We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Bed and Breakfast ever!”
Review of The 1720 House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The 1720 House
Ranked #5 of 11 Vineyard Haven B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Abby Hirsch Is a very rude host and has no business running a Bed and Breakfast. We had made plans to stay at her B&B for our 25th Anniversary, we received the coldest reception, in one of the worst storms ever, we were dripping wet and and she was annoyed. She never had roses and champagne waiting in the room as promised, she gave away half the week to someone else and we had to move to another place and she never checked with us once to see if we needed anything. The cracks around the doors were so big that light shined in all night so you could not even sleep, there was no breakfast, she is the worst!!!!!!!!!!!! She lies about what she will give you, then you get there and its a different story.

Room Tip: Stay at the HarborView Inn, it was wonderful, we told them of our experience and they were so unders...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maryr1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1720houseVineyard, Owner at The 1720 House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

We totally disagree with this clients comments .When she (they) arrived we greeted them with sympathy and a lot of towels to dry off their clothes and suitcases. We did not "give away" her room but told her over a month before her arrival date that we could only accomodate her for 3 nights and offered to either book part of all of here stay elsewhere. She chose to stay here part of the time. We spent hours (this was the time of the President's stay on the island) finding and booking another hotel for the remainder of her stay. Guest (s) stayed in the Lincoln room, one of everyone's favorites. (See reveiews) Noone has ever complained about light shining in, nor did she bring this to our attention. Of couse we serve breakfast. (8:30 to 9:30) See reviews about how ample and excellent it is. Once we checked this guest in we never saw her/them again. They never made any contact with us and left without a goodbye. When she sent an email complaining about her stay we offered a free night..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed at the 1720 home for my wife's birthday. Cheryle, our hostess, was very accomodating and went the extra mile to make our stay wonder-filled, with flowers showing up at our doorway. Breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit, granola, breads and yogurt along with some columbia java. We stayed in the Garden Room and it was spacious and clean. The house has great feel or energy to it and alot of history dating back almost 300 years. We borrowed the house bikes for a ride to south beach and enjoyed some wine on their sun-filled porch. This B&B is located about a 5 minute walk from the ferry and across from a park / beach. Great experience, great location, informative and joyful hostess and beautiful sunrises!

Room Tip: Garden Room was excellent with its own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This accomodation is a short walk from the ferry. And if you like History, you will enjoy the decor, we sure did. The hospitality was wonderful and the food was delicious. Everything was so neat and clean.

My sister, mother and I stayed there and we had our own private bathroom. We were able to leave our things in the room and get around the island by public transportation. Nancy's was also nice if you like seafood and to eat outdoors.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Ok so the good first:

The b&b is in a nice location for walks, a small amount of shopping, and there is a good running route out towards the north point of vineyard haven. The house does have some historical interest as well.

Now the bad:

The room was small and not clean - it had cobwebs in the corners, stained sheets and pillows, and items left from the last occupants that had not been cleaned up. The bed was a remnant of the past or so it seemed because it sagged so badly in the center that my wife and I had trouble sleeping.

The hostess seemed out of touch and snobby. When we brought up the fact that we didn't want to sleep on stained sheets, she put on a huge show about how the sheets were brand new and there was no way they could be soiled - until my wife specifically pointed out the stains. The sheets got changed, but the service was less than stellar.

The 1720's house also advertises a breakfast every morning. Our past experience with b&b's is that everybody staying meets for a prepared meal. Breakfast here was some stale raisin bran, a bagel, and some fruit.

We will not stay here again, and would not recommend to anyone. There are better places to stay for your money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 1Lovetrips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The 1720 House is a very special place. The service is wonderful...a lot of extras such as beach umbrellas and picnic baskets and even some fruit packed for us by the owner.
The rooms are lovely and the breakfast quite fresh, organic coffee, local dairy products and generous portions. Location could not be closer to a beach and town. We adored Cheryle for her good humor and gracious manner. And Abby the owner and Bella the wonderful housekeeper.
A great vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice and immaculate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welltravelled6401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
10.9 km away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
998 reviews
9.8 km away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.5 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#9 of 10 in Edgartown
324 reviews
3.8 km away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
695 reviews
4.2 km away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1720 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1720 House

Address: 152 Main St, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Vineyard Haven
Price Range: $199 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The 1720 House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The 1720 House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing