We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wakefield
Philly burbs PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

In all my traveling days, I honestly have to say the Lord Wakefield Hotel is the seediest place I've ever stayed.
After traveling 7 hours we asked about early check in only to be told it was not possible. We asked to use the toilet facilities only to be told we would not be permitted acess to any bathroom until we checked in!
The rooms were worn, but we had clean towels, hot water and the beds were comfortable. At the price of 67.00 per night I wasn't going to complain. We were close to Salem, York Harbor Maine and Glouster, MA, so the location was fine, especially for the price.
I have to admit I had some trepidation at the unsavory characters that seemed to use the place as a hang out. I used all the locks on my door, and the place did smell of stale smoke. The women working behind the desk seemed to use the facility as her own private social club and her "fans" looked as if they were on parole. But looks aside no one was out of line, it just didn't add to my comfort level being out of town.
Kelly, the bartender was a doll! She was pleasant and helpful and just a real breath of fresh air. A real treat to encounter. Especially since the ice machine didn't work and the bar was the only place to get fresh ice.
I wouldn't recommend this facility to anyone who expects a five star hotel for a two star price. It was adequate. It served it's purpose, and you got what you paid for.
My only recommendation to the management would be to try to eliminate the local flavor from hanging out in front of the hotel at night. They can be a bit intimidating to women traveling alone and they surely do not leave one with a feeling of security and comfort.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margie128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    47
    69
    44
    79
See reviews for
69
82
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

First off, there is a sign at the road that says Lord Wakefield Hotel so we pull in and have to drive around the parking lot twice just to find the right builiding. There is no sign in front of the building. So then, we ask if we can check in early, it's 1pm and check in is at 3pm. We dont want to go to the room yet- we know that rooms are still being cleaned but just want to get the paperwork out of the way. We are told no!!! We have to wait! The woman was so rude about it. So then we have to leave and come back. There was a second woman at the desk, she tells me I cant use the card I reserved the room on. What a PITA. There is no elevator so you are forced to carry luggage up to the 2nd floor. The entire place stinks of smoke. The ice machine didnt work and we have to go to the bar to get ice and we're told "oh yeah, that hasn't worked in forever". The people leaving the bar are so loud, yelling in the hallway, running up and down the hall until 3am. No one tells them to stop. Worst place ever.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wakefield hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Customer is king? Not at Lord Wakefield Hotel!

Worst experience ever, Motel of Psycho!

Terror in the hotel room!

General Description:

The hotel is pretty run down, all pretty old and it terribles smells like something dead people's home and worse. Every thing smells and its very old and after then all your clothing are smelling the same. Rooms are very ring of hearing, you can hear other guests talking in the hallway, walking people and snore. Each door rises, the bangs, as if it were their own. The bathroom is quite dirty and terrible.

But now comes the horror story:

On the evening of the reception was very nice, very friendly lady at the desk. But the next morning it was quite different:

As the hotel is located quite far outside and our flight arrived late, we have only come at night to the hotel and were very tired from the journey. The woman at the front desk assured us that there would be no problem if we will check-out by 12 o‘clock.

But the next morning it looked drammatisch different:

Shortly before 11 we were terrorized by phone calls in the most primitive way, she screams: you will have big troubles if not immediately out!!

We apologize and we insured the hotel lady to be out as soon as possible.

But this lady doesnt cares about, she continues to terrifyng us by knocking very hard at the door, by telephone-terror, etc.

At 11.10 the „lovely“ hotel lady sent us two chucker out at the door, threatening us to the most primitive way ... It was a nightmare!

We rushed in panic from the hotel room to the reception, even leaving some personal things, and then the big surprise:

There was no understanding reason about the behavior of the hotel lady: no customers to our room waiting, no cleaners, the hotel lady seemed having nothing to do as bored watching TV, the phone was ringing, but even she doesnt go on the phone.

It seems as the good lady just want to harass or acted out of boredom or to have such personal problems.

In the bustle, we left our credit cards and our Toilet-bag in the room.

About one hour later we detected this and wanted to have it again, but apparently they have already been disposed. We were informed that the hotel, dont keep such things.

Conclusion:

CreditCards block, Costs: 100 Dollars,
New-issue Credit-Cards, costs: 100 Dollars,
Toilet bag with all contents, buy new: 100 Dollars,

Total 300 Dollar-damage and 1 day time lost,

the "cheap" hotel results as very expensive! anyway rather pay a few Dollar more and have nothing to do with Motel-Psycho...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Businesspassenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I'm always amazed at people who expect a four star hotel at a two star price. Got it online for a song. Was in Boston for a Sox game, and couldn't find anything intown for less than three times what we paid. It's a 25 min. train ride to this beautiful, quiet suburban town. We had a problem with the only local cab in getting service ( that's another story). When we called the desk to ask alternatives or walking directions, the desk put us through to a friendly, polite young guy Five minutes later a man pulled along side us, with our suitcases in hand, to offer a ride. Turned out to be the same man, the bartender Joe, who had just gotten off shift. He went out of his way to find us and pick us up...and would not accept a tip! The older woman at the desk was very friendly. The room was clean; linens, towels and bath clean. Bed adequate. Free newspaper,small business center, free continental breakfast juice,coffee,muffins,cereal, etc. Nice lakeside location. Yeah, maybe the common areas are a bit worn, but all in all and put the savings towards ever spiraling ballgame tickets.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardhk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v.b. va
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

This hotel is dated. Needs some tlc. It is reasonable and a good location. Close to 128 and Boston. It is situated on a lake and has a good walking trail. The breakfast was o.k. . the staff was pleasant. The town of Melrose is 10 minutes away and has an excellent selection of fine restaurants, which I highly recommend.

Room Tip: the rooms on the second floor were updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happysoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
3.7 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Wakefield Boston Hotel & Conference Center
3.9 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Woburn
7.1 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Logan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
4.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 11 in Woburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
4.0 km away
Courtyard Boston Woburn/Boston North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakeside Inn

Property: The Lakeside Inn
Address: 595 North Ave, Wakefield, MA 01880 (Formerly Clarion Inn)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wakefield
Price range (per night): $108 - $239
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lakeside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Lord Hotel
Best Western Wakefield
Lord Wakefield Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing