons, at rsimmons@innisfreehotels.com. Again, we're sorry you had a negative experience with us and we hope to welcome you again next time you visit Battle Creek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for four nights on a trip Battle Creek for an athletic event. Hotel is connected to the event center. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful even when being extremely busy. Hotel has a restaurant or a few places walking distance.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank bcfritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan S, General Manager at McCamly Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

bcfritch,

Thank you so much for your review, and for your kind words about the staff and location. We hope you are able to come back for the next event held in the arena, or anytime your travels bring you through Battle Creek.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Overall this was a very nice hotel. Beds were very comfy. Rooms were nicely decorated. They had both garage and valet parking. The in house restaurant was decent, but not amazing. It was located in the heart of downtown Battle Creek, so walking distance to many great restaurants and walking paths. Shout out to Clara's restaurant! It was the best there. The things we didn't like (it is an older hotel, so somewhat to be expected) were the squeaky doors and the hard to turn on shower faucets. Both the bathroom and entry doors for our room were extremely loud when you opened or closed them. The staff was very nice! This was a good hotel choice for us, because we were there for a gymnastics competition which was at the same location.

Room Tip: We were on the 15th floor and it was nice because there was nobody in rooms above us. I think they were remodeling the top floor
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Q8237GXamyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funandmemorable, Guest Relations Manager at McCamly Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Thank you for leaving a review! We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and the central location. We would love to welcome you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews