We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cleanest kitchen ever"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweet Life

Sweet Life
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Life is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 52 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 50 - USD 65
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The cleanest kitchen ever"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Aside from the delicious choices of sandwiches, this small restaurant is definitely on the top of my list for being neat and clean. On peak seasons you gotta fall in line to get a table, be sure to be there early so yo'll skip the hassle of waiting but its definitely worth it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelCondenast12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frenchview_65, Owner at Sweet Life, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thanks for your positive review, but unfortunately, you got us mix up with another restaurant as we are a fine dining establishment open during the season only for dinner. We do not serve sandwiches and our guests mostly make reservations to join us.

Thanks for correcting the name of the restaurant you are describing as I am sure they would appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    50
    12
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty and romantic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Eating outside here was like dining in a little enchanted garden. The food was fresh and delectable!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank LBug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Everything I'd hoped it would be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

This restaurant is in my town and I've wanted to go there for quite a while. I usually don't eat out much in the summer because this is a tourist area and many restaurants are quite crowded unless you go at 5pm. For me it is much more relaxing to go at a slower time of year. The evening we went couldn't have been nicer weather wise and we sat in the garden among tables with lovely umbrella's and little white lights so the setting was wonderful. I'd read some reviews of a long wait, rushed through your meal, pricey etc. but wanted to go anyway.
Our server was a lovely young woman who made suggestions that turned out to be excellent. For my entree I had the Halibut and my husband had filet of beef and a shortrib cooked in a local Ale that he enjoyed very much. The evening ended with dessert and a sample of a drink called "Wampum" the waitress asked the bar to let us try because we had commented on the name. She was so sweet and it was totally unexpected and she even had the recipe written out for us and said "take your time and enjoy the evening".
It was a lovely evening and the bill wasn't as much as I expected for the entire meal, I am looking forward to returning again at the end of next summer or perhaps early in the season.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Fantastic food in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Great food, and excellent advice on the wine.

Well looked after in a lovely, romantic setting, with stunning art (well, in our opinion anyway) from a local artist adorning the walls.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nahla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“European feel on the Vineyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Waitstaff seemed stressed, took a very long time for water and drinks initially. Once the large party was served, things improved greatly. Atmosphere romantic, food exquisite. Menu limited however, and pricey. Probably will not go back, but a nice way to spend our anniversary. Reservations a must.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swifty783mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Life also viewed

 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Sweet Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing