We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
10
18
12
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
18
12
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stay there again cream cheese williams college bed was comfortable new owners vt diner
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Great location for visiting Williamstown. Unfortunately...

The rooms were not clean: obvious paper scraps on the floor, dirt in the phone and the floor corners. Mold and mildew on bathroom tiles. Remarkable amount of bugs swarming around the outside room light. They joined us in the room the moment the doors were opened. There were not enough electrical outlets for the appliances (had to unplug the fridge to plug in the microwave. Breakfast was sad. The motel is very near a railroad and freight trains ran a couple times the night we were there. They were long and quite loud. Owners appear to be very new to the hospitality industry, and don't seem to be the type to "get it", or they don't care.

Room Tip: Sorry. I can't.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Should have known when we stepped into the office. Dirty. The carpet must have been used by General Lee during the Civil War; maybe even by his horse, Traveller, in his stable. The carpet in the room was the same vintage, frayed and filthy. Their was heavy dust on the lamp shades, the desk, the chest of drawers and the baseboards. The coup de grace was finding a previously used bath towel hanging on a hook on the back of the bathroom door. Perhaps room 18 was having a bad day, but we wish it hadn't shared it with us. The management refunded our payment without our asking; a civil gesture, thank you. The Villager, especially room 18, needs some serious TLC.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank joepot44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Perfectly comfortable but aging motel. Perfect for just passing through. Pets welcome was an added bonus. No need to stay at any of the more expensive places around. Breakfast was simple - we did not try it but just went next door to a dinner. There were other travelers that had breakfast and were sitting outside at the picnic benches on a lovely morning. We took over one picnic bench to get closer to the Wi-Fi (needed really close connection because of a scheduled Skype discussion) but the Wi-Fi in the room was fine for basic use. Yup - we were pleased we found the place online and booked it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jdballou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Not many chain hotesl around in this area. Many independent, traditional motels to choose from though. The Villager is one of them. Small reception building which also serves as the breakfast area. The breakfast is very basic and so is the spec to eat it in. If there is more than one party at the same time, bad luck; no space. When the weather is fine though, there is an additional picknick table outside. Owners are very friendly and the check in was a breeze. Rooms are relatively small, but do have fridge and -noisy- aircon. Cleanliness is good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If you just need a place to stay with accommodating owners, this is your place. The price, by standards around Williamstown, is reasonable. However, if you are looking for somewhere to enjoy the ambiance, you will want to try elsewhere. I don't like to complain, especially for a small, family-run operation like this one that I imagine is just managing to stay ahead of expenses. But the place could use some upgrading in many areas, for instance replacing the badly worn and stained linoleum in the bathroom, or something deeper and more substantive than the two "odorizers" to deal with the whiff of mold smell. Still, I chose to pay ~$150 less than the top-shelf hotel in Williamstown as I was there on business and only had to have somewhere to sleep. And there aren't that many alternatives.

Room Tip: Try not to stay near the pump room or generator or whatever it was that can come on at 5:30 to a great racket.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArtistInResidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews