We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed My Stay!”
Review of Pequot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pequot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2017

This is closer to a B&B than hotel in many regards but SO VERY RELAXING. The porch upon entrance has a slew of rocking chairs that look out at the street. You enter to the 'lobby/living room' and are immediately greeted as if you're their favorite neighbor! Very 'Cheers' like.

Close to everything in Oak Bluffs, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, small bathrooms, funny kitchy lamps shaped like mermaids, cookies in the afternoon and breakfast in the morning.

All in all, highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Sigmababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa A, Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Sigmababy,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the kind words. I will pass them onto the team.

If your travels bring you this way again we would certainly love to host you again!

Enjoy the rest of your summer,
Warm regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
There are newer reviews for Pequot Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

This hotel is tucked into a quiet neighbor just a short walk to town and beaches. We preferred this. There were a bunch of nice things that set this place apart. Chocolate Chip cookies with lemonade/ice-tea everyday; continental breakfast (in addition to "regular breakfast" food, they offer some GF products and almond milk) which was perfect, because we could eat and start our day; Friday night wine & cheese with live music; nice porch and patio area to sit and relax; games & books to use; beach chairs & towels; well kept grounds; mimosas on Sun a.m.; lovely housekeeper - Pansy; helpful front desk girl from Serbia.

Didn't notice too many families, I suspect it's because the rooms are small, there is one suite (maybe two?) that would work well accommodating a small group.

There are a few downsides... It's an old building, so this would not be a place for someone in a wheel chair. The a/c units are very loud. The showers are small and the head doesn't move. There's no light switch, you have to turn on lights by hand (which is tricky if you are coming back to a dark room). You get old-school keys. Which became a large problem one night when a guest couldn't get into his room at 2:30am. He pounded and pounded and woke everyone up that was sleeping in the Annex (which we liked, btw) the police eventually came. But the front desk is not staffed overnight (they do mention that on the notes they hand you when you check in) - but not ideal for situations like this. That guest was completely disrespectful and nothing was done other than "We're sorry" to make-up for the disturbance - not great customer service (I work in a hotel and we would've handled that situation differently)

Overall - we would stay here again. We loved the "little" things and really liked the location.

Room Tip: We preferred the Annex because it's separated from the common areas.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doubleabret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa A, Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Doubleabret,

I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and that your intention is to return. We will all look forward to that!

I will pass on your kind words to Pansy, Alex and the rest of the team. Thank you for noticing their hard work and dedication. We are truly blessed to have each and everyone of them as members of Team Pequot!

As far as accommodation configuration, there are actually 7 larger rooms and suites. You probably noticed the 3 bedroom apartment which was directly below you. Families, in particular, enjoy this accommodation and occupy it consistently throughout the season. We encourage all to call directly so we can best describe the options that are available as they are numerous and varied.

You are absolutely correct, we do use "old school style" keys here at the Pequot as many, if not most, of the Hotels, Inns and B & B's in Oak Bluffs do as well. The incident in the wee hours of Sunday morning had everything to do with an interpersonal issue with the couple in the room, and actually nothing to do with the type of key. I was present with the police and the young man at 3:30 AM, so I know this to be a fact. The couple departed the hotel soon after.

Excellent customer service is of the utmost importance to us at the Pequot Hotel. We constantly attempt to provide it, are very often recognized for it as is evidenced in the literally 100's of previous reviews. We are, none-the-less, always anxious and willing to learn of areas in which me might improve. If the sincere and heartfelt apology for the aforementioned guests unfortunate behavior was not, in your opinion, sufficient I would certainly be willing, and in fact anxious, to know what might have made you feel better in that moment. I can be reached at 508-693-5087 and would welcome your input.

Thank you so much for choosing the Pequot and again, we will look forward to your return. Enjoy the rest of your summer and until we meet again,
My warmest regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Nice hotel. Good location in a very quiet corner of town. Rooms were clean, but nothing extravagant. The service is really what makes this hotel stand apart from others. They are there for you not just for your hotel stay but for your entire stay on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

great spot, close to lots of things, including the ferry. Staff at the inn extremely helpful (except for one lady, lol), yes, great cookies, and you can borrow chairs, towels, etc. Very busy spot in the summer, but I enjoyed walking around and the beaches are awesome.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank LoriCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Very pretty hotel. Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. Beach towels are available and water/coffee and cookies in the lounge. Lovely rocking chairs and swing chair on the porch. Very lucky to get the twin room on the website and had the balcony overlooking the front of the hotel. Super location to b each and not far at all from the centre or the ferry. Continental breakfast included.
Bathroom was a little small and shower not brilliantly powerful. One of the two beds was next to the air conditioning unit - so noisy if on.

Room Tip: This twin room had the balcony to the front of the property.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elzsctt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
4.0 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
814 reviews
0.6 km away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
134 reviews
7.2 km away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
980 reviews
0.3 km away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
362 reviews
0.3 km away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Oak Bluffs

Been to Pequot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pequot Hotel

Address: 19 Pequot Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: $149 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pequot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Pequot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pequot Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing