We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & Cozy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dancing Bear Guesthouse
Reviewed 5 July 2017

I spent a week in Shelburne Falls for a weaving workshop at Vavstuga Weaving. I am way too old for the dorm room sort of lodging, so I opted for a space of my own. Dancing Bear was recommended and couldn't have been more convenient. I chose the Hummingbird Room which is in another house across the street. Part of the week was rainy and cool and I felt very cozy in my little room. The Internet was great and I was able to snuggle in bed and watch Netflix on my iPad. Breakfasts were delicious and I enjoyed the other guests and getting to know Edith and Philip. Should I make a return visit, I will most certainly book with them!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2016

I visited Shelburne Falls in a way back to New York from far north Maine. Arrived late in the night and everything was ready for the two rooms we reserved. The rooms are very comfortable and we could have a very deep sleeping until the next morning when were attended by his owner, a very illustrated man with wonderful conversation. Just what you expect from people of one of the most amazing towns in the area

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillermo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xovox88, Owner at Dancing Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Thanks so much for your kind thoughts. We thoroughly enjoyed your visit and we hope you will come back and stay with us again in the near future. ¡Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I always wanted to have a B & B experience in a Victorian. I also, wanted an holistic healing experience without having to go Sedona or some Californian spa.

Shelburne Falls offers both.

Back in May, I wanted to treat myself to a wellness getaway as a birthday gift and well earned vacation from one doozy of contract job.

Not many people know that Pioneer Valley, which Shelburne Falls is just one of many small towns that make up this lovely valley, is a oasis chock full of holistic healing spots. Unless you are in the know and read lots of wellness magazines, you wouldn't know that there are holistic practioners and meditation centers all up and down the valley and along the Mohawk Trail (Rte 2) and as far north as the Vermont border.

So I needed to also find a place to stay since without a car transportation from Boston is still in the dark ages and it is pretty much one Greyhound/Peter Pan to neighboring Greenfield by way of transferring over at Springfield a day and one Greyhound/Peter Pan back per day.

So I was thinking May in the middle of the month would be an ideal time to book a stay at a B & B. It is early in the season, it is not summer and the fall would be expensive due to the beautiful foliage that time of year and being so close to the Berkshires, all rooms would be booked anyway.

So I looked at all the lodging in the Shelburne Falls area and I fell in love with the Dancing Bear on Mechanic Street. Something about the stained glass and the cozy feeling of each of the rooms The Bragdon's run a lovely establishment. Mr. Bragdon was kind enough to pick me up in Greenfield from where the Greyhound dropped me off. Because it was spring and low season, I got not only a great rate but a nice room a two bed bedroom with my own bath.

For those with transportation there is so much to explore. You can drive along the Mohawk Trail , drive down to Northampton, Amherst and Montague. In the Montague area there is a medieval festival called "Mutton and Mead" for both adults and children to enjoy, Greenfield and Shelburne Falls offer some local cultural events as well as UMASS Amherst and nearby Northampton.

If I can find the time, I would love to go back to the Dancing Bear but with my folding bike so I can explore the bridge and the falls if weather permits.

Room Tip: Rooms depend on availability This bed and breakfast is really popular with couple and still provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

The Dancing Bear b&b is a wonderful place to come and rest. It is clean and well maintained. It is in a quiet neighborhood and a walk away from restaurants and shops and the flower bridge. Phil and his family are most accommodating and made us feel welcome and at ease. He is friendly and a great cook! I highly recommend for folks to stay here and look forward to coming back again!~sue

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I spent a night with my sister while visiting family in town. The Balcony Room was spacious and comfortable, with a large private bathroom across the hall. The air conditioner and ceiling fan were more than sufficient for the hot July day, and it was a treat to sit on the balcony with a cold beer during a late afternoon thunderstorm. The Inn is on a quiet street within easy walking distance to town. The hosts were very accommodating, and Philip is an excellent cook - breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I will definitely stay there again if I return to the area.

Room Tip: The Balcony Room overlooks the quiet street, and was spacious and comfortable with a large private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanF1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dancing Bear Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dancing Bear Guesthouse

Address: 22 Mechanic St, Shelburne Falls, MA 01370-1214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Shelburne Falls
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne Falls
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dancing Bear Guest House is a clean, comfortable bed and breakfast well-known for its excellent breakfasts which the hosts strive to source from local farms; its clean, comfortable bedrooms with high quality natural-fiber sheets, quilts, and blankets; its excellent, walking-distance location to the village center; and last-but-not-least the personal and knowledgeable care and attention of hosts, Philip and Edith. All rooms have private baths, air-conditioning, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing