We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B that's close to Providence RI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nichols Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Seekonk B&B and Inns
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B that's close to Providence RI”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. The B&B is small but cozy (only 3 rooms), and the breakfast was really great! It was fun sitting around a single table talking with the other guests in the morning. We brought our bikes to the Providence bike trails, had dinner in Providence, and wandered through a Waterfire celebration. I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms have private baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namefunnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    11
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
37
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The only positive thing we can say is the breakfast was good. The stairway to the room was extremely narrow. The room was small and cramped. You did the sidestep to get around the room. The bathroom was tiny (size of a very small closet). If there had been a fire, we would have perished. We slept with one eye open all night. One window wouldn't stay open and the other had an A/C in it. The portable ladder to throw over the window sill was in a box under the A/C. Needless to say, we only stayed one night and kicked ourselves that we even stayed for one.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cbbjeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddtisme, Owner at Nichols Guest House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Older homes are not for everyone. With two hundred year old authenticity, expect smaller rooms. They had to be heated by fireplaces. Our showers are larger than those on cruise ships, big enough to fill the purpose for which they're intended. With yearly inspections, two routes out of every room, emergency ladders, smoke detectors, auxiliary lighting and extinguishers, we exceed fire safety requirements. We'd prefer that guests express a concern, if they have one. while they are with us so we can attempt to remediate the problem if at all possible. We appreciate the breakfast compliment, since every effort is made to make them pleasantly memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaf Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I've stayed in many B&Bs and always had great experiences... until now. The Nichols Guest House was absolutely dreadful. We stayed two nights and were disappointed the moment we opened the front door. The house is musty and cluttered (think: "Hoarders") with stuffed animals and tchotchkes everywhere. Our room barely fit around the bed and the only window was screwed shut (!) around the air conditioner, with an emergency fire escape ladder set on the floor in front of it (that we would use, only after finding a screwdriver, presumably): total fire hazard, especially with all the dusty kitsch surrounding us. Also, I had to take Benadryl immediately because the musty, dusty air in the room was making me sneeze uncontrollably and we couldn't even open the window for some fresh air. Because we stayed in the Cameron Room, we shared the downstairs bathroom with the owners, who had clearly NOT cleaned it for our arrival. Just gross. Breakfast was ok, but nothing you wouldn't make yourself at home (not sure what all the reviewers who think it is "amazing" and "excellent" usually eat... cereal... PopTarts?).

Overall, it felt like the owners had figured out this B&B thing was a great scheme for letting people sleep overnight in their unused upstairs bedrooms, cooking them a little breakfast and raking in significant extra income without really having to do any extra house cleaning or alter their lives much at all. At breakfast, we silently seethed in anger as we listened to them talk about their boats (yes, that is plural) and recently purchased vacation home, feeling we had been swindled out of our money and the romantic little B&B vacation we thought we were going to have. :(

Room Tip: Avoid the Cameron Room: have to share downstairs bathroom (not so clean) with owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sassy_savvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddtisme, Owner at Nichols Guest House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
This guest never indicated anything was awry during her stay. Statements in this review are inaccurate: No one slept in the attic, the Cameron room is safe with two fire exits, the bedroom and bathroom were both cleaned and the bathroom is not shared with the owner. Private space was violated with the attic intrusion. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Most guests love the mini teddy bears and tiffany lamps. I'm sorry this guest didn't enjoy herself despite our best efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Walt and Dorothy were gracious hosts during our second stay at the inn. It was just as enjoyable this time as last. Again the breakfasts were great, each morning my wife and I would try to guess what surprise we would encounter at the breakfast table and we were never disappointed. Next time we are in the area, we will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BungeebobAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Cozy B&B, yummy breakfast, early American antique decor especially appealing for travelers from other parts of the world. Good location for visiting Providence, RI. Very hospitable atmosphere.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morningstar04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seekonk
Clarion Inn
#3 of 8 in Seekonk
203 reviews
Fox Point
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
#9 of 13 in Providence
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Seekonk
#1 of 8 in Seekonk
493 reviews
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nichols Guest House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nichols Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Nichols Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 50 Pine St, Seekonk, MA 02771-4007
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Seekonk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Seekonk
Price range (per night): $133 - $156
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nichols Guest House Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience life in the early 1800's but enjoy modern comforts! Sleep on feather mattresses and air dried sheets under hand sewn quilts. The house has 5 fireplaces, two, three season porches, wide pine floorboards and original wavy glass windows of the early 19th century when it was built. The Nichols house has ample grass, trees and plantings to enjoy from the chaise lounges, picnic table, or benches in the yard. TV, VCR/DVD players & phones in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nichols Guest House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing