We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food”

Skipper Chowder House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Skipper Restaurant & Chowder House is a seasonal restaurant open from mid April to mid October. We serve the finest seafood with the best view since 1936. Winner of the Newport, Boston and Cape Cod chowder festivals.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Seasonal, not sure of the opening date. I believe it closes for the season Columbus Day weekend. Very busy place during the season. The food is incrediblly good.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank HelenRotast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful location, lovely atmosphere, and great staff! Great restaurant for family friendly dining - we went with our two kids. The food portions were crazy, way too much - and there was SO much fried food - it was overkill. The chowder was just okay. The best chowder in the area is served at the Black Cat in Hyannis.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Newmama1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The Skipper House was a perfect place to end our day of traveling. We sat upstairs and experienced excellent service. The lobster roll was amazing and the clam chowder was delicious. This is a place you must visit if in West Yarmouth.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank CandGSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

While vacationing in Dennis, MA, I was looking for someplace to take the whole family out to for dinner. We needed somewhere that we could take little ones, that would have good food and enough room to keep us all comfortable. I selected Skippers Chowder House due to good TripAdvisor recommendations. This turned out to be the best place for my family. We lucked out and arrived early enough that we walked in and 8 of us were immediately sat at a large round table, in the front room in the corner. Perfect place to seat two little ones, in high chairs. The waiter was wonderful, very helpful and informative. All the food was very good. It was also conveniently located across the street from the beach, so after we ate, we were able to walk across the street and down to the water. We couldn't have picked a better place for our first dinner out while on vacation in Cape Cod.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Leik77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

We stayed 5 days in Cape Cod on a 5 wk. drive trip throughout New England and Canada. Each night or for lunch we ordered a cup of clam chowder and split it. We rated each restaurant. By far and away, Skipper Chowder has the best out of 30 days worth. Thick, small cut potatoes, not onion ridden, and the biggest and most clams that we ever saw. Delicious. see photos, Giving it a 4 overall because we did not eat full dinner meals here so can't rate that. We came in around 2pm, and loaded up on clams casino and chowder. The waitress was excellent.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skipper Chowder House also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
West Yarmouth, Yarmouth
 
South Yarmouth, Yarmouth
 

Been to Skipper Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing