We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Top Notch Food and Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Yarmouth Inn

Old Yarmouth Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 33
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Yarmouth Inn offers classic cuisine for the next generation; the best in fresh local fish, shellfish, steaks and pasta. Whether you are looking for a casual meal in our cozy wood paneled tavern or a view of our gardens from the dining room, once you have experiencedThe Old Yarmouth Inn's delightful menu, warm, friendly staff and awesome wine selection you will know why we have become one of the most popular dining destinations on the Cape
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
185 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Top Notch Food and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

A group of us (7) went for dinner after a show and every person in the party commented how great the food and service was. Our waiter David J. was very informative, friendly, and always looking after us. Both the prime rib special and the panko crusted scallop special were outstanding. It was the first visit for two people in our party and both of them said they will be coming back. I did take note with their ample wine list and they had one of my favorite Malbec's (Catena Zapata 2008) on the list which I promptly ordered. For those on a budget they offer a prix fixe three course dinner at $25 between the hours of 4PM to 6PM. The menu is quite varied and has many selections so be prepared to have a hard time choosing as every dish that I have had over the years has always been good. The atmosphere is very nice as they have multiple rooms and the tavern area has a pretty active bar scene. The main dining room is well appointed and very charming. The only issue is that the room can be a bit noisy (it was filled that night) and maybe installing some ceiling sound baffles might help. The owner Sheila came around near the end of our meal and asked how everything was which I feel is a nice touch and shows good management. I believe the Inn is the oldest on Cape Cod as it was built in the late 1690's and the owners have upgraded and maintained it extremely well so it still has some of its original charm. If you visit the Cape be sure to add this restaurant on your list to try out as you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1696, Owner at Old Yarmouth Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. It means a lot to Arpad and me when our guests take time to post a review and we take all comments to heart - and are discussing what to do about the noise level in the dining room! David is a "professional" waiter and has been with us for more than a dozen years and it is good to know that he did such a great job with your group of 7.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    151
    40
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“The wedding of my dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I got married December 10, 2011 and chose the Old Yarmouth Inn as our reception site because of its beauty year round, but especially around the holidays! The location, the charm, just the plain old feel of the inn is enough to make anyone fall in love. Arpad, Sheila and the rest of the crew at OYI were beyond accommodating and enthusiastic. They made the journey of planning a positive experience and adventure. Once the big day came, the 4:30pm reception could not have been more beautiful, amazing and delicious. The passed apps were never ending and the meal portions left no man hungry! They took my vision of my perfect wedding day, made it come true and even added their own expertise to make it incredible. I am so thankful for the Old Yarmouth Inn.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1696, Owner at Old Yarmouth Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Jamie - Thank you for posting this incredible review! Yours was one of our favorite weddings to date - you were so easy to work with and your ideas helped us create a perfect memory for you. It was absolutely a delight and a privilege working with you and we wish you a lifetime of happiness!
Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm gracious, inviting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

My mothers's 80 th birthday was held here , have been numerous times as a sunday bruncher, catching a (fabulous) hamburger in a the tavern, or lunch with a bunch of neighbor women. Can always count on down home service, elegant atmosphere and up there prices. Oldest restaurant on Cape Cod, 1699, I think it is. Always brilliant! One of my faves.

Helpful?
1 Thank trebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1696, Owner at Old Yarmouth Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We appreicate the time it takes for folks to post reviews and it means a lot to each of us at the Old Yarmouth Inn when our customers recognize our committment to good service and good, consistent food. Again, thank you!
Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

When, in November of '06, my wife and I came to the Cape for her job interview with Cape Cod Healthcare, the people at the B&B where we were staying sent us to this lovely restaurant for dinner. We liked the excellent food and attentive, friendly service so much that we returned the following evening... and we've never stopped returning. One reason we bought a house in the charming village of Yarmouth Port was how close it is--less than a five-minutes drive--to the OYI. We've probably dined here close to 100 times in the five years we've lived on the Cape, and each and every time the experience has been delightful!

Helpful?
2 Thank AllansAlley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1696, Owner at Old Yarmouth Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Allan - Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Yarmouth Port is a special place - it has such a sense of community and we are so happy to be in such a quintessential New England town. Thank you for commenting on the staff - they truly enjoy their jobs and all of us truly enjoy turning strangers into friends! See you soon!
Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wonderful atmosphere, good service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The tavern is so confortable as long as you don't sit under the TV so you feel everyone is lwatching you. The service is very good and the food exceptional. I usually love the changing bread pudding dessert but the last one of cinnamon and nuts was a bit dry and tasteless, but the apricot bread pudding was more like a flan and wonderful!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1696, Owner at Old Yarmouth Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for posting your review of the Old Yarmouth Inn. We expanded the tavern 5 years ago and in the winter when the fireplace is lit, we still run out of room. We are so pleased that you appreciate the great job that our staff does and I am sorry that the Bread Pudding was not up to par - you can be sure that won't happen again. We look forward to seeing you again!
Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Yarmouth Inn also viewed

 
West Yarmouth, Cape Cod
South Dennis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Old Yarmouth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing