We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Spot Right on the Ocean.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfcomber on the Ocean

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surfcomber on the Ocean
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
02035
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Little Spot Right on the Ocean.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We booked the last remaining room for the 2011 Columbus Day week-end. They had described the room as small, but with a great view. The price was excellent, with a three-nights- for-the- price- of- two special, so we decided to book it.

This particular room was small (as described), but it was neat and clean. The room did not come with a toaster, but the staff quickly honored my request for one within a half hour. The room featured a queen bed, central heat and air, refrigerator, LCD TV and a Keurig coffee maker (including coffee.) The view of Nantucket Sound was, indeed, very good.

Their private beach was steps from our door with smooth sand and plenty of chairs and lounges. They have a nice heated pool and shuffle board.

The Surfcomber is ideal for people who enjoy the quiet moments on the Cape. They request as much quiet as possible after 10:00 pm., which was fine by us. As they say in their literature, if you're looking for loud party time, "you may want to consider a location other than the Surfcomber."

Most of the rooms are larger than ours. we will book earlier next year for a better selection.

If you are looking for quiet enjoyment, an ocean location and a great value, consider the Surfcomber.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garfield1202035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    42
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
62
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fall River, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

4 years ago I drove all over Cape Cod trying to find a place we can call our little peace of heaven. People comment that the motel needs updating on these reviews sometimes. It is not a upscale motel but I have never felt that I needed to pay triple the price for the same beach that is shared with all the others on the road. I just want everyone to know who is looking for a great great , so clean , grounds always being tended to even at the end of the season..this is your place. The Surfcomber is always updating every year. 2009 or 2010 season they had updated and went non smoking added flat screen TV's. This year 2011 ..I loved what they did to the pool, larger area , new fence and every morning they are in there cleaning and making sure it looks like the first day of the season. I have brought many family members every year and they have loved it. It is quiet unless my family is enjoying the pool but it is mid day and we are playing and laughing. That is what you are suppose to do on vacation. The hotels on the same road are twice the price even triple but the quantness and intimate feeling we get is why we come back. 99% of the time it is so quiet and relaxing. I am looking forward to many years of vacationing here again. You will not be disappointed. thanks surfcomber for keeping rates down so the middle class income can still each HEAVEN !!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GRAMMAKLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

helpful staff, clean room, at a reasonable price, right on the water. You don't normally find that combination at Cape Cod!! Would recomend this hotel to family or friends

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WesternMass01095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Nothing special about place but was nice to be close to the water. Beds were small but comfortable. Front desk people very nice and helpful. Only bad was the noise above us, you could hear every step, and other misc noise, try to get top floor.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suesmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights, the week before Labor Day. We opted for 2 rooms (#20 and 21) for our family of 4, and it worked out very well. There was no connecting door, but we were fine with the setup. The rooms are not fancy, but they're very clean and comfortable. The beds were doubles, and I would have preferred queens, but they were fine. The bathrooms seem to be newly updated, and are attractive. Overall, we were very happy with this hotel. When we were hanging at the hotel, the pool was nice, and the beachfront location was fantastic. The water was colder than the S. Jersey shore (just post-Hurricane Irene), and there were no lifeguards on that particular beach, but sitting on a lounge chair overlooking Nantucket Sound was ever so relaxing...and shell-collecting was fun as well. You can walk for quite a distance on the beach. The location was great for exploring the Cape. We took several day trips - to Chatham, P-town, on a whale-watching excursion, etc. The front desk staff was very helpful with travel and restaurant suggestions. If we have a chance to return, I'd try for an oceanfront efficiency suite, or at least an efficiency with a private balcony. (Note: I do hope they install more electrical outlets in the future. Everyone in our family travels with at least 3 items that require charging, and outlets were very hard to find in our rooms.)

Room Tip: It looks like the beach and pool view is good from all the rooms. Opt for an efficiency, and save so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rogersjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.1 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 km away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.3 km away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.8 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
1.4 km away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfcomber on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber on the Ocean

Property: Surfcomber on the Ocean
Address: 107 S Shore Dr, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5837
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price range (per night): $129 - $489
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfcomber on the Ocean is a small, peaceful oceanfront hotel with a private beach on warm Nantucket Sound. Run by the same family for over 55 years, the Surfcomber has 33 rooms, many with fully equipped kitchens, an outdoor heated swimming pool, a shuffleboard court and many comfy chaise lounges. The Surfcomber offers its guests free WiFi and free parking and is centrally located close to many good restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfcomber On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Surfcomber On The Ocean South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing