We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a diamond in the rough”
Review of Tidewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Crystall Beach, TX
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly a diamond in the rough”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

After a one week travel thru Mass, Main, New Hampshir, Vermont, and RI, we had the pleasure of staying at Tidewater Inn on our last night away from home. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. When we saw the size of our room and how clean it was we coulden' t believe it. Sitting on our own private bpatio was also a real treat. I wish that the hotel experience we found here could be the standard rather than the exception.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    178
    82
    52
    44
See reviews for
168
191
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Always love staying here....great location and very friendly owners. Have been going there for years. We keep our boat at the Hyannis Marina and the location couldn't be better. They are also kind enough to allow us to park our trailer in the parking lot. Good security and lots of running room for families with little children.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the back overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My friends and I decided to take an impromptu weekend trip to the Cape. I found Tidewater Inn through a friend who had stayed there before. The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly and very helpful and the property was gorgeous. We ended up staying in on Friday night, sitting by the bay under a full moon. The area was far enough away from other rooms so we didn't disturb other guests and we had a fabulous time enjoying the view. On site there is a very nice diner that serves very good, homemade breakfast. It was quite convenient to be able to roll out of bed to a delicious meal. I would definitely stay at the Tidewater again and recommend it to others!

Room Tip: Request a backroom that opens to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinAthena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Fortunately, I stayed just for one night and I would never stay here again. First, I have allergies to the mold. And the smell made me sick. I am not exaggerating - I really got sick and left as early in the morning as I could.
Second, I need my room to be private. The balcony you can see on the pictures goes all the way without any rails between the rooms. So, if you open the curtain everybody can go by and see what you are doing in your room. To spend all the time with that heavy curtain closed and using lights does not seem to be a good idea to me.
I gave 2 stars because the room was not dirty. Also, I did not use the pool and I don't like to be unfair. I can tell only the towels they provided for the pool looked like they were used to clean it up.

Room Tip: If you decided to stay here choose the room further away from a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annavay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
I apologize for your experience with at the Tidewater. While we don't have a problem with mold or mildew, occasionally a room will get damp from guests coolers or coming in wet from the pool. Whatever the reason, we don't want our guests to be uncomfortable and will move anyone who has a problem. Some guests are more sensitive than others and we appreciate this. We like to address problems while the guest is at the hotel so that we can solve their problem and make them comfortable. We also have many rooms that do have private balconies that guests will request. While these room cost a bit more, they have beautiful views, new carpet, and privacy. Had we known of these issues we would have moved the guest to another room so that they would leave happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yarmouth hotels

Littleton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Hotel was very nice, clean and well maintained. Sheets could have been a bit softer, kinda hard but clean and room could use a bit of updating, a bit musty.. but good. Overall pools were fantastic and gounds were beautiful. I would upgrade my room next time to the newer ones in the back but would def. come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
2.0 km away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#8 of 20 in West Yarmouth
488 reviews
0.5 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,237 reviews
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,260 reviews
2.6 km away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#10 of 20 in West Yarmouth
463 reviews
1.2 km away
Yarmouth Resort
Yarmouth Resort
#5 of 20 in West Yarmouth
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Property: Tidewater Inn
Address: 135 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price range (per night): $92 - $222
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tidewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater is a family friendly hotel which is centrally located and minutes to Hyannis, ferries to the islands, beaches, golf, fishing, restaurants, and shopping. Indoor and Outdoor pools and 50's style breakfast diner (open seasonally). Rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers and some with water views. Landscaped picnic area with playground, grills and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Motel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Inn Cape Cod/West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing