We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sunset Inn
Ranked #46 of 63 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

We thought that the Inn was very nice until we went for a walk and came back to our room being robbed. We came back to find that after our room had been cleaned we were missing a significant amount of money. We immediately went down stairs to let the owner know that this had happened. He proceeded to tell us that his house boys were trained and would never do that. He refused to listened to any details. He instead told us that we shouldn't have left money in our room. He never apologized nor did he ever speak to us again. We filed a complaint with the Provincetown Police Department. So, it's a great place to stay if you don't keep anything of value in your room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryDom4210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    8
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Owners were friendly and helpful. Room was ok; clean, with a good bed and a fridge and it’s really nice to have breakfast included. However, while not unique to this B&B, the practice of serving the entire breakfast on disposable bowls / cutlery seemed very environmentally unfriendly. I probably wouldn’t mention this were it not for the usual "we're committed to doing our share to protect the environment" message in the bathrooms when advising on towel reuse. This would be a lot more convincing/persuasive if one saw guest house owners really doing their bit for a greener planet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marktravellog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

While many of the places in P-town are far from luxurious, I don't think that should influence the fact that this place was overpriced for a simply mediocre room. The room was small, with mildew on the ceiling, and cracks in the walls. It appeared to be decorated from items gathered from beach garage sales. The Inn Keeper mostly barked at us and was far from hospitable, making us feel like unwelcome guests (despite us being quiet and clean). There must be something better in P-town than this.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snochou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Stayed at the Sunset Inn late August, it is located centrally for downtown Ptown but still quiet while in your rooms. It has two lovely decks which are ideal for sitting out on in the evening and having your breakfast on in the mornings. The owners are really friendly and helpful. On one of the days it rained non stop and we asked if their was a gym nearby, Andy gave us directions and a discount voucher for the gym which was nice.
Breakfast is buffet style served in the reception area. We stayed in one of the twin rooms which was fine. The only niggle I would say was the closet space was very limited due to the fridge being located in the closet. Other than that great place good value and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowPttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Andy and Lenny were very accomodating, Beautiful room very spacious, the room was spotless great 3rd floor deck to watch the sunset and see right to the water, great rocking chairs to view Bradford Street and people watch. Great Continental Breakfast every morning and tons of brochures and flyers right at the house for suggestions on sightseeing and resturants. The location is perfect you can walk to the shops and resturants and just a short 5 minute walk to famous Commerical Street. We found our new home away from home, and loolking forward to our return

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmtrunfio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.2 km away
The Elephant Walk Inn
The Elephant Walk Inn
#21 of 63 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 km away
Christopher's by the Bay
Christopher's by the Bay
#26 of 63 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 km away
Somerset House Inn
Somerset House Inn
#24 of 63 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Atlantic Light Inn
Atlantic Light Inn
#12 of 63 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 km away
John Randall House
John Randall House
#25 of 63 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 km away
White Porch Inn
White Porch Inn
#8 of 63 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Inn

Property: The Sunset Inn
Address: 142 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1450
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price range (per night): $91 - $227
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn in Provincetown, MA on Cape Cod has been a guest house since the 1940's. This guest house has many features including twenty guest rooms, three sundecks, a back patio, backyard and also includes continental breakfast and free parking. Situated one block from Commercial Street, it is centrally located and an easy walk to restaurants, shopping, bars, dance clubs, cabarets, comedy shows and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sunset Inn Provincetown, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing