We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Secret Getaway! REBOOKED!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kingfisher Lodge

Kingfisher Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge Lounge Kingfisher Lodge Hot Tub.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge Lounge
Kingfisher Lodge Hot Tub.
Carp Fishing
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge Kitchen
Kingfisyher Lodge Kitchen
Kingfisher Lodge Hot Tub
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge Main Bedroom/En-Suite
Kingfisher Lodge Twin Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Buckland Brewer, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paigemich...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Secret Getaway! REBOOKED!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in July 2015

this is one of the most amazing places i have ever stayed!, it is peaceful (no phone reception), beautiful sounds, pretty views and i loved walking through the woods along tree trunks and wooden bridges. it is in the perfect secret location and the owners are a pleasure to be around. We had the place to ourself last time and it was prefect, im due to go back in 4 weeks for another fantastic week for my 21st Birthday!! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Richard and Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorkesaur...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect and Relaxing”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at Heron lodge (next to Kingfisher) for a week in November and couldn't fault it. The lodge was perfect, really comfy, warm, super clean and felt like home instantly. The view over the lake is stunning, especially from the hot tub! We loved feeding the ducks and watching the various birds, Including the kingfisher while sat on the veranda.

Richard and Elaine were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful, they also offered us use of fishing rods if we wanted. The lodges are accessed by narrow country lanes, however it was easy enough to travel to places of interest nearby.

We loved our stay at the lodge and felt like we were on holiday for longer as we were so relaxed. We'd love to come back and stay again in the future for another relaxing break.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
Thanks for your kind words, we are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday at Valleyview.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards

Richard and Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarasnoop
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Many thanks Elaine and Richard for a totally relaxing week didn't want to leave, this place is perfect for just winding down and is so peaceful. Highly recommended.... Can't wait to come back .....

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2014
Hi,
Glad that you enjoyed your stay at Valleyview Lakes and Lodges.
Look forward to meeting you again on your next visit.
Regards

Richard and Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oggdog195...
wellington somerset
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A PRiVATE PIECE OF HEAVEN”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

having just returned from a 4 day break staying in Kingfisher lodge just had to write a few words.Firstly what great hosts Richard and Elaine are, they are so warming and friendly.
The cabin is so big and spacious, everything you need including the fantastic Hot Tub which is covered for those rainy evenings.the views from each window is spectacular overlooking the carp lake.
This is one piece of heaven you should go and grab before it is too late, do miss it
The fishing is brilliant even in the rain and wind we have just had
Please support what Richard ans Elaine are doing its the place to go

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot tub and fishing
Liked least: there was nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2014
Many thanks for your comments. I am glad that you all enjoyed yourselves despite the rain. We both hope to see you back at Valleyview soon.
Best Regards Richard and Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chriscass...
Easingwold, United Kingdom
1 review
“A tranquil relaxing break”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We only spent a couple of days here but we found even in this short time thanks to the outstanding views of the surroundings and the comfortable lodge we were able to fully relax and unwind. Wildlife was abundant around the lodge and added to the interest of our stay. The lodge was very well equipped, however we felt we would have benefitted from local maps and perhaps a book on walking in the area. All in all though a great place for a countryside getaway.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2014
Thanks for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing